Happy Spring!

Today is the first day of spring in the northern hemisphere.  It’s the vernal equinox, and we see it as a promise of nicer weather and longer days.  ‘Vernal equinox’ just means that the night and day are the same length.  It’s not some magical day where the weather suddenly becomes amazing…. even if we wish it were.

Today was a sunny but chilly and windy day here in South Jersey.  Judging by a lot of other blog posts I’ve read today, the weather hasn’t been much better elsewhere.

I think Mother Nature is making up for last year.  We had an unusually warm winter and very early spring.  I was looking through photos from this time last year, and the trees and flowers around town were already bloomed!

This year?  My oak tree has a few buds and I have two daffodils bloomed in my front yard.  Everything is still bare and in hibernation.

This winter has just been really rough.  It’s been cold, rainy, and blah, and my seasonal depression has been awful.  I’m ready for sunlight, warm weather for adventuring, and flowers.  I’m just ready for winter to be over and spring to begin!

I know many others feel the same way I do.  I’ve decided to share some of my early spring photos taken last year, March 2012, to help us imagine spring is already here.

 

I need more of that in my life, and less below freezing temperatures and winter coats.  Spring, please come soon!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Spring!

  1. Love the pictures – they make me feel like smiling! I have great news – a groupon came today for an online digital photography class and my daughter got it for me for Mother’s Day – I think the idea is she got it early and I should have it completed by Mother’s Day. I hope when it’s done, I’m as good as you are!

  2. Carine says:

    Beautiful pictures! That felt good watching them, really! Thanks 🙂

  3. Juliet says:

    What lovely pictures! Thanks for sharing. :0)

  4. Your photos are LOVELY!!! 🙂

  5. TheLittleGSP says:

    I agree about wanting a magnolia tree! So excited for when they finally start blooming this year (maybe in a month…?!).

  6. msdulce says:

    Gorgeous! Especially that last one… it makes me happy just looking at it. I have nasty seasonal depression, too, (as I learned upon moving to the east coast, where there actually *are* seasons) and started using a lightbox for 15min each morning. I was all set to mock its new age sorcery, but the lightbox has actually helped so much! I imagine looking at beautiful spring pictures for 15min each morning would have a similar effect. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I need to get a lightbox, I think. I get SAD so bad in the winter, and I feel so much better when it’s extra sunny. I bet it would help, haha. What about looking at spring photos while using the lightbox?!

Leave a Reply

