What’s In Your Pantry?

Happy Pi Day everyone!  I wish I had motivation and time to actually bake a pie.  Instead, I’m making homemade pizza tonight.  Some people call it ‘pizza pie.’  So, close enough for me!

I’m just made at myself for not planning a special meal into the weekly menu plan.  I also didn’t plan a St. Patrick’s Day meal, either!  I might have to switch some things around.

This post is post number 14 out of 31 days of my post a day blogging challenge.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but I don’t feel like my life is interesting enough to share something new and awesome everyday.  That’s why I asked for topics.

Seriously, you can still get your request in.  Do you have a question for me, something you’ve always wondered or wanted to know?  Do you want to see a photo of something?  Ask and you may receive!

Kelli from The Domestically Impaired Guide to the Retro Kitchen Arts asked for a photo of my pantry and spice rack/cabinet/drawer.  That’s a pretty easy request, so I snapped a few photos.

Pantry

My pantry is a little full at the moment.

Yeah.  Those PastaRoni boxes have been in there for a long time.  I don’t remember the last time I even used one.  I should probably check the expiration dates soon!

Also, the inside of the pantry and the coat closet in the foyer are both this weird bright green color.  When I was painting Trinity’s room, we discovered that it was once entirely painted with the same weird green but was painted over with white.  It adds to the mystery of the previous owners.  They must have been really odd people.

I guess I shouldn’t judge since I painted every room a different bright color.  My downstairs bathroom is even bright green!  Of course, I like to believe it’s a better shade of green, but I know not everyone would agree.

Anyway… I’ll get to the spice rack and cabinets now.  Besides the refrigerator/freezer and pantry, I keep food in three other spots.  First is my spice rack.  It’s part of a set I purchased from Ikea because I had NO cabinet space.  I found a spot for them in the kitchen here, too.  I love Ikea so much!

Spice Rack

Everything is handy, even the fire extinguisher. Always prepared, right?

That is located on the wall behind my island.  It’s not as handy as it was in the apartment, where it was right by the stove.  Oh well.  It works.

I also use the two tall, skinny cabinets that surround my range hood for spices and such.  They used to be a lot fuller, but I got sick of digging through things.  So, I moved a bunch of stuff that I didn’t use regularly to the pantry.  Now they’re pretty empty.  I need to organize them a bit more.  I hate trying to find stuff in the spice chaos.

Cupboard 1

The bottom shelf is crammed full of spices.

Cupboard 2

This used to be full of baking stuff. Now it has a few of my most used spices along with a few baking things. It’s mostly empty, though.

Apparently I horde spices.  I used to have cute little containers for them, and I kept them in alphabetical order.  It turns out the containers weren’t air tight, and all the spices ended up caking.  That sucked.

Hopefully these photos have quenched your curiosity, Kelli!  The rest of you should make sure you check out her blog because she’s awesome.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in cooking, hoome, photos, St. Patrick's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s In Your Pantry?

  1. Thank you for taking us on a tour of your pantry and where all your spices live! I love the fact that you are about as organized as me – at least until Mr. Picky Eater gets to them and then they are spaced equally and in alphabetical order with canned goods in order of sweet or savory dishes. I like it that way but I can find things better the way I have it all mish-mosh. I love all the bright colors in your house. Maybe you live in the castle from Masque of the Red Death! 🙂 I appreciate you taking my challenge and since there are 16 days left in the month, I may send you another!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s controlled chaos! I know exactly where everything is. I hate when Daniel puts groceries away because I can never find anything!

      Thanks!! It might be. I have all the colors in here. I guess I should start looking for an awesome ebony clock 😉

  2. One other thing: I’m so glad you told me about those cute little spice holders! I found a “do-it-yourself” post on a blog about painting the outside of jars then painting the name of the spice on it – the jars they used were empty baby food jars. We have some of those and I thought I would make some but I didn’t think those would be air tight – now I know what happens when it’s not air tight – and it’s so humid here! Thanks!

  3. I love your pantry! And Pi Day! That’s so awesome. We don’t get to call it that in Australia because of the way we write the date. I’m making a beef Guinness pie and traditional Irish potato bread on Sunday. So excited, it’s a family tradition these days, has been for the last five years now. Big Irish dinner, so so good.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!!

      Aw, you could still celebrate it…. who really needs an excuse to eat pie, right?? 😉

      Your food sounds amazing! I always meat to make something, but then I forget. Oops!

Leave a Reply

