Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In My Life

Over at The Daily Post, a weekly photo challenge is posted.  This week’s theme is A Day In My Life.  Basically, they want me to share my day with you through photos.  I’m no stranger to this concept and often write blog posts in this format.

Today was a FULL day.  I have taken lots of photos, which will be posted in other posts.  I’m going to give a quick recap of today using only cell phone pictures.  It was hard making sure to snap photos with that when I had my Nex with me all day, too!

My morning started with some cuddles from Trinity.  Since my mom is in town, and Daniel works third shift, Tboo slept in my bed.  That way my mom could sleep in hers, and we’d all be comfortable.

Apparently it’s my turn to be sick (I was thisclose to making it through cold and flu season without incident!).  This meant I took some DayQuil with my first cup of coffee.

After I had some caffeine and medicine in my system, I got ready for the day.  We had plans, so I had to actually put effort into my appearance.

I had a bit of time before Megan, Dave, and Charlie were set to arrive.  I spent that time throwing together brunch and then cuddling with Spike and Daniel while drinking my second cup of coffee and watching TV.

We also spent a good amount of time laughing about how big Daniel’s arm looks in the one photo.  Welcome to the gun show or something!

Megan and family arrived a bit later with some sticky buns from Booth’s Corner in tow.  So, we made a brunch out of that and my baked egg, sausage, spinach, and cheese dish.  Everything was delicious.

I gave Charlie her Easter Basket, and she loved the plastic eggs more than anything that was in them.  Megan gave me an awesome ring she made herself.

We headed out to one of the local farms for a hayride, egg hunt, visit with the Easter Bunny, and a petting zoo.  Everyone had a bunch of fun, and Charlie didn’t scream when she got near the bunny!  She wouldn’t sit on his lap, but she walked up to him!  It’s a start.

They had Easter flowers on sale, and I now have to figure out where to plant my blue/purple hyacinths, mini daffodils, and orange tulips!  I’m pretty excited about all the extra color to be added to my yard.

When we returned to my house, the menfolk got to work digging an area for our garden.  They actually planted our first few things, and I’m pretty excited.  Although, I did not snap a photo of this.  Oops.

While the menfolk were doing that, us womenfolk boiled eggs, prepped dinner, and hung out.  Eventually we had a bunch of fun dying eggs.  Charlie did an amazing job, especially considering it was her first time!

After chasing the kids (and Spike!) around the yard, it was time for dinner.  We had ham, cheesy potatoes, and green bean bundles.  Oh, and lemon pound cake cupcakes and double chocolate banana bread muffins for dessert.  Everything was amazing!  Not to toot my own horn, but Megan and I are amazing in the kitchen.

Daniel was pretty exhausted at this point (stupid third shift!  He’d been up since 9pm Friday night!).  So, he went to sleep, and the rest of us went for a walk to the park down the street.  Well, Trinity rode her bike.  She was excited!  We played at the park for an hour or so, and came home.

Charlie must have worked up an appetite climbing the stairs to the slide a million times.  She gobbled up almost two whole banana bread muffins when we returned!

Trinity and Dave played a few games of Mario Kart 64 while the rest of us hung out and played with Charlie.

Everyone left around 9pm.  I cleaned up the kitchen, prepped some overnight baked french toast for tomorrow, and got ready for bed.

Trinity is currently playing Mario Bros. on the NES in her room and Daniel and my mom are both sleeping.  I’m on my computer for the first time all day.  Once I’m done with this update, I’ll probably head to bed, too.

Well, I guess I’m going to take some NyQuil first.  My sinuses are awful today!  At least I wasn’t too sick to enjoy the amazing weather with such amazing people!  Today was awesome, seriously.

What did you guys do with your Saturday?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, easter, friends, furbabies, geek, holiday, hoome, illness, photos, random new jersey, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In My Life

  1. seeker says:

    You have such a busy day considering you are kind of “sick”. Hope you are feeling better and have a wonderful easter with you love ones.

  2. Mmm. Overnight baked French toast…..

  3. Dabbit says:

    It certainly was a busy day for you! What is a hayride? Happy Easter

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! Hope you had a Happy Easter as well!

      A hayride is a wagon pulled by a tractor. Usually they put hay bales in the wagon for people to sit on, which is where the name hayride comes from. This one had benches instead, though!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In The (My) Life (3) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Heh, heh – Dabbit is asking what a hayride is – I think it’s always cool to find out about another country’s traditions and lucky for us, so does Dabbit. I made 2 pies (from scratch AND they required cooking, 4 dozen cookies, a strawberry shortcake roulade, and several dozen rolls. This morning I’m up at 4 AM (I’ve been up an hour) because we had golf ball sized hail and a huge thunderstorm this morning so I got up to make potato salad, baked beans, deviled eggs, and put the ham on. Rocket will be here at 11 with his mom and dad and my mom. We’ll have dinner about then and they will be gone by 2 so he can get over to his other grandmother’s house for Easter supper. I’ll be napping at that point – I’ve cooked so much I’ve got 3 posts for next week plus new pictures for an old post. I love your pictures. My favorite is you ring from Megan – I’m not generally all that impressed by hand-hewn jewelry but that is certainly the exception. VERY nice!

    • pamasaurus says:

      There are a lot of things that we take for granted without realizing other people have different names or no idea what we’re talking about. I love learning about other traditions as well!

      You’ve been busy!!! Hopefully you had an amazing day today with your family! I’ll be expecting my baked good in the mail 😉 hahaha.

  6. A good day I think 🙂

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day in My Life | patriciaddrury

  8. I did enjoy your day though I’m sorry it began and ended with Quil of one sort or another! All the best to you 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! It’s been about a year since I’ve been sick, which is a pretty good run. My sinuses don’t do well when the weather changes drastically, like it’s been doing in my part of the world. Snow one day with tshirt weather the next!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – A Day In My Life | Joe's Musings

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In the Life | Pilot Fish

  11. msdulce says:

    You guys have the *best* holiday celebrations! They always look like so much fun. Double chocolate banana bread muffins definitely don’t hurt, as Charlie would clearly agree!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! We like to have fun and do awesome stuff! Any excuse for adventuring, right??

      Banana bread muffins make ANYTHING better!

  12. I love your photos! Even though you where sick, you managed to take part of the challenge so wonderfully en kept smiling too! I hope you feeling much better now!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!! I couldn’t skip the awesome Easter festivities because of a cold, but I am feeling much better now 😀

  13. Pingback: Banana Muffins

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Day In Life | Flickr Comments

Leave a Reply

