Batsto Village

We were planning on having a lazy weekend consisting of staying warm and catching up on housework.  That worked yesterday.  We did some Halloween clearance shopping at Target, did some laundry, and watched a bunch of movies.

However, today we wanted to explore.  We love exploring.

We made the 35 minute drive to Hammonton, NJ to visit Batsto Village, a historic village located in Wharton State Forest.  They had a ‘Lines on the Pines’ event going on for kids.  There were local authors available for book signings, crafts, workshops, and tours.

Trinity really enjoyed the display from The Cedar Run Wildlife Refuge.  They had two owls and a red tail hawk, and she kept begging to go back to see them again.  I didn’t even know this refuge existed, and now I’m definitely going to have to check it out.  I’m so glad we’re finally getting out of our bubble and exploring more of South Jersey.

After checking out all the booths and talking to a few people, we headed out to explore the village, which dates back to 1766.  They have plenty of historic buildings, including the mansion, grist mill, sawmill, village houses, and stables.  The grist mill and sawmill are open for exploration.  They offer tours of the mansion, but you’re not permitted to explore on your own.

It’s just such a gorgeous place.  I can’t wait to get back one day to do some hiking.  We didn’t have enough time today to get lost in the Pines.  One day we will though, but probably not until it’s warmer.  It was a little chilly today.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but Trinity is my paranormal lover.  She reads Goosebumps, watches Ghost Hunters, and enjoys scary stories.  She totally believes in the Loch Ness Monster and wants to see her one day.

Wharton State Forest is part of a large forested coastal plain in South Jersey known as The Pine Barrens.  This area is known to be the home of The Jersey Devil.  You don’t know what that is?  Trinity could tell you all about him!  Click that link to read about him, but, long story short, he’s our version of El Chupacabra.  If you don’t know what that is, I’m afraid there’s no hope for you.

Trinity was super excited to visit this area, and she was really hoping to spot The Jersey Devil.  I didn’t have the heart to tell her that he probably wouldn’t be out during the day with a bunch of people around.  Yeah, we didn’t see him.

She really wants to go camping there next summer, though, so she can try to spot him.  Daniel is on board with this as well.  Me?  Not so much.  I know I’ll be too scared to sleep.  I’m interested in paranormal things, but they always freak me out.  I get nightmares from scary movies.  I don’t need to be camping in The Jersey Devil’s backyard!

Anyone want to come camping with us?

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, random new jersey, random parks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Batsto Village

  1. espirational says:

    I think I’ll pass on the camping. I love being out in the wilds but at night every little noise sounds like a bear to me.

  2. Camping scares me more than the Legend of the Jersey Devil! I’m not much for roughing it. Mr. Picky eater loves that Ghost Hunters show and watches them all the time – it’s a good thing we have a TV in the den as well as the living room. We have a ghost in this house – we have named him Mr. Abercrombie because this house was the contractor’s house who built all the houses in this subdivision and he lived here for many years although he didn’t die here. The dogs bark at him all the time, even follow him around. He’s a peace-loving ghost that just hangs out and moves around the house at will. Some of Mr. Picky eater’s employees have those machines/gauges they have on Ghost Hunters so they came and hung out one night – I guess there were really high readings and they said Mr. Abercrombie was really here! You and Trinity will have to come out here – she doesn’t have to camp out – just stay here a couple of days and she’ll see him. He wears a plaid, short-sleeved, shirt!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Trinity would love that! She’s so interested in paranormal study. I like stuff like that, too, but from a distance 😉 Haha.

      I’m not a camper, either. I like houses, running water, and not being dirty 😉 Haha.

  3. I worry about showering in the morning! I love a shower! But I love owls! And it’s a bit scary but cool!!!

  4. Pingback: Wharton State Forest | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Yummygal says:

    A lot of my Piney friends work the Lines On The Pines Events! I didn’t know you went this year! You have to go to Cedar Run if you haven’t yet. It is one of South Jersey’s most treasured secrets. It was on my top 5 places of 2012. Batsto is a great place for exploration as you already know!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was the first time I attended a Lines On The Pines event…. or the Pine Barrens in general! I’ll have to check out Cedar Run, thanks for the tip!

Leave a comment