Epic Alaskan Adventure, Day 1

I don’t even know where to start.  We did so many epic things while in Alaska.  I haven’t even finished sorting the photos yet, but I am at least done with the ones from the first few days.

Our flight was relatively uneventful.  There was a lot of turbulence due to thunderstorms everywhere across the country, but all of our flights were on time.  I had one of the best burgers of my life at Modern Burger in the Phoenix Airport.  I saw the Pacific Ocean for the first time from the plane window.  I learned not to look out a plane window while half asleep because it causes a lot of confusion.

The best part, though, was watching the sunset from the plane.  Although it was a little trippy.  It was dark when we left Phoenix, but we caught up with the sunset somewhere along the Pacific Coast.  So, really, we got to watch the sunset rise.  I’m too easily amused.

Sunset

Gorgeous!

The airport ‘lost’ one of our bags.  I use the quotes because they actually forgot to put it on the plane in Philly.  We were promised it would be there around 2pm that day (it was 1:30 am Alaska Time).  It was the bag that contained our hiking boots, though.  Trinity and I spent that day rocking socks with flip flops.  Hey.  It was cold!

After getting some sleep, we headed out on our first day of adventuring.  Our plan was to be in Seward for the 4th.  So we headed down the Seward Highway, stopping at random scenic overlooks along the way.  Daniel and I went in the car, and Trinity and Daniel’s parents drove the RV.

I stared out the window the whole time.  Alaska really is beautiful.

Alaska is the Prettiest State

 

Our first official stop of the day was at Portage Valley.  We didn’t do much hiking because of the whole flip flop thing, but I did get to see my first glacier!  I was pretty excited over this and made Daniel pose for a million photos.

Daniel With Glacier

He posed without complaint, though! He even managed a bit of a smile.

 

I never realized that glaciers were such bright blue!  This is apparently because glacial ice is so super compacted that it absorbs every wavelength of light except blue.

It was cold, drizzly, windy, and foggy.  It was still beautiful, though.  I can only imagine how gorgeous everything is when the sun is out!  Everything we saw was just breathtaking.

Flag

After we were done exploring the Portage Valley area, we headed to the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, which was pretty amazing.  It was definitely worth the price of admission.

We were able to see musk oxen, elk, reindeer, wood bison, grizzly bears, black bears, moose, a porcupine and an injured bald eagle.  While I did get to see eagles and moose in the wild later in the trip, it was still pretty awesome to see them in this setting.

 

The scenery was just amazing, too.  The whole area was spotted with ‘Ghost Forests.’  During the 1964 earthquake, parts of Alaska fell below sea level.  Saltwater rushed into these areas, killing and preserving the trees.  I happen to think they’re eerie and beautiful.

Ghost Forest

 

The highlight of the visit for Trinity was getting to pet an actual reindeer named Chuckles.  The staff is working on socializing him, so he doesn’t negatively react to people.  He was pretty awesome.

Chuckles the Reindeer

 

At this point, Daniel and I went back to Anchorage to pick up our ‘lost’ suitcase and pick up a few groceries (We cooked all but 3 meals in the RV) while Trinity and her Grandparents took the RV to our home for the night.  Granite Creek Campground was basically the most beautiful (although also the most mosquito infested) place I had ever seen.

Granite Creek

The hardest part of the trip was sleeping.  This time of year in the Kenai Fjords area of Alaska, the sun only sets for a few hours each night.  Between that and the time change, I had a hard time falling asleep and kept waking up super early.

This also meant it was basically never fully dark.  So, I didn’t have a chance of seeing the Northern Lights.  That just means I have to go back during peak aurora time, right?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, alaska, daniel, Independence Day, photos, trinity, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Epic Alaskan Adventure, Day 1

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    How cool!! I can’t wait to read more about your trip. When I was a little younger than Trinity my family went to Alaska and we also rented an RV! Having the RV was perfect for covering the large distances and my mom cooked most of our meals in the RV, too. It was a great experience for me as I’m sure it was for Trinity!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to share more about it. RVing up there really is the way to go… I want to go back now 😀 Trinity really enjoyed herself, and I hope it’s something she remembers forever!

  2. Angie says:

    Can’t wait for more stories and pictures from Alaska…nice socks and flip flops Trinity 😀 So glad your back and had a wonderful time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to share more.

      Yeah, I was rocking that look on day 1, too. Stupid airline! At least there’s no photographic evidence of my fashion faux paux, lol.

  3. modernoracle says:

    Wow! Beautiful photos!!! Am looking forward to more, too. What is it about a moose that always makes me want to laugh…and it’s not just the old Bullwinkle cartoon 😀 So cool! Welcome home though…we missed you 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you so much! I’m excited to share more! If you want a preview… here’s my Flickr set so far. I still have two more days to edit and post!

      Wing

      Moose are cute, adorable creatures… but deadly. It’s weird to think about 😉

  4. Dear Heavens you had a beautiful time! You could sell those photographs or have your own gallery show called Alaska! I’m serious

    • pamasaurus says:

      Awww, thanks! I wish I knew how to go about doing that… and to find the courage to do it! I’d love to make a living taking pictures 😉

  5. mhdriver says:

    Wow! What an adventure for all of you. I have not been to Alaska but I have been in Canada. I’m happy for y’all. what a great place to visit. Seeing the animals in the wild is a great experience, one you will never forget, I haven’t. Funny that you posted this today or when ever you wrote it because I was going to ask how your trip was, I can see it was GREAT. the pictures are going to bring back those memories every time you look at them – Even years later and you remember every little detail including those pesky mosquitos. Jim

  6. Juliet says:

    Oh, it sounds like you had an amazing trip!! Your photos are incredible, and I can’t wait to see more. Alaska is a truly special place, isn’t it?! I think I shared with you that my husband and I visited Alaska ten years ago, and it’s one of our favorite places. I do remember how hard sleeping was because of the long days of sunlight, though. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your trip. :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! We did!! You did tell me about your trip. It sounds like an amazing memory, and I hope you guys get to go back eventually!!

  7. msdulce says:

    I’m so excited to finally read your Alaska trip recap!!! This looks like such an amazing trip, and I’ve only made it to day 1. The AWCC! I’m so jealous! They offer animal care internships that I really wanted to participate in during college, but I couldn’t quite piece together the $$ for a flight & housing. Some day I’ll make it up there! Mr. M & I found it really difficult to sleep under the midnight sun in Iceland, too. Did the RV come equipped with blackout shades? Also, Trinity looks un-ironically awesome in flip flops + socks… Well done. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      That sucks! Sorry you didn’t get to intern with them, but I’m sure you did some other amazing things! You should put Alaska on the top of your travel wish list 😉

      Luckily we weren’t that far north. The sun was technically set for 3 hours a night, but it wasn’t fully dark for more than 1-2. Our RV came equipped with skylights over the sleeping areas and no way to cover them. Next time I travel someplace north, I’m taking an eye cover 😉

      I have a friend that lives in the Arctic in Canada. He’s lived there almost a year, so this is his first experience with the midnight sun. He’s so excited that it’s ending soon, haha. I couldn’t imagine!

Leave a Reply

