Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

We went to a used book sale today in Media, Pa.  People donate books, and the proceeds go to the local library.  I can’t even begin to explain how many books they had.  There was a house that was FILLED with just bookshelves.  Then, they had the paperbacks and kids’ books in the community center.  It was insane.

We spent $31.50 on 18 hardcover books, a VHS, a Xbox game, and 22 paperbacks.  I’d say that’s a pretty awesome deal, and we’ll have enough books to keep us busy for a while!  Most of the paperbacks were Trinity’s picks, but she needs to read, too!

I’m sad to say that I haven’t picked up a book so far this year.  I just haven’t had the motivation or the time to do so.  I’m going to start one tonight.  The only issue is picking which one!

Trinity is currently reading Jurassic Park.  What can I say?  We love dinosaurs in this house!

 

In other news, it’s time for The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge!  This week’s theme is UP.  It can be a direction, orientation, or movement.  I’m supposed to choose one photo that shows what up means to me.  I was having issues picking just one, but here it is:

Up

That building goes up and up and up….

 

I posted this photo before, in my Christmas Adventuring in Philly post.  I love it enough to post it again, though.  It’s especially fitting for this challenge.  The Comcast building appears to just go up and up and up.  It looks like it never ends.

 

Hopefully you guys all had an awesome weekend!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, books, christmas, geek, photos, random pennsylvania, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

  1. Angie says:

    I love used book sales!!!! I’m a bit of a book hoarder 😀

  2. Love used book sales – the Oklahoma City Public library system has a huge book sale (so large that you have to buy tickets to) to raise money to the library and I try to get tickets every year. Love it!

  3. Just had to move our massive collection of books to a new house. Has put me off book hoarding a bit!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yeah, I can see why that would happen. We moved almost two years ago. I stopped buying for a while, but I couldn’t help myself today 😉 You’ll find your book hoarding love again eventually!

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    Media, PA?! Matt and I used to live there! (Actually right across the street from the community center where you guys were.) It’s still our closest town and we go back all the time to visit Iron Hill Brewery, Trader Joe’s, and the place where I get my hair cut. 😉 I hope you enjoyed the town!

    • pamasaurus says:

      How cool! When I posted about going to the book sale on Facebook, one of my college friends mentioned that she lives just a block away from the community center! Apparently Media is the place to be. I need to go there more often… mostly to visit the brewery and Trader Joe’s, haha.

      My best friend Megan lives in Glenolden and attends church in Media. So, I’m over that way a few times a month.

  5. Dabbit says:

    I must admit I’m not a great reader, and it takes me an age to finish a book. But I do love a bargain and you certainly seem to have got that with your $31 deal. As for the photo it is amazing, sure winner!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Reading isn’t for everyone… but I can’t think of anyone who doesn’t love a bargain!

      Thanks! I’m pretty proud of that photo 😉

  6. Pingback: Up, Up, and… well, just Up | Rebecca Barray

  7. gianna says:

    That building is great, I remember when I went to visit it!

  8. maellem says:

    This is impressive!!! Nice pic!!!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up! | Cheri Speak

  10. mpejovic says:

    I’d love to find a used book sale where I can find more than a couple of books to buy. Good for you!

  11. ahhh real books/ gotta love em
    the shot is excellent indeed

    I cheated and used 3 shots

    moondustwriter

    • pamasaurus says:

      I have a Kindle, which I love… but there’s just something about real books that make reading so much more rewarding.

      Thanks! I should have just posted them all 😉

  12. picassoqueen says:

    I like the photo of the building and think it really looks awesome how it kind of fades away toward the top.

  13. msdulce says:

    If I had 18 new books in the house, I seriously do not think I could do anything else but read. The temptation! Can’t believe you were able to get all of that for $31… love, love, love used book sales. (And hardcover books… they feel so much more substantial!)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yes, hardcover books are pretty amazing. I’m trying to collect my favorite series (Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas) in hardcover. I found two of them while we were there!

      I have a kindle, which is nice for travel and everything, but sometimes you just need to hold a real book!

      • msdulce says:

        I know what you mean! As much as I *want* to like the kindle, I just can’t get into it & gave mine away to Mr. M. I love the weight of a book in my hands and turning pages and even just the smell of the pages. I’m old-school that way. 🙂 By the way, Odd Thomas is one of Sister S’s favorite series! Second only to Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park. You two have the same taste in books (and the same feelings on dinos, as she wears a trex necklace every single day and has dino-themed tshirts for every occasion).

      • pamasaurus says:

        Um, Sister S sounds pretty amazing. Trinity is currently reading Jurassic Park. She takes after me 😉

        That reminds me that I totally have a Trex necklace, but the chain is too long. I keep meaning to shorten it, but have been sidetracked by my apatosaurus one.

  14. Pingback: Up, Up, and… well, just Up | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

Leave a Reply

