Menu Plan Monday #37

This time change is really getting to me.  I’m not a morning person to begin with, so making me wake up a whole hour earlier is like torture.  I’ve been dragging this morning, but I think I’m finally finding motivation to get off the couch…. or my coffee is finally kicking in.

Tracy at Making the Trek tagged me in this Five Things Meme going around the blogging world.  All I have to do is tell you guys five things you probably don’t know about me.  I’m also supposed to tag five people to join in.  My anxiety makes me feel weird about tagging people.  So, if you’re reading this, just pretend that I have tagged you.

Here are five random facts about me:

  1. The smell of cucumbers makes me gag.  Please never wear cucumber melon lotion/body spray around me.
  2. I am repulsed by the sound of chewing.  I cannot eat in a quiet room because of this.  Background noise is always a great thing, in my opinion.
  3. Time is a big stressor on my anxiety.  I’m always worried about being late or not having enough time… feel rushed is one of the worst feelings to me!
  4. I love Chemistry and other math-based sciences.  I actually started my college career at PSU as a Biotechnology major.  That didn’t last long, though.  I didn’t have the patience to memorize a bunch of Organic Chemistry stuff.  Not many people know, but I really regret changing majors.
  5. I don’t drink that often anymore, but my favorite alcohol is Kahlua.  I recently noticed that they had Hazelnut Kahlua at my liquor store, and I think it sounds amazing because hazelnut is my favorite coffee flavor.

So, there’s that.  I know some of these aren’t huge secrets, but I really can’t think of anything weird/unknown about me.

Onto my menu plan, though!  We ended up having party leftovers for dinner last night.  That means one meal from last week was pushed back to this week.

Also, I’m still keeping up with the one meatless meal a week.  It’s actually become pretty easy now that I have a few awesome recipes in my repertoire.  I’m also trying to add one fish/seafood meal in each week now.  Fish is supposedly really healthy for you.  We’ll see how this goes.  I’ve never been a huge fan of fish because I never really was exposed to it growing up.  Trinity often turns her nose up at it, and I’m hoping to change that.

Here’s what we’re eating in la casa de Pami this week:

  1. Salisbury Steak with Mashed Potatoes and Vegetables
  2. Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers
  3. Homemade Pizza
  4. Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili
  5. Parmesan Pork Chops with Roasted Potatoes and Veggies
  6. Swedish Meatballs
  7. Maple Salmon with One Pan Mac and Cheese

Want more menu planning awesome?  Check out The Vampire Diet, Food Allergy Experience, and Love Harmony Peace.

Now I need to make my grocery list and get moving for the day!  Stupid time change anyway.

What are you eating this week??

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in cooking, friends, list making, menu plan monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #37

  1. I am soooo with you on mornings and time change….UGH! 😉

  2. I keep forgetting to give you my pizza dough recipe! So here it is just in case you need it!!! I make it all the time and it’s so simple. It’s made in a food processor.

    1 package of yeast
    1 teaspoon sugar
    2/3 c warm water
    1-2/3 c flour
    3/4 t salt
    2 t oil
    cornmeal for pan

    Stir yeast and sugar into warm water and let stand till foamy, about 10 minutes.
    Put flour and salt in bowl and turn on machine. Pour in yeast mixture and process for 45 seconds, until dough pulls away from sides of bowl.
    Add oil and process for 60 seconds.

    If dough sticks to sides of bowl, add flour 1 tbsp at a time until dough leaves sides of bowl but is still soft.

    Roll dough out on floured surface to desired size. Sprinkle pan with cornmeal. Bake at 425 for 5-6 minutes initially, then add toppings and bake for 18-20 minutes.

    🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I’m definitely going to write it down so I have it. I’m attempting cauliflower dough this time, though… just to get over my curiosity. I’ve heard it’s really good, and the recipe I’m using has a ton of awesome reviews! I’ll let you know how it goes 😉

  3. tracye1 says:

    The time change is killing me as well. I’m off today and I am planning a nap. let’s see how that goes.
    I hate being late as well…..not to say I’m always on time….but I hate being late!
    My grandfather used to make his own Kahlua and as kids we were always allowed a little nip. Always brings a wave of nostalgia when I taste it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Hopefully you got your nap! I can’t nap without ruining my sleep pattern. I’m naturally nocturnal, and it takes a lot of work to maintain a ‘normal’ schedule. Naps just throw me off and make things worse :/

      • tracye1 says:

        Naps are no problem for me, I just never get them!!! Got a short one in….just perfect and the last bit of energy I needed to muster through until bedtime 😉
        My Hubby…..is like you, he can’t nap either….then I’m screwed b/c he tosses and turns….grrrr!

  4. modernoracle says:

    Will someone please tell Congress there is STILL only so many hours of daylight no matter how they monkey around with early daylight-savings. Wait? What? You went to Penn State? I have a good buddy that went there, though we are, ah, a bit older than you. So how much kahlua did you have on Groundhog Days when you were there 😉

    • pamasaurus says:

      I know! I don’t understand this whole daylight savings time thing. I can’t stand it, haha.

      Yeah, I graduated with a BS in Restaurant Management (Imagine that!) in 2006.

      You don’t even want to know how much I drank while I was there. There are a few times I think back and realize I should have probably been in the hospital for alcohol poisoning. This is probably why I’m not a huge drinker anymore. I like one or two and that’s it :/

      • modernoracle says:

        lol…from what I’ve heard, it is practically a graduation requirement, isn’t it? Wow you are young (or I’m old)…my friend was there in the 80s.

        Same here though…am a big fan of sweeter wines, darker beers, and kahlua. Definitely kahlua. And I wouldn’t kick a good “mad mex” margarita to the curb either. Even though I never drank much, now I can’t do anything…med gives me stomach pain if I drink more than a few sips.

      • pamasaurus says:

        That’s no fun :/ At least you can still have sip or two!

        I think of it this way: back then I drank to get drunk now I drink because I genuinely enjoy the taste of the alcohol.

      • modernoracle says:

        Same here – it was always about the taste. I could live without the buzz even then, and that goes double now with all the vertigo and balance stuff after the stroke – it’s all the stagger of being drunk with none of the fun of getting that way. But then there was the time I ate an entire dark chocolate bar with ground expresso beans in it – that was kind of fun AND tasty. 😉

  5. msdulce says:

    I so agree with your #2 Fact. It even bothers me when our dog chews too loudly. (Didn’t her mama teach her any manners?)
    I’m not sure that I’m all that interesting, so I only have one random fact, but it’s long: I spent my freshman yr of college in rural MA and haaated it… partly cuz I’d never been east of Nevada before moving (all the wide open space actually scared me!)… and partly because we were too poor to afford a winter coat, so I spent winter wearing every single item of clothing I owned every single day. 🙂 Needless to say, I transferred back to CA. Silly as it may be, living in NY now makes me feel proud, like I’m finally conquering the East Coast. :} Winter clothing *really* helps!
    I remember reading about your one-pot mac & cheese last recently, and it sounded so yummy (& relatively easy) that I got all the ingredients and am planning to try it out on Mr. M this week!

    • pamasaurus says:

      My dog is so loud when he chews, too!! It apparently is a diagnosable mental disorder or something, called misophonia. I totally saw an ecard on pinterest the other day about it, and that’s how I learned the name. Before then, I thought I was just crazy. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in my crazy!

      MA without a winter coat? I don’t blame you for being miserable!! Yikes. Glad you finally conquered the East Coast! I kinda like it here. I’m deathly afraid of earthquakes, and sometimes I think that would hold me back from ever visiting California, haha. Maybe one day I’ll conquer that fear.

      Oh, yay! I hope you guys enjoy it. You should try the butternut squash and black bean chili. I made mine a little different a few weeks ago (added lots of bell pepper, nom nom nom) and made it in the crock pot. It’s totally delicious, and totally meatless 😉

  6. The Salisbury steak sounds wonderful! in fact, I wish I could talk Mr. Picky Eater into making for me tonight!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #8 | Love, Harmony, Peace

  8. Our clocks haven’t changed yet but I do know what you mean! You menu plan looks very tasty. I’ll look up some recipes later. Thanks for calling in on my blog again, nice to see you! Never tried Kailua, sounds tasty too! 🙂

  9. Pingback: What’s In Your Pantry? | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Angie says:

    I still haven’t gotten used to the time change and it’s been almost a week! Cucumbers make you gag 😀 I’m going to look for Hazelnut Kahlua today sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

