Menu Plan Monday #93

Somewhere around five weeks are remaining until the arrival of Baby G.  It’s getting harder and harder for me to complete tasks.  That means I should probably start working on my last minute preparations now, right?

I’m currently in the middle of a deep spring cleaning/decluttering of my house.  This ended up being a lot more intense than I thought it would be.  I’m not sure if I’ll get it all done, but I’m going to attempt to keep plugging along as much as possible.

Another project on my list is making freezer meals.  I know I’m not going to have a lot of time and motivation to cook once G arrives.  Since the hubster can burn water (unless it’s cooked on the grill…), I wanted to have a lot of options in my freezer.  I planned to have a huge cooking day, but have instead decided to do a little every day.  I’m going to double or triple every meal I’m making this week.  That sounds a lot more do-able than cooking 15 meals in a day, right?

For example, instead of making only one tray of enchiladas for Cinco De Mayo tonight, I’m going to make 3.  Two of them will be frozen.  Then I’ll just have to reheat them in the oven when I need a quick meal.  I’m excited!

Have any of you made freezer meals like this?  Do you have any tips or favorite recipes you’d like to share?  I’m always happy to learn from some people who have been there, done that.

I’ll stop rambling and get to the list now.

  1. Cheesy Vegetarian Rice
  2. Chicken, Bacon, Alfredo Lasagna
  3. Corned Beef Soup
  4. Spaghetti and Meatballs
  5. Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas
  6. Cheesy Tuna Mac
  7. Shepherd’s Pie

Yes, I have that lasagna on my menu plan again.  I had a major case of preggo brain last week while menu planning and totally forgot I needed Ricotta and Mozzarella to make it.  Oops.  So I just had alfredo noodles with chicken and am making the lasagna this week.

I have a lot to say today, apparently.  Daniel officially started first shift today after 10 years of overnights.  I’m not used to having my days to myself!  Anyway…

For more menu planning ideas, check out The Vampire Diet.  Also, I post yummy recipes over at Om Nomalicious.

What’s on your menu this week??

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in baby, cooking, daniel, hoome, list making, menu plan monday, rambling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #93

  1. Your week looks delish! Thanks for including our Cheesy Tuna Mac!

  2. cathylass says:

    Ooooo – a couple of years ago I read about a woman that basically just cook for a few days, freeze it all, and then won’t cook again for a few months. I was well impressed!

    Sadly we’re the sort of people who cannot even plan for a whole week, let alone months. We generally buy what we’re gonna eat that day. Sometimes we managed to plan for the next day, saying things like “tomorrow we’ll make lasagna, let’s remember to get cheese and mince”, only to realise the next day we got no pasta sheets… and we cannot use preggers brain as an excuse. Hahahah. So then it will have to be out to the shops again.

    • pamasaurus says:

      There’s a website (onceamonthmom.com) that gives you meal plans and directions to cook one day a month to fill your freezer. I don’t have the energy to prepare that much stuff in one day… but this whole doubling dinner to freeze half thing has been pretty easy!

      I used to pick dinner day by day, but I always ended up making the same, unhealthy meals. I forced myself to start planning mostly because we wanted to be slightly healthier but also to save money by being able to budget groceries better with one weekly trip vs daily trips. It’s hard, but it works out better for me in the long run.

  3. I can try to understand why is is so difficult my friend, though never even have thought about pregnancy yet 😛
    That cheesy vegetarian rice is a WONDERFUL addition 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

