Epic Alaskan Adventure, Day 2

Day two of our adventure started with a drive.  We wanted to get to Stoney Creek RV Park, our home for the next few nights, before we did anything else.  The drive there was amazing; I basically did nothing but stare out the window the whole time again.  I’ve said it before, but Alaska is so beautiful!

We arrived, and the first thing I noticed was the wifi and cell service.  You don’t even understand, guys.  We couldn’t even pick up a radio station the day before.  Yay for signs of civilization!  This meant that we could use the interwebs to plan our day, and we decided to head out on Kenai Fjords Tours’ Resurrection Bay Half Day Tour.

The day was cloudy and drizzly, but it ended up being an amazing choice!  We board our boat, The Nunatak, at Seward Harbor.

Seward Harbor

Nunatak

I later found out that a Nunatak is a rocky mountain peak not covered by ice or snow in an icefield. Interesting.

Our first stop was Fox Island for lunch.  I can’t even begin to explain how beautiful this island was!  With only a lodge and a few cabins along the coast, it’s basically untouched.

Fox Island

I’m adding “spend a night on Fox Island” to my list of reasons I have to go back to Alaska one day.

Fox Island is famous for having  pretty perfect skipping stones on it’s rocky shore.  It even hosts an annual rock skipping competition.

Daniel Skipping Stones

Daniel agrees that the rocks are pretty perfect.

This is where we had our only complaint about the tour:  We didn’t have enough time to enjoy the island fully!  Of course, I probably could have spent all day there and still want more time!

Back onboard The Nunatak, we spotted a few humpback whales right away!  Our captain, whose name I think was Steve (I’m probably wrong.), stopped to point them out and told us all about them.

Humpback Whale

This is a mama and baby humpback ❤

Unfortunately, those were the only whales we saw.  We did manage to spot some Dall Porpoises, sea lions, a sea otter, puffins, bald eagles, and lots of other seabirds.  It was pretty amazing.

The captain whose name may have been Steve spend the whole time educating us on all things Resurrection Bay in a very entertaining way.  It was obvious that he knew a lot about the area and cared a lot about it as well.  I could have spent all day on that boat learning more, but we were only on the half day tour.

Another reason to go back to Alaska one day:  Do the full day tour.

Even if we didn’t see all the different types of whales, we still got to be surrounded by the amazing scenery.  It’s just breathtaking out there, guys.

After the boat tour, we headed back to our home-on-wheels for relaxing, dinner, and showers.  We had heard from everyone that we had to see the fireworks in Seward.  They were fabled to be the best around.  We did exactly what we were instructed to do, and the fireworks started as soon as the day switched from July 3rd to the 4th.

It was still pretty light out at midnight, but I guess they couldn’t push them later and still expect a good turnout.

The display left a lot to be desired.  It was nothing compared to the fireworks we went to in Glenolden a few weeks ago, the ones I grew up with in Williamsport, or the ones Daniel’s Parents attend in Maine.  Everyone seemed really impressed by them, though.  I guess ‘awesome fireworks’ is a relative term.

Trinity was exhausted and managed to sleep through the firework display.  She woke up long enough to walk back into the RV and promptly passed back out with her shoes and coat still on.  Poor kid did not adjust well to the time difference!

Trinity is PASSED OUT

 

In case you are keeping track, here’s my running list of reasons I have to go back to Alaska one day:

  1. I want to see the aurora borealis.  This means I have to go when its *cold*.
  2. I want to spend a night on Fox Island, giving me more time to explore.
  3. I want to do a full day Kenai Fjords tour.
  4. I think it would be pretty amazing to go sea kayaking.  Daniel doesn’t agree with this, but I’ll just go without him.

 

Back here in Jersey, though, we’re in the middle of an awful heatwave.  Our central AC broke (Daniel has ordered the part.  So it will be fixed soon!), and we’ve been holed up in our game room with a window unit.  I’ve been unable to put my book, Game of Thrones, down, and I’ve been trying to get back into the grove of real life.  I’m failing at that, though.  I’m trying, and that’s all that matters.  Hope you are all well!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, alaska, books, daniel, holiday, Independence Day, list making, photos, trinity, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Epic Alaskan Adventure, Day 2

  1. Angie says:

    I want to go to Alaska too. 😀 Must have been amazing to see the whales! and as usual brilliant photos Pam!

  2. I loved all the marine life! My favorite part was the stone skipping place! I was so great at skipping stones, dad taught me, and I would have loved it!

  3. Juliet says:

    Wow! It looks like you had another amazing day! I remember seeing Fox Island on a fishing trip we took, but we didn’t get a chance to stop at the island. It looked beautiful and intriguing. I love your list of reasons to visit Alaska again. (I need to compile a list, too, and convince my dear husband that we really do need to go back. I’d love to take my son there. :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It was pretty amazing. I think we did something pretty epic every day we were there!!

      You need to go back! It’s awesome. Feel free to borrow from my list! Definitely take your son to the wildlife conservation center. That was pretty amazing!

  4. msdulce says:

    You either got really lucky, or Alaska is the most amazing place ever in the history of the world to see wildlife. Oh my GOODNESS!! If I’m ever able to make it to Alaska, the boat tour with the Captain whose name may have been Steve (full day) is for sure going on my list. Do people actually live on Fox Island, or were the cabins all visitors? I can’t imagine having those sorts of views out my front door!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I think Alaska is just really awesome for spotting wildlife! We saw a TON of wildlife, including twin baby moose! They were adorable!

      Definitely check out the tour, and get up there soon! I want to go back, but there are so many other places I want to go… I guess that’s one good think about loving adventure: you can be happy anywhere and not care if you repeat places 😉

      There are probably caretakers and room for staff, but the nice cabins are for tourists. I want to stay in one so bad!

  5. mhdriver says:

    You did one helluva good job on the all your photos but the one that blew me away was the fire works. I was reading yahoo today and this article popped up about Alaska. Here’s the url
    http://www.grindtv.com/outdoor/nature/post/worst-swarm-of-alaskan-mosquitoes-ever/

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I was pretty proud of the firework photos, too!!

      The mosquitos were AWFUL. Glad we took bug spray!

  6. Pingback: Epic Alaskan Adventure Day #4 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

