A Bucket List of Sorts

Wow.  Where did today go?  Between grocery shopping, finishing, decorating, and filling seven paper mache Easter Baskets, walking the puppy, and normal everyday activities, today FLEW by.

I now have a headache, which might turn into a migraine.  I really just want to go to bed.

I’m so close to finishing my self-imposed ‘make a post everyday in March’ challenge.  I have six posts, including this one, to finish.  I’ve already completed 25.  I cannot fail now.

Instead of chugging some water and laying down, I’m going to answer a question I received.  A friend asked me what my top five dream activities would be.  What five activities do I want to participate at some point before I die?

Hm.  This is actually really hard because I want to DO ALL THE THINGS!  I don’t even know where to start.

I’m leaving out all travelling dreams, like visiting all fifty states.  Those aren’t the activities I think Sara meant.  Visiting may be a verb, but it’s not really an action in my opinion.

Sooo… I managed to put something together.  If you’d like to accompany me on any of these awesome adventures, please feel free.  Daniel doesn’t even like roller coasters.

  1. Skydiving!  There’s a place right down the road that offers both lessons and tandem diving.  I see them in the sky all the time, and it makes me sad.  I want to be them.
  2. Zorbing!  There’s nothing like rolling down a hill in a giant hamster ball, or so I’m told
  3. Ziplining!  I don’t mean the lame ones.  I mean the ‘OMG THE GROUND IS SO FAR AWAY!’ kind.
  4. This one is lame compared to the previous three, but I want to ride on a motorcycle.
  5. This last one is more facing a fear than anything.  I really want to drive (or ride while someone else drives) through the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel.  I have an irrational fear of tunnels that stems from the movie Daylight.  This fear has been better lately, though.

When I was in 8th grade, I had a few flight lessons.  The last time, the instructor asked if I wanted to feel what zero gs felt like.  He then turned something off, and we started falling.  Papers were floating.  It was crazy.  All I could think was, ‘what if it doesn’t turn back on!?!’  I think I can handle skydiving after that…. especially if I’m strapped to a cute skydiving instructor.

Is there an activity you really want to do?  What’s the craziest/scariest thing you’ve ever experienced?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, easter, holiday, list making and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Bucket List of Sorts

  1. I’ve owned several motorcycles and been to sturgis 3 times. I’ve jumped out of a hot air balloon. I’ve also been ziplining. I can’t tell you the craziest thing I ever did was because I’m not sure how the statute of limitations is on it! 🙂 Hahahaha!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I was always under the assumption that everything had a statue of limitations of 7 years except murder. That doesn’t have one at all. I haven’t had a law class in a while, though, so that might not be true!

      You’ve lived a crazy life! I’m totally jealous of all your stuff. One day I’ll do all these things, haha.

      • My mom was (is) afraid of everything it seems and I never wanted to leave earth wishing I had done something. And so far, I won’t!

      • pamasaurus says:

        My mom is afraid of everything, too. I find it annoying, and it’s probably where a lot of my anxiety issues came from. I need to start working on things instead of waiting for the right time I guess!

      • well – I think back on the things I’ve done and it’s a wonder I’m not dead or something. Sometimes caution is the better part of valor and risk-taking behavior is really just rebellion! 🙂 However, once I was in a very bad wreck and lost my ability to speak etc… one of the physicians seeing me said I had the markers of risk taking behavior – like now, my job is pretty much as a public speaker and he said it was a social acceptable way to take risks everyday.

      • pamasaurus says:

        I’m not a risk taker in everyday life.. although I really want to be. It’s a battle between my true self and my anxiety, I think 😉

  2. Bungee jumping off the bridge which separates Zambia from Zimbabwe probably my scariest. Far scarier than skydiving, where you can see the back up systems, should your parachute fail to inflate. With bungee jumping, you just fall and splat if it goes wrong! Fun… But terrifying… http://lazylauramaisey.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/bungee-jumping-in-africa/

    • pamasaurus says:

      Wow! That sounds like an amazing experience. I don’t know if I could ever bungee jump. That kinda crosses the line into ‘whoa way too scary’ but I don’t want to totally count it out.

  3. I actually have a “local” bucket list. Things I want to do that are close to here. That way when we have the occasional free afternoon, we don’t have to think about what to do, just pick one and go. I hope you do not have a migraine, those suck I know.

  4. A “you dodged a bullet, big time” stroke a few years back is as close to the edge as I care to get these days…so now I opt for the mental thrills – writing books comes to mind. Although one “bucket list” item did catch me by surprise. Ordered my usual ‘medium’ steak, and got a rare one by mistake…and I LIKED it. Didn’t even know near-raw beef was on my bucket list, but am glad to have the experience anyway.

    Keep up the good work with the posts – you are almost there!! You keep saying you don’t know what to post, but then pull out something really cool…like this!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yeah, I can see how something like that would calm someone down a bit. I’m glad you survived the experience!!

      I discovered I liked rare steak in a similar manner… although I prefer medium rare. I was always medium well girl before that.

      Thanks!! Only a few more days and I’ll be able to take a break… just in time for Spring Break, haha.

  5. msdulce says:

    Oh my gosh, I should NOT have clicked on that link to an explanation of Daylight! I’m afraid of everything (so annoying), and I think watching that movie would add “Tunnels” to my list! :} Also, your last paragraph made my hands sweat. You are a brave, brave girl.
    I would love to go zip lining, too! It looks terrifying, but I think that’s part of the allure. Great list!

    • pamasaurus says:

      That movie scarred me for life!! I was also scarred for life by a book I read when I was in middle school. It was a horror book, and someone got scalded to death in the shower. I took room temp showers for a *very* long time after that!!

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

