Memorial Day Weekend 2013

This week is flying by!  It always feels like that when there’s a holiday, though.  It probably has something to do with Trinity having one less day of school…. it totally feels like it should be Wednesday instead of Thursday.

I guess it’s a good time to finally share about my Memorial Day weekend.

Megan, Dave, and Charlie came over on Sunday for a cookout.  Our spinach and swiss chard were ready in our garden.  That meant salads, grilled balsamic chicken salads to be exact, and grilled apples with ice cream for dessert.  Everything was delicious!

We played games and ran around the yard, Charlie drank bubbles, a badminton birdie got stuck on the roof, and fun times were had by all.

 

We decided to head to East Point Lighthouse in Heislerville, NJ to watch the sun set over the Delaware Bay.  It might have been the best idea ever!  It was Charlie’s first time at the beach, and she was so excited!!  The sky was clear, and the sunset was so vivid!

As the sun went down, we started to notice some really bright stars arranged in a triangle.  Megan remembered that the planets (Mercury, Venus, and Jupiter) were converging into an equilateral triangle.  From what I’ve read, it happens once every two years.  That was pretty amazing to see!

We were walking back to the cars when we spotted what was either a small whale, a large dolphin, a shark, or a sea monster swimming up the bay.  I think it was probably a large dolphin, but it was too dark to really tell.  Trinity and Dave have decided to name it Dellie, the Nessie or Chessie of the Delaware Bay.  Whatever it was, we were happy to see it.

When Dellie was out of sight, we continued our trek back to the cars.  Dave stopped and pointed out a meteor.  It was huge, bright green, and stretched across the whole sky.  The thing was seriously visible for at least 30 seconds.  Trinity was SUPER excited because it was the first time she’s ever experienced a shooting star.

It was the perfect ending to a perfect day.

 

Monday was not as epic as Sunday, but it was still a pretty nice day.  Daniel, Trinity, and I headed out to Batsto Village in Hammonton, NJ to do some hiking through Warton Forest.  I love the unique ecosystem of the Pine Barrens, and we always have a great time exploring there!

 

See how awesome my weekend was?  How was yours??

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, friends, furbabies, holiday, memorial day, photos, random new jersey, random parks, the bay, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Memorial Day Weekend 2013

  1. Was that a snake?!?!? YIKES! Seeing a shooting star means your life is going to change – an old southern saying. You can look forward to that. Venus,Jupiter, and Mercury have converged and will stay this way for a few more nights before Mercury, the fastest moving planet, shoots on ahead. I bet it was beautiful!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was just a little one… and it scared Spike so bad. It was pretty hilarious.

      Hopefully the shooting star means something is changing in a good way 😉

      It was really amazing! It was the night that they were in a perfect equilateral triangle. So awesome!

  2. Gail says:

    Very nice weekend, but you really must put a disclaimer…..PICTURES CONTAINS A SNAKE!!!! BE PREPARED MOM!!!!

  3. Rene says:

    You’re just too cute Pami. I’m glad your weekend was fantastic. 🙂

  4. Angie says:

    What a wonderful weekend!!! I love the curly hair on both of you! Glad you enjoyed your weekend!!!

  5. mhdriver says:

    I heard about the planets bing lined up but forgot to go check them out. I’m glad y’all got to see them. What a great weekend. Thank you for all the likes you post on my blog.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Bastet’s Pixelventures: Sunset | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

