National Public Garden Day

Last Friday was National Public Gardens Day.  How many of you took this opportunity to visit a garden or arboretum that you wouldn’t regularly visit?  I did.  Megan, Charlie and I had a really nice day visiting two different gardens.

First, we headed into Philly to check out Shofuso Japanese House and Garden.  It was definitely beautiful there, but we saw everything there was to see in less than ten minutes. Well, we saw everything on the grounds.  We didn’t go into the house because there were too many things for Charlie to grab and break.

It would definitely be a nice place to sit and meditate, read, or draw, but I wouldn’t recommend it for adventuring.

 

I’m sure it was even prettier there a few weeks ago while the cherry trees were blooming!

After a quick lunch, we headed out to The Morris Arboretum, which is owned by The University of Pennsylvania and is the official arboretum of the state of Pennsylvania.  It ended up being pretty amazing.  We explored for two hours without repeating anything.

First and foremost, there was an amazing array of plants.  I found a few different varieties I’d like to have in my yard.  Daniel keeps joking that he’s going to have to buy me 50+ acres for all the plants and trees I want!

The grounds were just so well kept and gorgeous.  I want my imaginary 50+ acres to look just like The Morris Arboretum!

This summer, they are hosting a Big Bug exhibit that features 11 bug sculptures made by David Rogers.  They were all pretty awesome, but I was confused.  I swore we saw all of them, but I only had 9 photos.  It turns out that the three ant sculptures were counted separately   So, 11 total sculptures of 9 species of insects are on display through August.

Don’t worry, though, if you can’t visit while the bugs are on display.  There are still plenty of things to do and see!

One thing I was really excited about was the Dawn Redwoods.  What’s a Dawn Redwood?  Oh, ya know, just something Dinosaurs probably ate, and I love Dinosaurs!  They’re trees that were thought to have gone extinct 30 million years ago.  However, they were discovered in the forests of China in the 40s.  The seeds were distributed, and Morris has a pretty nice collection of them.  They’re really awesome.

Another pretty awesome feature is The Loggia, or Mercury’s Temple.  It was built in 1913, and features a sculpture, Mercury At Rest, which is a copy of a sculpture found in the ashes of Vesuvius.

The cornerstone of The Loggia is thought to contain a copy of a manuscript written by John Morris.  Of course, no one has ever opened it to find out!

If you go under the building, there’s a beautiful little grotto that leads to The Ravine Garden.  It looks like a gorgeous little walk, but we didn’t have time (and Charlie was tired). I definitely want to explore it at some point in the future.

 

I saved the most awesome for last.  Right next to the visitor center is an exhibit called Out On A Limb.  It’s a catwalk/walkway that is about 50 feet in the air.  It’s not just a catwalk, though.  There are lots of different things to experience.  One end has a fake nest with HUGE eggs.  Charlie loved that one.  Another spot, which is the highest part, has a netting/hammock area.  It was a little disorienting, but Charlie and I braved the net for a photo opp.  There were also cones that, when held to your ears, let you hear all the sounds of the forest.

It’s just pretty awesome.  It’s also completely handicap (and stroller!) accessible.

 

See what I mean?  It’s definitely worth the price of admission!  Daniel really wants to go, and I’d love to see the other things that we missed.  That means Morris Arboretum is still on our (ever growing) list of places to explore!

 

I have two announcements before I shut up.  First, Saturday is Art Museum Day.  Here’s a list of participating museums.  Find one near you and explore!

Lastly, tomorrow night is Trinity’s Relay for Life.  She has more than doubled her goal, but cancer sucks.  So, we’re still accepting donations!  Click here for more information on why she’s relaying and how to donate.  Lets kick cancer’s butt!!

Thank you to all the awesome people who have made donations already.  We really, truly appreciate it!  Keep being awesome!

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, friends, geek, philadelphia, photos, random parks, random pennsylvania and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to National Public Garden Day

  1. Angie says:

    Beautiful Gardens!!! Sounds and looks like you guys had a great day!!!! Love the bugs!! I think the spider would be my favorite or maybe the dragonfly 😀 ‘As usual you’ve taken some great shots!!

  2. mhdriver says:

    What a great place to visit and all the flowers are gorgeous, especially the azaleas.

  3. msdulce says:

    The Japanese garden in particular looks so beautiful! And am I the only one who wants to hear the story of how you were attacked by a praying mantis?? Story time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was really beautiful there! Small but beautiful. I could sit by the pond for hours, reading or writing, I think.

      Back when I worked for Hershey, I had hit a deer with my car. When I went to pick my car up from the body shop, there was a praying mantis sitting on the stairs. It was a huge one, too. I stared it down for a while, but it didn’t move. I decided just to walk by it, into the building. It apparently did not like that idea and flew at me repeatedly. I ran the rest of the way to the door waving my arms around my head like a person being attacked by bees. It was pretty funny and random.

Leave a Reply

