Menu Plan Monday #52

Yet another week between posts.  I still fail at interwebbing, and I don’t foresee it getting much better this summer.  We’ve got a lot of big plans!

This coming weekend, Megan and I are heading to the South Jersey Wine Festival.  We will sample 200+ varieties of wine while the menfolk spend some quality time with their daughters.

We leave for Alaska in 15 days.  I’m no where near ready, but I am fully excited.  I did download a bunch of books to read on the flights.  I guess I should start getting serious about this.  (BTW: Thanks Megan and Charlie for watching the hoome and the babies while we’re gone!!)

Trinity will spend the remainder of July in Maine with Daniel’s Parents.  Daniel will spend this time working a lot of overtime like he usually does.  I’ll probably spend a lot of time with friends, including a trip to West Virginia to visit AA.  I’m also planning a trip to North Carolina to visit the famous Tiffany.

My cousins, Wendy, John, Hunter, Wyatt, and Pyper, are coming for a week in August.  The day after they leave, we’re hoping to go camping with Megan, Dave, and Charlie.  When we get back, we’ll have enough time to hang out and have some downtime before Trinity starts 8th grade.

Last year I made a Summer Bucket List, but I don’t think I need to do one this year.  I have more than enough plans already!  It makes my anxiety peak just thinking about it all. It’ll be fun, though!

This past weekend was pretty busy, too!  Saturday was Megan’s birthday and Charlie’s 2nd birthday party.  Sunday was, of course, Father’s Day.  Unfortunately Daniel had to work last night, but we still managed to spend some quality family time together.  I made awesome pancakes and we went for a mini-hike at Parvin.

So much awesome stuff going on!  Hopefully you guys are keeping happily busy as well.  I do miss you, but real life beckons sometimes.

I’ll get to the point, though.  Here is this week’s menu plan.  I pushed one meal back because I did not cook after Charlie’s part.  We got home around 6, and I was just too lazy.

  1. Rosemary-Balsamic Chicken with Mashed Potatoes and Peas
  2. Guinness Corned Beef with Potatoes and Carrots
  3. Corned Beef Soup
  4. Sweet Potato and Black Bean Soup
  5. Parmesan Flounder with Rice and Vegetables
  6. Crispy Chicken Thighs with Potatoes and Broccoli
  7. Barbeque Ribs with Tomato Grits

We got an awesome deal on a corned beef brisket.  I realize it’s not St. Paddy’s Day, but it’s delicious any time of the year.  So, whatever.

For more menu planning ideas, check out The Vampire DietLove Harmony Peace, and Food Allergy Experience.  Also, I post yummy recipes over at Om Nomalicious.

So…. comment about food and awesome summer plans, please!!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, alaska, birthday, books, cooking, daniel, fathers day, festival, friends, furbabies, holiday, hoome, menu plan monday, St. Patrick's Day, trinity, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #52

  1. Tomato Grits?!?! I’m southern and I don’t like those things! All the rest sounds great though. Boy, what a big summer you have. I used to have crazy summers like that – you should while Trinity and Charlie are young because you want them to look back and have great memories you made together. Someday I’ll have to post about the time I took Top Girl and her best friend to Branson, Missouri and Dogpatch, Arkansas for her birthday. We still laugh loudly when we talk about that. You, Daniel and Trinity will be making some more of those kinds of memories all summer long!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh, man! I love grits! I had never heard of them until Daniel’s mom made them one day. I’ve been hooked ever since. I love them with butter, cheese, and bacon, but am excited to try the tomato ones. (I didn’t get around to making them last week. We were busy this weekend!)

      Thanks! I’m pretty excited, but also anxious because it’s so much planning. Not good for someone with anxiety, but I think I’ll survive 😉 haha.

  2. modernoracle says:

    Anytime is a good time for corned beef 😀 Your summer sounds awesome! Lucky Trinity going to Maine! Enjoy Alaska. My mom has a cousin who lives there, and I’ve heard nothing but good things. We’re going to west-by-god-virginia too for the hillbilly jamboree (aka family reunion). Will be visiting you here and omnomalicious for some good food ideas after sugarpalooza down there. But as a fellow blogger – you never fail at the interwebs until you want to write – but don’t ever. I like quality over quantity when I’m reading blogs. You are quality – always – so don’t sweat it and enjoy. We your loyal readers will be waiting to hear all about your adventures 🙂 Hi to Trinity and Daniel

    • pamasaurus says:

      Corned Beef was amazing this week. I need to start buying it more often, haha.

      Thanks! I’m excited for the full summer, but anxious because it’s a lot to plan for! We were in Maine last summer visiting Daniel’s parents for a week. It’s pretty amazing up there!!

      Have fun in WV 😀 and Thanks!

  3. mhdriver says:

    Good plan Pam. I never heard of tomato & grits before. I’m in the south and I’ve asked people that I know that have lived here all there lives, If they ever had shrimp and grits. The answer was always NO. I have a friend from Chicago he would go to the Waffle House and order a big bowl of grits and put ten packs of sugar in it. I have grits maybe two to three times a week for breakfast with only a little bit of butter and a little bit of shredded cheese.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’m born and raised in the north and had never heard of grits until I met my husband’s family. They’re from the south, and I’m slowly learning all these yummy foods.

      I like mine with butter, cheese, and bacon crumbles, but these tomato and cheese ones sounded amazing!

      Another friend of mine mentioned the sugar thing. I don’t think that sounds very good :/

      • mhdriver says:

        I just talked to my neighbor He said He loves Grits and tomatoes and shrimp & grits. I love grits your way butter/cheese & sometimes bacon. I eat instant grits in the packets two or three times a week. I guess I’m going to have to try it with tomatoes or shrimp. Thanks for all your likes and comments. Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

