Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

I’m currently impatiently awaiting the arrival of my guests.  Wendy, John, and the kids (Hunter, Wyatt, and Pyper) will be here in a few hours, and I’m pretty excited.  We have lots of fun things planned for this week, and I can only hope we get it all in!

I’m going to show them my favorite things about South Jersey, including Adventure Aquarium, East Point Lighthouse, The Cohanzick Zoo, and many others.  Oh, we’re also going to spend a lot of time at the beach!  I love the beach!

I thought I’d take this soon-to-be-rare moment of free time to let you all know I’m still around!  What better way to do that than participating in The Weekly Photo Challenge?  This week’s theme is ‘one shot, two ways.’  They’re looking for two photos of the same subject from different angles or different layouts… I thought I’d take the same photo, and show two it cropped two different ways.

This is one of my favorite photos from Alaska.  It was taken at The Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center.  When I showed the original, SOOC photo to Daniel, he said it was nothing special, and he would have probably just skipped over it.

Moose SOOC

SOOC (Straight Out Of Camera)

I had originally cropped it as a landscape, mostly because that’s how the original photo was oriented.  I printed and framed this photo (First time ever framing a non-3×5 snapshot style photo!) for a friend who loves moose, and made the last minute decision to change it.  I love the way it looks with a portrait layout!  Well, I love both versions, but I’m just amazed at how the simple crop changed the photo.

 

Moose - Landscape

Landscape

Moose - Portrait

Portrait

I’m slowly learning this whole photography thing, and I kinda love this photo.  I know I still have a lot to learn, but I’ll get there eventually.  I’m just happy that I can finally take my camera off of auto!

 

So… yeah.  There’s that.  I should be able to post my menu plan tomorrow, but I’ll probably be MIA until the middle of the following week after that.  Busy summer is busy!

At least it’s all awesome, fun stuff, right?

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, alaska, beach, photos, random new jersey, the bay, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways

  1. Love it! They are great and all three are wonderful! have fun!

  2. It’s always a great day when you can get a moose to pose for you! Nice work!

  3. Lovely photos for this challenge.

Leave a Reply

