Menu Plan Monday: Whole30, Week 2

Well, week 1 on the Whole30 was pretty interesting.  I failed to remember that I had to plan for breastfeeding.  That’s at least an extra 500 calories per day.  The first few days were rough, and I ate a bunch of nuts to satisfy my all day hunger.  I woke up on day #3 with hives up my arm.  Apparently I’m allergic to large quantities of tree nuts.

I spent the remainder of the week eating carrots and snap peas all day everyday.  I realized I was experiencing a drop in milk supply when Grayson started getting mad while nursing.   That wasn’t something I foresaw happening, and I needed to nip it straight away.  Lots of sweet potatoes, eggs, and healthy fat later, I think I’ve fixed the issue.  Now I have to make sure I’m getting enough calories everyday.  So, I’m adding lots of starchy veggies and proteins to my daily intake.  Hopefully that solves the issue.  I’ll gladly take any recommendations.

I’ve been bad about the gym this past week, too.  Apparently that was a good thing, though, because that would’ve meant even less calories for Grayson.  I didn’t feel comfortable going to the gym with hives all up my arm and chest.  It took a few days to clear up.

I’ve also realized that I planned this at a really bad time.  This weekend is Daniel’s birthday and a Chili, Chocolate, and Homebrew event that I’ve been looking forward to forever.  I learned about it two years ago after it took place; last year there was a big snowstorm and we couldn’t make it.  So, I’m going to break my diet for that.  I’ll restart the next day at day 1.  It sucks, but I really want to complete this challenge AND have homemade chocolate and chili and beer and yum.  I’ll keep to it this week for practice with getting enough calories so I’m even more prepared when I restart next week.

Enough blabbing, though.

Whole30 Week 2

I totally forgot to plug the crock pot in yesterday… so, I made last night’s dinner tonight, and we went out last night.  Also, it’s just going to be the kiddos and I for dinner this week.  That means lots of leftovers and more meatballs.  The kid loved them!

Breakfasts:  Eggs with Approved Sausage, Shredded Sweet Potatoes, and Spinach; Coffee

Lunch:  Leftovers or Chicken with Steamed Veggies and Sweet Potatoes/Red Potatoes

Snacks:  Nuts (In Moderation), Blood Oranges, Freeze Dried Apples, Bananas

Dinner:

  1. Slow Cooker Chili Verde
  2. Crock Pot Salsa Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Steamed Veggies
  3. Asian Meatballs with Green Beans
  4. Crispy Chicken Thighs with Potatoes and Broccoli
  5. Leftovers
  6. Chili and Chocolate Festival – No Cooking
  7. Sweet Potato Sloppy Joes (With Apples to Replace Honey/Sugar)

Want more menu planning awesome?  Check out The Vampire Diet.  She’s not Whole30 compliant, but she makes some delicious stuff.

What are you guys eating this week?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in breastfeeding, cooking, list making, menu plan monday, whole 30 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu Plan Monday: Whole30, Week 2

  1. Glad you’re feeling better and have your calorie intake all figured out. 🙂 And AHH… not forgetting to plug in the crock pot?? That’s the WORST!!! I totally did that last winter when trying to make your butternut squash chili. Boy was I disappointed when I got home from work to a cold pot of beans and squash!! 🙂

  2. Well – glad you figured out the breastfeeding issue and tree nut problem! Let’s see, we are having lasagna tonight along with homemade banana pudding and tomorrow night it’s carnitas after that? Who knows – but I’ll work on it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

