Menu Plan Monday #72

Hey!  It’s been a week already?  It’s been a pretty busy week, but what else is new?  This week will be pretty busy, too… I had doctor appointments today, my mom will be coming for Thanksgiving, and then I’m cooking Thanksgiving dinner…. all that doesn’t seem like too much, but it is when it’s piled on top of everything else I want/need to get done this week.

Also, the old anxiety disorder makes everything seem worse than it is.  Time is a huge stressor for me, and, if I feel like I’m not going to finish something or I’m going to be late, I’ll get really, really stressed out.

Long story short:  I don’t know how many posts are going to happen this week.  I want to get back into the swing of posting regularly, but this might not be the week that happens.  Although, I kinda have some big news to share.  I was going to do it today, but I think it deserves it’s own post.  So, stay tuned tomorrow for something epically awesome news, everyone!

I guess I’ll stop rambling now and get to the point.  Here’s my menu plan, including my awesome Thanksgiving Menu!

  1. Lasagna Rolls (Meatless)
  2. Tuna Noodle Casserole (Seafood)
  3. Homemade Hamburger Helper
  4. Thanksgiving – Turkey, Gravy, Stuffing, Baked Corn, Green Bean Bundles, Mashed Potatoes, and White Chocolate Cranberry Cheesecake with Homemade Whipped Cream
  5. Turkey Soup
  6. Leftovers
  7. Leftovers or Whatever I Can Throw Together.

I’m not sure how long the leftovers will stretch, but I’m planning not to cook, other than soup, until the following Monday.  I haz the lazies.

Also, I had these huge plans to attempt to make my own stuffing (I call it stuffing, even if it’s not stuffed into the bird.  I had never heard the term ‘dressing’ until I went to college.).  I have never made my own, and I thought this recipe from Kelli’s Retro Kitchen Arts sounded wonderful.  However, I was sick and busy and stressed about it, and Daniel told me to just use Stovetop like usual and plan ahead to make that recipe for Christmas.  So, that’s what I’m doing.  Now I feel bad, but it’s the only thing I cheat on at holidays.  Christmas will be different!

Anyway….

For more menu planning ideas, check out The Vampire Diet, Mommy Effer, and Food Allergy Experience.  Also, I post yummy recipes over at Om Nomalicious.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in cooking, holiday, list making, menu plan monday, thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #72

  1. You need to relax child! Thank you for linking to my chicken and dressing recipe but you know, you can do it for Christmas or New Year’s or Easter or just anytime…….right now, you need to just rest. 🙂 xoxoxo

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m just having a hard time admitting that I can do it all like I used to be able to. Asking for help is hard for me, but I’m learning. It’s going on my plan for Christmas Eve dinner (I’ll make that here, then we’ll commute to central Pa for dinner on Christmas Day with family… after we have Christmas Morning here) I’ll be able to plan it ahead of time and budget time better.

  2. I hope you don’t stress too much my friend! Keep calm and enjoy your delicious menu 🙂
    Feel better soon!

    Hugs
    Uru

  3. Miranda says:

    Epically awesome news!!! (Pre-excitement, which I feel I’m allowed to exhibit now…)
    “Dressing” never made sense to me, either… maybe it’s like a soda vs. pop sort of thing. Stovetop or no, I say there’s no way you’re a cheat when you’re turning out that yummy Thanksgiving feast. The white chocolate cranberry cheesecake alone makes up for any perceived kitchen-cheating. If I didn’t already have four desserts on my docket (me & the sugar gots it bad) I’d add that recipe to my list!
    (Epically awesome news!)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Definitely allowed to exhibit. You must have missed my tweets yesterday. It’s facebook and twitter official… just not blog official. That’s just because I felt it needed one post and couldn’t post twice in one day, haha.

      Ohhh! What four desserts are you making?? My friend is also bringing a pumpkin cake that is to die for. I’m so excited for food, haha!

      • Miranda says:

        I totally miss the official twitter unveiling!! Stupid work! 😉 But I’m heading to check out the “official” post now… Ok, I’m making… (can we do a drumroll? 4 desserts seems drumroll worthy, but maybe I’m being dramatic)… 1) Pumpkin Brown Sugar Ice Cream with Chunks of Pumpkin Pie; 2) Maple Bourbon Pecan Pie with Caramelized Kumquats; 3) Apple Turnovers; and 4) Pumpkin Cheesecake. And now your friend’s pumpkin cake has me wanting to add a cake to the mix, too. I can’t read any more food posts because my baking list keeps growing!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Your desserts sound like they were amazing! I was thisclose to making pumpkin ice cream, but I was lazy in the end. Now I wish I would’ve done it.

  4. Jennifer M. says:

    Don’t worry about using Stovetop – I do that all the time. Throw one diced apple into the boiling water and then add craisins at the end. It makes it fancy! My Thanksgiving “cheat” is mashed potatoes. I never have any luck making good potatoes, so I just buy Bob Evans brand and forget about it. And besides, I think you have a very good reason for taking it easy right now 😉

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks for the tip about the apple. I’ve been making mashed potatoes since I was 5. It’s my specialty 😉 haha. The Bob Evans ones are AMAZING, though! Great ‘cheat’!

      I’m slowly starting to learn I can’t do as much as I usually can. Growing a human is hard! Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

  5. modernoracle says:

    Triage, triage, triage…first things first, cut loose the little stuff. Don’t worry about posts. We’ll still be here to read whatever you write whenever you get time to write it. Have a great Thanksgiving!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’m trying! I have such a hard time trimming my tasks. I think I can do it all because I’ve usually been able to keep up with a demanding schedule. Growing a human is hard work, though!

      Thanks! Hope you guys have an awesome one, too!

Leave a Reply

