If Halloween Crafting Were An Olympic Event…

… I’d totally be a gold medalist.

It all started with my Pinterest addiction.  I saw so many ideas.  Then Daniel picked a few, because he is also an avid pinner.  Now my house is filled with awesome, homemade, Halloween decorations.

I’ve already posted about my Halloween Wreath and my Framed Spiderweb.  I’m going to combine the rest into this post.  They’re all pretty quick and easy projects, but the results are really awesome!

Poison BottlesThis was one of Daniel’s ideas.  We painted some glass bottles with matte black spray paint.  The only bottle here that we bought is the decanter, which came from the thrift store.  The rest are empty bottles from wine, salad dressing, stir fry sauce, fruit, and salsa.

We purchased the labels at Target.  They’re meant to go on cups, but they worked perfectly for this project.  It should be fairly easy to find free printables someplace on the interwebs, too.

Bottle LabelI think they look pretty awesome, especially for how little money and effort we put into them.

Creepy Specimen JarsThese things were also Daniel’s idea.  They actually creep me out, a lot, and I’m not entirely sure if I like them or not.  We bought the jars and dolls at the thrift store; they were fairly inexpensive.  Actually, the middle jar came from a yard sale.  They do sell jars like this at Walmart and Target, though

We ‘dismembered’ the dolls, shoved them in the jars, and filled them with water.  The green tint is just food coloring.

The jar on the far left has a bunch of Barbie heads, and that one is my least favorite.  If you try to duplicate this project, I’d advise you to stick to baby dolls.

Leaf RosesThis one isn’t just for Halloween, but I’ll throw it in here.  I gathered some maple leaves and made some roses.  It seems like it would be difficult, but it wasn’t.  Here’s the tutorial I followed, but mine didn’t turn out as well as hers did.  They’re still pretty cute.

I also found that the yellow leaves worked best for me.  I don’t know if it’s because they’re a better shape, or because I made that one on a different day.  I think I could make some pretty awesome ones with a bit of practice.

Leaf Rose

As the leaves dry out, they curl out a bit.  This makes them look even better!

Spiderweb TableclothThis one was just thrown together last minute.  I decorated my door with cheap tablecloths.  I had enough black leftover to use on my table, but I wanted to spice it up a bit.  So, I drew a giant spiderweb on it using purple glitter glue.  It looks pretty awesome.

Zombie KittiesAren’t these so creepily adorable?  They’re plush zombie kitties.  I broke out my sewing machine and bangged these out.

Zombie KittiesI don’t know what to say about how to make these… I used fleece for the body, drew the face on with fabric paint, and added whiskers with cross stitch floss.

Mummy LightsThese mummy lights are the easiest thing ever!  All I did was take some jars, different sizes, and wrap them with white crepe paper, using tape to secure the ends.  Then, I glued the googly eyes on and used some LED tea lights inside.

Mummy LightsSeriously, guys, it took me less than fifteen minutes to make all three of these, not including drying time.

Cheesecloth GhostHow cute are these ghosts?  I took stole the idea from Make Great.

I just taped a aluminum foil ball to a plastic cup, draped the cheesecloth over it, and sprayed the crap out of it with spray starch.  I let them dry overnight, then glued the googly eyes in place.

Cheesecloth GhostI had these sitting on my mantle, but my cats LOVE them.  I kept finding them in random places throughout the house.  So, I just attached a bit of white string and hung them.  Luckily the cats have moved on to the fake spiderwebs now.  These ghosts will lose their shape if you bend them too much, so I had to respray a bunch after the cats attacked them.

Fake Candles

Last, but not least, I made some fake candles.  I was saving my toilet paper rolls to do the whole ‘eyes in the bushes‘ thing, which I’m definitely still doing.  Daniel mentioned doing this, and I figured I’d give it a try.

All I did is take a toilet paper roll, draw on it with hot glue, spray paint it matte black, and add a LED tea light (which I also spray painted to match, after taping over the light part).  The tea lights are a bit smaller than the tubes; so, they’re held in place with some crumbled newspapers.

Fake CandlesI ended up making about ten of these.  They were too easy not to!

Everything looks pretty awesome arranged throughout my house!  I’m pretty excited about it all.

Decorations

Decorations

My giant fireplace, Halloween edition.

Decorations

TV Stand decorations!

Like I said, I’m definitely a Halloween Crafting Gold Medalist!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in award, crafty, daniel, halloween, holiday, hoome, photos, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to If Halloween Crafting Were An Olympic Event…

  1. The Mouse says:

    Halloween must be your true calling. Pretty awesome collection.

  2. What great ideas! I love the black bottles, candles – and the baby doll in the big glass jars?!?! That was the best! You are very creative. Heck, I was excited about covering some plastic bowls with a pieces of sheets and hanging them on the porch – just call me Charlie Brown! 🙂 Great job! Oh yeah, I’m pinning!!

  3. P.S. – I sent your link to a sweet mom out in Alaska – she’s crafty like you and I thought she would love these too! Her blog is called Kitchie Coo.

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    Wow!! You are so crafty! The dismembered dolls in jars creep me out, too. My favorites are your ghosts (I LOVE those!!) and the adorable mummy lights with googly eyes. Great job!

  5. Jennifer M. says:

    You’ve been a busy lady! Love all of your Halloween decorations – and the wall in your kitchen/dining room is orange? Perfect 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yeah, I’ve been keeping myself busy 😉 Thanks!!

      Yes, my kitchen is pumpkin orange with green accents. I love the colors of fall!

  6. This is incredible!!! So cool!!!

  7. Ok I absolutely love the doll heads in a jar! I am so doing that in our house. Not sure how my 4 year old is going to feel about having the heads of her dolls put in a jar though!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! They’re a bit unsettling, but definitely creepy! Just take them while she’s sleeping; she’ll never notice! Haha. Or just pick up some cheap dolls from the thrift store like we did.

  8. Pingback: Hurricane Prep and More Halloween Crafts – Down-Home South Jersey

  9. Pingback: Autumn Checklist | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Christmas Wreath | Pa-BLAM!

  11. I’m glad to find someone who likes creating Halloween magic as much as I do. Thanks!

  12. dflorack says:

    Very clever! I envy people who are so crafty and creative.

  13. mary b says:

    Well now I know what to do with that bag of TP roll tubes …. where do you buy the LED candles cheap? Love everything!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I ordered mine from Amazon, but I have also bought them at Walmart in the candle section. They hide them, but they’re there 😉 They usually have them in the Halloween decoration section this time of year, too!

Leave a comment