The Philadelphia Museum of Art

Are you familiar with the movie Rocky?  Do you remember the part where he runs up the crazy steps and throws his arms in the air when he succeeds in making it to the top?  No?  Here’s a refresher:

 

 

Those steps happen to belong to The Philadelphia Museum of Art, which I visited on Sunday.  Before you ask, yes, I did attempt to run up the steps a la Rocky.  I didn’t quite make it though, especially since my bum hip is acting up.  I couldn’t imagine doing it after sprinting all through Philly like he did!

Of course, there’s a lot more to a The Philadelphia Museum of Art than Rocky, but that doesn’t mean the museum doesn’t know how to embrace it’s fame!  In 2006, they permanently installed that Rocky Statue that appears in Rocky III.  It’s in a different location now, but the spot it stood, at the top of the steps, for the movie is now marked with bronze Converse footprints.

 

 

Besides the Rocky Statue, many other pieces of art are on the museum’s grounds.  There’s a whole sculpture garden by the river.  We didn’t check it out because it was so cold that morning!  Oh well, I’ve heard it’s prettier when the flowers are blooming, anyway!

 

 

Another reason I wasn’t too upset about missing the sculpture garden is how huge the museum is!  We were there from opening at 10am until a half hour before they closed, 4:30pm, only taking an hour off for lunch.  Yes, we spent about five and a half hours perusing the massive museum, and we didn’t even get to see everything!

I don’t even know where to start.  They have a little bit of everything from ancient Chinese artifacts to an extensive Picasso collection.  There’s is definitely something for anyone!  I took over 200 photos while there.  I’ll just share a select few of those now.  Don’t worry.  I’m not going to go overboard.

 

 

They have some really awesome spaces in the museum.  One room is set up with a tea house and a temple.  It feels like you are outside while you’re in that room!  The room after that is setup like a temple, complete with ancient ceiling.

In another, they set up a fountain with stone pillars and such.  It’s a really calm and relaxing area, definitely one of my favorite spots!  You’re allowed to sit around the room on the stonework.  I could imagine sitting there for hours while reading a book!

Some of the work that went into these spaces is unreal to me.  They installed ancient archways, doors, fountains, and houses.  How did they transport and put these back together?  It just blows my mind!

 

 

Megan, Dave, and Charlie joined us halfway through the day.  Both Charlie and Trinity were grumpy.  Charlie had a cold, and Trinity was so, so tired.  Despite that, we all managed to have a great time!

 

 

When I say there is a lot to see, I really mean it.  It’s such an amazing place to visit!

If you’re ever in Philadelphia, a trip to the museum is definitely worth the ticket price.  However, the first Sunday of every month and Wednesday evenings after 5pm are ‘Pay What You Want’ days.  It’s a great way to see some amazing works of art while on a tight budget.

I can’t wait to go back!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, friends, museum, philadelphia, photos, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Philadelphia Museum of Art

  1. I have always wanted to see inside that museum – I watched Rocky at the movie theater, yep I’m old – thanks for taking me along with you guys. My favorite picture were all the hanging iron daggers? I’m not sure that’s what they were, but something like that. Great shot!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh, you have to come to Philly to see it! It’s AMAZING. This doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of what’s in there. If you want to see more, I posted 60 photos (which includes these and a bunch of others) on my personal Facebook yesterday. I have 20 more that I edited but didn’t post anywhere. Too many photos!

      The one with the orange background? They’re actually swords from around 1000AC! So old!

  2. msdulce says:

    So cool! I totally enjoyed looking at these photos with your amusing captions. The key to me loving art might lie in you walking me around the museum providing running commentary. 🙂 The partying warriors might be my favorite. That middle musician looks like he’s doing that thing football players do when they make a touchdown and dedicate it to Jesus. I love it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Glad I could help! I didn’t even post the really hilarious pieces… like ‘Painting With Two Balls’ and ‘Princess X’. I thought they’d be a little too racy for something my inlaws read 😉

      He totally does look like he just made a touchdown! I was just imagining him doing the ancient Chinese version of the first pump. I didn’t even think about touch down celebrations!

  3. What a beautiful place to visit my friend, I tried to imagine myself there while watching 🙂

    Cheers
    CCU

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Color | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

