Garnier Olia Haircolor

Well, here I am with another BzzAgent review.  About a month ago, I received a coupon for a free box of Garnier Olia Haircolor.  It’s a brand new type of dye that uses oil instead of ammonia.  I was intrigued by the commercials, so I jumped at the chance to join this campaign.

So, what are the benefits of oil based haircolor?  Here’s what Garnier had to say:

Olia is an innovative, oil powered formula that propels colorant deep into your hair – without ammonia – for pure, vivid, long-lasting color. Unlike traditional haircolor, Olia uses an exclusive 60% oil blend, with natural flower oils in the colorant. The oils help to reverse roughness and dullness for more brilliant shine, dimensional color, and softer, shinier hair with bounce.

Sounds promising, right??  I was super excited, and ran out to pick mine up.  I selected color #6.60, Light Intense Auburn, because redheads have more fun.  I really, really believe I was born with the wrong hair color.  Brown?  Pfft.  I’m a redhead.

I’ll preface this by saying that I’ve been dying my hair for 15 years.  So, I’ve had my fair share of experience with many different brands, usually reds, and I usually use L’Oreal HiColor For Dark Hair Only.

Box

Yeah, the box is a bit banged up.

First thing I noticed is the box is a bit larger than other boxed dyes.  However, there wasn’t really anything extra inside.  The only difference was that the developer came in it’s own tube instead of already in the applicator bottle.

Box Contents

 

So, put on the gloves (which fit me perfectly, and I have small-medium hands… just beware if you have big hands), and got to work.  It was a little hard to mix up, and the applicator bottle was an awkward shape.  It made it a bit hard to apply and get all the dye out.

Original Color

This was my color before dying.

The dye itself smelled amazing.  It was a light, fresh, sweet, floral scent.  I don’t know how else to explain it, but it definitely didn’t smell like your typical haircolor!  Also, it didn’t itch or burn like some other brands do.

The dye is on the thicker end of the spectrum.  This makes it hard to work in, but it also makes it not drip.  I was fine with the thickness.  I guess different people might have different preferences.  I have thin, fine, straight hair.  I could see it being a bit of an issue with thick, curly hair.  I can’t say for sure, though.

Dye In Hair

I love how orange the dye was!

At this point, I waited the suggested time (which I totally don’t remember… it’s in the directions!) and then headed to wash it out.

I did notice that it took a while longer to rinse than my normal dye, but I didn’t think anything of it.  I had to shampoo twice to get the water to run clear.

I was definitely impressed with the dye so far!  Once dry, the color was AMAZING, and my hair was super soft and shiny.  Garnier products are doing amazing things for my hair lately!

Finished Product

Please ignore my lack of makeup!

Now comes the bad news:  I spent the next two weeks dealing with bleeding.  The color would run anytime it got wet.  I tried every trick or tip I could find to get this to stop, and nothing.

I really wanted to like this dye.  I love everything about it, and the amazing red color lasted a whole month before fading.  Anyone who has ever used red dye should know that’s an amazing accomplishment, especially when I wash my hair almost every day.

However, sweating pink at the gym is a deal breaker for me.  I guess I’m not switching my brand anytime soon.

Please note that I am receiving MyPoints to write this review.  Please read my disclaimer for more information.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bzzagent, product review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garnier Olia Haircolor

  1. Jennay says:

    I really like the color on you! I picked the same color as well and will be trying it out this weekend! =) I can’t believe we picked the same color! I’m originally a Strawberry blonde, so it will be fun to change it up somewhat. I’m hoping to post my review by Monday. We shall see how it works out. I’m sorry that it bled…that’s totally not cool. You look beautiful!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks so much! That really is funny we picked the same color… I guess we both have awesome taste 😉

      I can’t wait to see how yours looks!! I’m debating trying it out again… let me know if you get the running thing. If you don’t, then I’ll give it a second chance 😉

  2. So – you don’t dye your hair in full make- up? How odd. 🙂 Looks really great on you!

Leave a Reply

