John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge

It’s pretty warm out today; it was 50F at 7:00am.  Of course we couldn’t have amazing weather four days in a row, though, because it’s raining pretty heavily.  This means I’ll be inside and unable to do any exploring this afternoon.

How’s the weather where you are?  Are you ready for spring as much as I am?

I was so, so happy to have such amazing weather on Sunday for my birthday.  We went to breakfast, played some soccer in my yard, then headed out to The John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge at Tinicum.  Megan introduced me to this place last year, and it’s quickly become one of my favorite outdoor spaces.  I could spend a lot of time there, and I really wish we lived closer!  I find any excuse to cross the bridge in order to explore this area, though.  There’s always something new and awesome to discover.

It’s just a beautiful place, and it’s so hard to believe that it exists right across the highway from the Philadelphia International Airport.  It’s just so serene and calming.  You really forget you’re near the city.

We decided to walk the approximately 3.5 mile gravel trail.  We took our time and stopped to watch various wildlife.  It ended up taking us about two hours to make it all the way around!  Slow walking, anyone?  Oh well.  It was an amazing day, and we all enjoyed spending time in the sunshine without jackets.

It’s still pretty early in the season, but we did spot a few varieties of birds, American Coots, Blue Herons, Egrets, Ducks, Geese, and a few turtles.  I was really disappointed that we didn’t spot the refuge’s most famous residents, the Bald Eagles.  Word on the street is that they are nesting right now.  The eggs are reported to have been laid at the beginning of February and will hopefully be hatching sometime this month.  I tried to see one of them in the next, but couldn’t.  Apparently the birds all take turns on the nest, and there’s usually one on there at all time.  However, they lay pretty low.  So, it’s hard to see.  Not to mention the nest is WAY up in the tallest tree and no where near the walking trails.  I’m pretty excited about the soon-to-be baby eagle, probably more excited than I should be.  It’s the small things, I guess.

I’ve been to the refuge, which we refer to as Tinicum (the township it’s located in, which also happens to be the spot of the earliest recorded English settlement in Pennsylvania), many times.  I’ve only spotted a Bald Eagle once, and it was about 5 feet in front of our faces.  I’ve seen them at various zoos and such, but this was the first and only time I saw one in the wild.  They’re such beautiful creatures.

ANYWAY!  Sorry about that tangent about Bald Eagles!

Most of the areas of the reserve are off-limits.  They were marked by signs which stated that no one was allowed behind the signs.  Daniel, Rodney, and I were trying to talk Trinity into standing just behind one for a photo.  She wouldn’t do it, though, because she was afraid she’d get in trouble!

We even saw some flowers!  I’m so excited for spring, and these little signs of it’s arrival just make me happier.

My brother and sister-in-law left for home from there, and we headed back to our side of the bridge.  It was an awesome day with awesome people.  Trinity and Spike slept the whole way home…. they must have been exhausted!

What did you do this weekend?  Did you get out and enjoy the weather?  Was the weather even awesome where you are?

All I know is this was the perfect way to spend my birthday.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, birthday, daniel, furbabies, holiday, philadelphia, photos, random parks, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge

  1. Great place to visit! The Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma has an eagle sanctuary a little north and east of here. It is so wonderful to go out there because often the eagles stay around there even after they have been healed and set free………I’ve been lucky enough to see several eagles while visiting around there. There is also the beautiful religious art pieces the Tribe makes from the eagle feathers. They are allowed to gather them during the bird’s molting season and by law Native-Americans are allowed to possess them, so they are displayed there. I can’t wait till Rocket is old enough to take up there – thanks for reminding me!

    • pamasaurus says:

      That sounds like an amazing place to visit!! I’m sure he’ll love it!

      I’d love to see the art pieces. I’m going to have to put it on my list of places to visit 😉

  2. Juliet says:

    Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a blessed day. What beautiful pictures!

    I’m definitely ready for spring! Winter was late coming to Colorado, and so we’ve been getting quite a bit of snow here lately (though I’m not complaining because we really need the moisture). I am looking forward to some warmer, springlike weather. :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!

      Spring needs to get here soon! It’s definitely late this year; at least I think it is! We just got a TON of rain yesterday :/

  3. Angie says:

    Looks like a fantastic day what a beautiful place to spend your birthday!

Leave a Reply

