The Cohanzick Zoo

This past weekend, Megan and Charlie accompanied Trinity and me to Kids’ Day at The Cohanzick Zoo in Bridgeton, New Jersey.  We had been there before, while Trinity was on Spring Break, so the photos in this post will be from both days.  I can honestly say that I didn’t take a whole bunch last weekend.

The Cohanzick Zoo was founded in 1934 and was New Jersey’s first zoo.  It’s also one of the last free zoos in the nation.  There’s no tickets, just a donation box.  You can enter for free, but don’t be cheap.  They just had their funding cut.  So, I’m sure they appreciate any donation they get!

It’s definitely a smaller zoo.  We took our time walking around, making sure we visited every animal, and it only took us about an hour and a half.  It’s a nice way to spend an afternoon, though!

When you first walk in, there’s an elephant statue.  It’s a great place for a photo opp!

 

The zoo has over 200 animals, many of which are ducks and peafowl that are free to roam the grounds as they please.  I love peacocks.  I went through a stage about a year ago where I saw them everywhere.  There was one randomly on my running trail.  Another one was chillin in a group of turkeys in a field along the road.  Thinking about it, I’ve definitely had strange encounters with them in the past.  I almost hit one with my car when I was in my early twenties.  I have a special affinity for them, so I, of course, took a ton of photos.  Who wouldn’t?  They’re gorgeous birds!

 

 

The other animals, which I’m pretty sure are all birds and mammals, include a Bengal Tiger, monkeys, wild dogs, a leopard, an Asiatic Bear, and many more.

 

We had a great time both days!  I know Charlie had a bunch of fun!

Charlie

Charlie was REALLY excited about the lion water fountain.

 

Since it’s only about 20 minutes from my house, I’m sure we’ll head back again soon.  Definitely stop by and check it out if you’re ever in the area.

 

 

I just want to take a minute to make a few announcements.  I want to remind everyone that tomorrow (Friday May 10) is National Public Garden Day.  Also, next weekend, specifically Saturday the 18th, is Art Museum Day.  Some museums have free admission, others have festivals.  It seems like a fun time!  Here’s a list of all the participating museums.

Go out and take advantage of these days.  It’s a great opportunity to explore these places, especially if you’re on a tight budget.

Oh oh oh!!  Also, next weekend is Trinity’s Relay for Life.  We appreciate all the donations!  She has more than doubled her goal at this point, but we’ll gladly take more.  Cancer sucks!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, friends, photos, random new jersey, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Cohanzick Zoo

  1. I love peacocks too! I have a picture I will post on FB (KK page) from my aunt and uncle’s home. My aunt has a wild and wonderfully eclectic decorating style and this peacock has been a part of her home for at least 35 years. I hope one day she will allow me to take custody of it. I’ll tag you if I can!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Of course you love them, too. I should have known that! Haha. I look forward to seeing a photo of this peacock your Aunt has had for 35 years. I’ll be sure to watch my newsfeed!

  2. mhdriver says:

    Happy Mothers Day

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

