Hurricane Sandy’s Aftermath

Thank you all for your prayers and thoughts during the Frankenstorm.  I’m lucky.  My area was thankfully spared during this horrific storm.  We had wind and rain, but nothing we couldn’t handle.  The center of the storm passed over right near my small town, which ended up being a very good thing.

The winds were not as horrible towards the center of the storm.  Also, the eye basically fell apart upon landfall, which gave us a nice two hour break from the wind and rain.  The stillness was eerie, but we were thankful.

We had prepared for basement flooding, because that had happened during Hurricane Irene last year.  However, Irene had hit after two weeks of rain and flash flooding.  Sandy hit after two weeks of beautiful weather.  So, no flooding in the basement or around our town from what we could see.

So, we’re all doing just fine, and we have no property damage.  We did lose power for a bit, but we were prepared.  The only really annoying thing to come out of Hurricane Sandy is that I have to reschedule my Endocrinologist appointment; I’ve been (not so) patiently waiting for this appointment for two weeks.  Annoying.

I am very, very thankful that we were spared.  I also feel guilty that we got off so easily when so many lost everything, that I was safely watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles with my family while so many others’ houses were being washed away or going up in flames.  I keep seeing photos of the complete devastation along the Jersey Shore, Delaware Shore, and New York City.  It’s so unreal, and I lack the words to properly explain how it makes me feel.

Jennifer explained this feeling much more eloquently over at her blog, Down Home South Jersey.

It’s just… I don’t know.  My heart breaks looking at the photos, thinking about all those affected.

I keep seeing this photo popping up all over Facebook.  It was taken sometime Monday Morning, way before Hurricane Sandy even made landfall.

Atlantic City Boardwalk

Photo By Dann Cuellar

I just can’t believe I was standing there a little over a month ago, taking photos of the sunrise.

Boardwalk Closed

Gee, I wonder Why!

Notice the brick building to the right and the other structure to the left.  My brain refuses to let me believe that this is real, that large sections of the boardwalk have just washed away, that Atlantic City looks any different than it did that morning.

My thoughts and prayers go out to all of those affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in serious and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Hurricane Sandy’s Aftermath

  1. tfun2662 says:

    I figured you are always commenting on my blog so I wanted to check your out. I am so glad to see you made through the storm ok. Watching the coverage last night on the news made chills go down my spine. Once again, I am so glad to see you are ok! Oh an how do you get one of those fancy signatures at the end of your posts? They are really cool!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It’s so sad to see all the devastation. So, so sad for everyone who lost something!!

      Haha, I signed a piece of paper with a sharpie, took a photo of it, and then photoshopped it to clean it up a bit. So, I just insert the photo at the end of every post 😉

  2. Jennifer M. says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Pam! It is surreal to think that these beloved places have been washed away. And I feel guilt as well – guilt that my family made it through okay, while so many others have no place to go home to. This is still taking time to sink in…

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! We’re all in this together ❤

      I feel like it's not going to fully sink in unless I see the devastation in person. Last year, my home town in Central Pa flooded just after Irene. I saw photos and video, but I never fully understood how bad it was until I took saw how things weren't back to normal at Christmas time. Totally broke my heart!

  3. clairzilla says:

    So happy that you survived the storm unscathed. We’ve been seeing some very scary footage on the international news.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It’s so scary seeing the news. I’m just 45 minutes from Atlantic City, and it’s been completely devastated.

      • clairzilla says:

        My cousin made the news in her country town today, because she’s on holidays in Times Square & thankfully was in a highrise hotel. She said the storm was terrifying to watch. We have big disasters here in Australia, but the magnitude of area damaged & people affected by Sandy is something we’ve never seen before. We only have a total population of approx 20 million, so when I hear reports of 60 million people affected, it goes beyond my imagination.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Oh wow! Glad she’s ok!!! I couldn’t even imagine being in the city with all of that going on. It’s just crazy.

  4. Carine says:

    Glad to know you are fine. The images that start to be published here and there are indeed unbelievable.

  5. mhdriver says:

    Pam I’m glad you came through “Sandy” ok. That was a horrible storm! I’m sad to see all the deaths and damage it has done. Having been through two earthquakes in California, I know how scared and depressed people can go through with something like this. My prayers go out to everyone.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!!

      I’ve been through one earthquake here. It was just a light shaking, and didn’t cause any damage. It’s enough to know that I never want to experience a bigger one! I think they’re scarier than a huge hurricane because you can’t see them coming. Glad you made it through both unscathed!

  6. mhdriver says:

    I forgot to mention that our son is with Georgia Power and he and the crew is heading to Allen Town, Penn, to help restore power in that area.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I have a friend in Georgia who mentioned something about the workers coming up! I have friends in Allentown, and they were still without power the last I heard.

      Make sure you thank your son for us! We really appreciate all the help we can get in this area after everything!

  7. Hey Pami – so glad you and yours are safe! It’s hard to see all the devastation. Here’s my advice: allow youself a certain amount of time to watch it on TV everyday and then don’t want it anymore. When we had the largest tornado ever go through Oklahoma about a mile from my house, I watched it 24/7 – and I ended up at the dr. office unable to sleep, feeling bad etc… Dr said lots of people coming in with it and told me not to watch the coverage all the time because it will make me depressed. I did and it cleared up! 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I’m definitely going to do that. I have to stop obsessing over all the facebook photos. Maybe I should stay away from there for a day? Or at least hide the people that keep posting them for a few days.

      Your advice definitely makes sense, though, so thank you 😀

  8. tracye1 says:

    The news is overwhelming, and while I feel a little out of touch NOT watching….the more that I see, I realize it’s all I can really handle and process. Glad you are OK. I look at all the pictures and just think, “where do they start?”. This coming from the “Hurricane state”. It’s insane. Definitely helps with perspective and counting our blessings, eh? Hang tight and take it one day at a time, it’s all any of us can really do.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I had to turn the TV off and hide a few people on facebook (the ones who keep posting pictures) for a few days. I just can’t handle anymore.

  9. Juliet says:

    I’m so glad to hear you and your family are okay!

  10. Yummygal says:

    Pam! Us Jersey Girls Need to Stick Together, Just Like Jen, on “Down Home South Jersey” has said. God Bless ya guys!!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      We do! It just breaks my heart to see all these photos coming in from the coast! We’re donating and doing all we can to help, but it just doesn’t feel like enough sometimes :/

  11. Thank goodness you’re ok x

  12. mhdriver says:

    Pam, In mentioned that our son is with Georgia Power and that he was in Allen town,PA . He is now in Rockaway,NJ. Fox News this morning Duce said give a shout out for the Georgia Power people because they just fixed his power.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Fortunately I only lost power for an hour during the storm… but I know many are still without. I cannot even begin to express our gratitude to your son and his coworkers (and you and your families) for helping us in our time of need! Let him know that we really appreciate everything he is doing to help us!!!

Leave a comment