This Counts As Crafty, Right?

The temperature is still pretty low, but that hasn’t stopped the birds from coming out in full force.

Daniel hang a small bird feeder on our back deck.  We were expecting to get a few birds here and there, but we’ve had a steady stream all day.  They gobble up a full feeder of seed a day.  The variety has been pretty amazing, too!  I’m really not educated on the names of bird varieties.  I do know a few, though, and I have noticed cardinals, goldfinches, house finches, and robins.  Although, the robins don’t eat at the feeder.

I’ve enjoyed watching them over coffee in the morning.  The cats have enjoyed watching them for hours and hours.  They’re mesmerized!

All of this bird activity reminded me that I had pinned this blog post about using yarn to attract birds.  I didn’t have any bright colored yarn scraps, so I went out and purchased some variegated, brightly colored yarn and a suet holder.

According to the The Cornell Lab of Ornithology, yarn is perfectly safe for birds to use as nesting material, as long as it’s less than 8 inches long.  According to the original blogger, the Audubon Society gave short pieces of yarn the thumbs up as well.  Bird safety first, people!

Trinity and I cut the yarn to about 4 inches and shoved it into the feeder.  I had Daniel put it on the hanger right beside the feeder.  I would have done it myself, but I can’t reach without a step stool or climbing the railing.  It was easier (and safer!) to have him do it!

 

Yarn For Nesting

 

Now we wait.  The birds are pretty noisy out there all day.  I’m pretty sure it’s mating time.  That means nesting time will begin shortly.  So, hopefully I’ll have some brightly colored nests around my yard pretty soon!  We’re all pretty excited about this.

Don’t worry.  If it actually works, I’ll be sure to share photos of the nests.  They won’t be totally brightly colored, but it’ll be amazing to see little flashes of color in with the twigs and grass.

This was our special First Day Of Spring project.  Did you do anything interesting and awesome?  Do you have plans to do anything cool?  I’d love to hear about it!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in crafty, daniel, photos, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This Counts As Crafty, Right?

  1. That’s a really good idea! I’ve never heard of doing it before!

  2. That is a great idea 😀
    You are so creative and kind!

    Cheers
    CCU

  3. What a fabulous idea! I’m going to try it. It might keep the birds from stealing the soft stuff on my basket liners. 🙂

  4. Angie says:

    What a great idea!! I’ve got all kinds of yarn hanging around.

  5. modernoracle says:

    Heck YEAH it counts as crafty! Great idea!

  6. msdulce says:

    I LOVE this idea!! Every bird deserves a colorful (& safe… always safe) little nest! i hope it ends up working.

Leave a Reply

