Christmas Wreath

I just decided around Halloween that I need to make wreaths for every holiday.  Well, I decided I needed a Halloween one, and, afterwards, my door just looked too empty without one.

I found this tutorial on Pinterest for a pretty awesome ornament wreath and decided to give it a go.

I will say it’s not as easy as it looks on that site.  The results were worth it, though!

Christmas WreathHere are my notes on this project:

  • I cut the hook part of the hanger off with wire cutters instead of attempting to untwist it and straighten it.  My wreath is still a pretty awesome size.
  • My husband had to straighten the hanger for me.  I’m apparently a weakling.
  • Don’t skip the glue part.  I attempted to, and the ornaments kept falling off.  It takes a while, but it really is required.
  • I bought cheap, shatter proof ornaments.  I believe the bigger ones were in packs of 22, and I bought three of them; light blue, purple, and green.  The small, blue ones came in a pack of 55 I think.  I didn’t use them all, but I wanted the variation in colors.  I didn’t count how many I used.  I wish I would have.  The tutorial says around 80, which I think is about right for me as well.
  • I tried to keep a pattern while stringing them on the hanger.  However, they all shifted when I moved it.  I think imperfection works best here, though.
  • To close it, I made a loop on one end of the hanger and a hook on the other.  Put the hook through the loop and squeeze it shut.
  • Because everything shifted when I closed the loop and picked it up, I actually hot glued a few more ornaments into empty spaces.
  • I just added some ribbon to hang it with instead of doing the whole ‘hang it with the hook end of a hanger’ thing.  It worked just fine.

WreathMy daughter and I adore peacocks.  She saw this craft one at AC Moore and decided we should make a peacock themed Christmas Wreath.  That’s why we selected the ornament colors we did.

Ornament Closeup

Peacock Closeup

Peacock

 

We had enough ornaments left over to do another project.  I took the jars I used for my creepy Halloween decoration, cleaned them out, and filled them with the extra ornaments.

Window

Jar of Ornaments

 

Small JarLuckily, my cats haven’t noticed the ornaments just sitting in the window.  They’ve gone untouched since the weekend after Thanksgiving.

However, Kitten McNugget sits in the foyer, staring at the peacock on the wreath for hours at a time.  Weird cats are weird.

Signature

 

 

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in christmas, crafty, friends, holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Christmas Wreath

  1. So pretty! My gosh – I think we MUST be related: I love the colors and just yesterday, I got a big glass container like yours AND at the same flea market (where we were set up) I purchased some vintage christmas balls that I am going to put into the glass container today! I also bought some vintage Christmas lights to put in an antique bale mason jar, like yours only taller, made by a chocolate company from New Jersey I think! I will post pix when I’m finished!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!

      We really have to be 😉 I can’t wait to see yours!! I got my jars at a yard sale. I can’t wait for spring so I can go back to the flea market and buy more vintage stuff like this. I’m really starting to enjoy collecting!

      And, that’s really funny it’s from NJ. It’s a sign!

  2. That’s beautiful! 😀 Great job!!!

  3. Beautiful! Love the colours 🙂

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    Your wreath is beautiful! I love the peacock theme. 🙂

  5. Pam,
    These are gorgeous. BTW, the Reality Blog Award is yours. Consider it an early Christmas gift. You will see a few ping backs shortly.

    Blessings,
    Kina

  6. Pingback: Keeping It Real: The Reality Blog Award | Human In Recovery

  7. PalomaSharma says:

    I absolutely love it!

    PS: I think your cat stares at the peacock because cats eat birds (even though they don’t eat birds as large as the peacock)

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #25 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. msdulce says:

    This is amazing! I would never have thought of peacocks as Christmas-y, but the colors look so festive. Although your craft posts always make me sad that I craft like a kindergardener failing art class, I can do the ornaments in a jar!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I didn’t either, until I saw peacock ornaments at the store! That’s really what started the idea… it just worked because we love peacocks up in hurrr.

      I’m sure you could do more than you think you can. Crafty is easy. I’m always jealous of artsy people. That takes talent!

  10. Juliet says:

    Beautiful! And so colorful. I love it! :0)

  11. Pingback: DIY Christmas Ornaments | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

