Epic Alaskan Adventure Day #5

Finally!  Another post about the Alaska trip.  There’s only one more day after this, which means the end is in sight!  I don’t know how I let myself get this far behind.  I just hope I can remember all the little details… or, I guess, I could dig out my notebook.  I’m not entirely sure where that is at the moment, though.

Before I start with day five, though, I need to share this photo that I totally forgot to post for day four.

Salmon

Those salmon were packed in there like drivers in Philly around 5pm.  It was so weird!  The bumper-to-bumper salmon were just holding still, waiting their turn to go through the tunnel to the hatchery.  I’ve definitely never witnessed that many fish together at once before.

Now we move onto day five…

It was time to head back towards Anchorage, and we picked a few things to see along the way.  Our first stop was the Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel, better known as the Whittier Tunnel.

Tunnel Entrance

It’s the only land access to Whittier, Alaska.  It started as just a railroad tunnel, but was modified to allow cars to use it as well.  It’s a single lane, so there’s a strict schedule for each direction of traffic and rail use.

Creepy Tunnel

…and the insides are really scary, especially when you have a weird fear of tunnels.

Whittier itself is a strange little town.  It’s known as the Gateway to the Prince William Sound, and has amazing views of the water all around town.

Foggy Day

It was a pretty foggy day…

The population is 220.  Yes, you read that correctly.  220 full-time residents live in two designated apartment buildings within the town.  A huge portion of the town consisted of coffee shops and tourist attractions (sea kayaking is now on my bucket list).  Living in a town that small, the residents have to find ways to amuse themselves.  The town was full of silly things like this:

Bat Fish

nananananana BATFISH!

We had some coffee at the shop with Batfish flanking the door and headed back through the tunnel… and back towards Anchorage.

We stopped at Indian Valley Mine and Gifts to attempt to pan for gold.

Panning For Gold

Trinity found a decent sized piece, and I found a few flakes.  Daniel just supervised and jumped in to help when needed.  It was a pretty fun experience, and the owner and family were really nice!

The shop is located next to an abandoned gold mine, and there’s a little museum adjacent to shop.  There were some pretty weird things in the museum…

Creepy Miner

He looks like a villain from Scooby Doo.

Just in case you were wondering what an abandoned mine looks like…

Abandoned Gold Mine

 

We spent the rest of the evening packing and cleaning the RV, we had to return it early the next morning, and exploring Kincaid Park.

Also, we saw a wild moose.  It was inside the airport’s fence, but it was still really close!

Wild Moose

He would look up at us and go back to eating.  He didn’t care that we were watching him.  I was pretty impressed.  Moose do not live in New Jersey…. but I guess lots of things live here and not in Alaska.

Back to Kincaid Park, though.  It’s a huge park that used to be a military installation of some sort, I think Air Force.  It’s also where the Anchorage Lightspeed Planet Walk ends.  I’ll touch more on that when I post about day six, but we found Pluto at the park.  Apparently they didn’t get the memo that Pluto isn’t a planet anymore.

Planet Walk - Beyond Pluto

‘They’ claim you can see Mt. McKinley from the roof of the main building.  There were no signs indicating which direction to look.  So, I just took a bunch of photos in hopes of getting a shot of the largest mountain in North America.

Mountains

I’m pretty sure it wasn’t visible in any of my photos, though.

 

I learned something new on that roof.  Mt. McKinley is also called Mt. Denali.  That’s where Denali national park gets its name.

You learn something new everyday, I guess.

I’m always so awkward at ending my posts… so I’ll just do it.  That’s pretty much all we did on our 5th day in Alaska.  Only one more day to go!

My list of things I would do if I ever traveled back to Alaska is getting much, much longer, though!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, alaska, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Epic Alaskan Adventure Day #5

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    What a great post! I loved the salmon and that crazy railroad/one-lane tunnel and panning for gold AND the moose! When I was a kid my family went to Alaska in August and we saw salmon like that, it was crazy! We didn’t go in that tunnel but we did pan for gold and see a moose. 🙂 Looks like you guys had a great trip!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It’s it crazy how the salmon just pack together like that! Glad you got to do some of this awesome stuff. I feel like Alaska would be fun to go to again and again because there is so much to do!!

  2. Angie says:

    Amazing post and photos as usual 😀 So wanting to go to Alaska!!!

  3. Miranda says:

    You saw a moose!! ‘Moose’ is pretty darn high on my list of animals I’d like to see in the wild. How close were you able to get? Um, that gold prospector is slightly terrifying… he looks part zombie (is that gold he’s holding, or a brain?), although I can’t be sure. Batfish, on the other hand, is awesome. So all of Whittier’s residents live in the same 2 apartment buildings? It’d be like living on a really tiny college campus!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I saw some moose at the wildlife conserve on day 1, but this was a wild moose! There was a fence between us, but I’d say it was about 15 yards away, so not too far! I was pretty excited. Whenever we visit Daniel’s parents in Maine, they take us moose spotting at their favorite location. We never see them (although, they always see them when I’m not around). So, this was especially exciting for me, haha!

      He does look part zombie! I didn’t notice that until now. Yikes! He’s what nightmares are made out of.

      Could you imagine living in that small of a town? I definitely couldn’t!

  4. Such beautiful pictures! It looks like you had a very lovely trip!

Leave a Reply

