Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

I have a mile-long list of things I need to post about, including Alaska, camping, an epic corn maze, and family visits.  I just haven’t found the motivation and the time at the right moment.

This week was a bit full.  Amanda and Matthew (also known as AA and Glenn #2) had just returned from Hawaii.  They traveled there for Matthew’s cousin’s wedding, and returned with some awesome news.  Well, AA also returned with a fancy new ring on her finger!  So, YAY!  Congrats Matthew and Amanda!

We had lunch when them in the torrential downpours of Wednesday, and AA and I left the boys with Trinity while we got pedicures.  It was a nice day.

Yesterday Trinity and I headed across the bridge to spend the day with Megan and Charlie.  Fun times were had by all, as usual.

What have I been filling the rest of my time with?  The usual.  You know, gym, laundry, cleaning, cooking, watching an entire season of Dexter in 3 days, reading…. you get the point.

That’s where I’ve been, and I feel a little bad about the lack of posting.  I don’t feel bad for enjoying life, though.  It’s a trade off.  I have to do fun things so I have stuff to post about, but too many fun things means no time for posting!  Life should calm down after Trinity starts school on the 4th.  Hopefully.  I could use some downtime.

 

ANYWAY!  I guess I should post about this photo challenge instead of rambling.  The Daily Post hosts a weekly photo challenge.  This week’s theme is The Sea.  They’re looking for photos that shows what the sea means to you.

It’s funny that this challenge should pop up this week (they’re posted on Fridays, so yesterday) because I was just telling Facebook that I could really use a day with my toes in the sand, but I really don’t feel like dealing with Labor Day shore traffic!  So, it’ll wait until everyone goes home.  I don’t even want to talk about how long it took me to get home from Megan’s yesterday because of said shore traffic.

Why did I want to spend the day at the beach?  Oh, ya know, because it’s my favorite place.  Nothing centers me more than the ocean.  Nothing helps me clear my head more than sitting on the beach watching the waves.

When I don’t get a chance to visit the beach, I miss it.  I crave it.  It’s a weird feeling to explain, but it leads me to sit on the beach in January sometimes.

So, here’s my photo.  It was taken at Cape May Point just a couple of weeks ago.  I love how blue the water was that day!

Atlantic Ocean

*sigh*

 

I don’t use the term sea too often, but I believe it’s interchangeable with ocean.  It’s also loosely fitting of beach, shore, and happy place.

So… what does the sea mean to you?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in beach, friends, photos, random new jersey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

  1. Agreed- Sigh and sea are the exact same words! 🙂 Kathryn

  2. colonialist says:

    To me: home. I lived for a decade or two away from the ocean, but I kept trying to get back to it. Once having succeeded, wild elephants tried to drag us away again … and failed!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Good answer! I guess I could say the same. I grew up more than 5 hours away from the sea, but moved within an hour a few years ago. I’ve adapted quickly, and can’t imagine life without it so close! I was definitely missing it all my life!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea (Walks) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: 8-31-13- Weekly Travel Photo Theme Challenge: Distance Sea | The Quotidian Hudson

  5. The sea is nice – my husband feels the same way you do. I feel that way about the mountains. the picture is beautiful – as always.

    • pamasaurus says:

      The sea is definitely my go-to happy place, but nature in general is amazing. I grew up in the mountains, and miss them a lot. That’s why I’m so happy with where we live. It’s less than an hour to the shore and less than an hour to some epic Pa mountain hiking spots 😀

      Thanks 😀

  6. I had a sea/ocean dilemma as well!

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea |

  8. Pingback: Photo Project ’52 Bolivian Sundays’ [week 35, 'Sea']. Okay, no sea in Bolivia, but… | 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea (2) | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a Reply

