Visiting The Fishies!

I’ve been MIA for a few days.  I guess the last post left me a little more emotionally raw than I expected it to.  So, I’ve been extra antisocial and introspective.  I think it’s time for a lighter post.  Life has ups and downs, and so does this blog.

During Spring Break, Trinity and I met up with my friend Corinne and her son to visit the fish at Adventure Aquarium in Camden, NJ.  It’s the 5th largest aquarium in the US.  That means it has to be awesome, right?  Well, it is.

I’m always a little apprehensive about going to Camden.  It’s one of the most dangerous cities in the US, and I have heard horror stories from Daniel’s coworkers.  One guy has woken up to a body on his porch on more than one occasion.

Luckily, the aquarium is right on the waterfront.  That’s where all the tourist attractions are located.  So, it’s generally pretty safe in that area compared to other parts.  Plus, it’s right by the highway.  No getting lost in a dangerous city for this girl!

When I say ‘right on the waterfront,’ I mean it.  The views from the upper floors are amazing!  I love Philly.

Philly Skyline

Trinity was most excited about seeing Mighty Mike.  He’s the largest alligator on display in the US outside of Florida.  He’s over 14 feet long and weighs over 800 pounds.  There were commercials for him on all the time, apparently.  I didn’t see one until a few hours after this visit, though.

Mighty Mike was pretty amazing!!  The photo doesn’t do him justice, though.  So, I’ve included a size comparison.  Yikes!

We spent some time exploring the rest of the aquarium.  We were there a few years ago, but things had changed a lot.  There were a few different touch exhibits and lots of awesome sea creatures!

My favorite area, though, is the African Area.  They have birds flying around, African Crested Porcupines hiding behind something (Seriously, I can never see them!), and two Nile Hippos.  The hippos, Button and Genny, weigh about 3,000 pounds each!  Yikes!

Adventure Aquarium is the only aquarium in the world to display hippos.

The African area is also where my favorite photo of Trinity was taken years ago….

Trinity and Hippo

Pretty awesome, huh? Don’t worry, there’s glass there!

Another pretty cool area is the Jules Verne Gallery.  It features animals that are found in the deep parts of the oceans.  These animals are really pretty awesome!

The last part of the aquarium before the gift shop and exit is the Shark Realm.  It’s a huge tank with lots of sharks and other fish swimming around.

Probably the coolest thing is the Great Hammerhead Shark.  It’s the only Great Hammerhead in captivity in the US.  It’s pretty amazing.

Or… maybe the coolest thing is the tunnel that goes through the large tank.  I could spend forever just watching the sharks swim by!

 

This is definitely one of my favorite places to adventure, and I’m not surprised the that word adventure is in its name!  If you’re ever in the area, it’s worth a stop… especially if you love water as much as we do!

Thanks for including us in your adventure, Corinne!

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, friends, philadelphia, photos, random new jersey, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Visiting The Fishies!

  1. Sea Turtles! I love them – such a beautiful place too. Looks like you had a great time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! We did. I love the aquarium. One of Trinity’s top five things to be when she grows up is a marine biologist, so she LOVES visiting the aquarium!

  2. I love aquariums, this one sounds amazing. Sydney’s is not that big. I love your pic near the cut out of Mighty Mike. I have a photo of me from years back comparing my jaw to a sharks jaw.

    Also it’s funny reading your description of Camden. The Camden in Australia that I know is a quiet town on the far south West Point of Sydney & it’s got quite a low crime rate. Lots of cows though.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Aquariums are amazing. I’ve been to some less than stellar ones, but this one is really amazing. Thanks! That photo of yours sounds amazing.

      I wish our Camden had a low crime rate, haha. I wouldn’t mind cows 😉

  3. How cool! Can see why you love that hippo pic. We saw some hippos in a safari type zoo here in Australia last year. We had to wait for them to pop their heads up out of the water. Would have been great to get an underwater view.

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s definitely a one of a kind tank. I love the underwater view! Hippos are pretty awesome no matter what, though!

  4. mpejovic says:

    Looks like an amazing aquarium to visit.

  5. picassoqueen says:

    That place looks awesome and I love hippos! They’re too cute!

  6. msdulce says:

    I love this post!! That picture of Trinity + Posing Hippo is too fantastic. It needs to be blown up to Size: Huge and hung over a fireplace. I love moray eels, too! I feel like they’re underappreciated and suspect it has something to do with Ursula the villainous Seawitch’s henchmen (hench-eels?) in the Disney movie The Little Mermaid. I really want to go now!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      I saw a tutorial on Pinterest for making large canvas type wall hangings from blue print size printouts from Staples/Kinkos/Etc. I want to try it at some point, and I might just end up using that photo!

      Hench-Eels is my new favorite word, btw.

      You should take the duck boats across the river next time you’re in Philly!!

      Oh! At some point this week I’m going to make a post about Longwood Gardens. I know how much you love gardens, and this is like the MOTHER OF ALL GARDENS. I think you’d love it there! We were there for 5+ hours and did not get to see everything 😉

      • msdulce says:

        Oooh, yes! Do the pinterest thing! Even if you don’t use this (particularly awesome) photo, I can’t wait to see how the project turns out. I am so intrigued by Mother of All Gardens! 5+ hours of flowers & plants sounds like an afternoon in heaven. I’m headed to read that post now…

  7. mhdriver says:

    I bet the kids had fun at that aquarium . Aquariums are interesting, the one down in New Orleans I found real interesting. I’m not sure that is there any more. I remember a large ship ran into the dock area were the aquarium was.

    • pamasaurus says:

      They had lots of fun! I could spend all day at an aquarium! That’s too bad about the New Orleans one. I’ve never been down that way :/

  8. Pingback: Epic Alaskan Adventure, Day 3 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

