Color Guard

A few months ago, Trinity asked if she could join color guard.  She had never heard of it before, but her best friend was joining because it is a family tradition.

I was never a part of anything during school.  I had horrible anxiety even back then.  I couldn’t push past it to jump in and be involved with projects and clubs.  I’ve always wanted better for Trinity.  So, of course I said she could.

This was the beginning of some long weeks.  She would come home from practice frustrated and near tears because she just couldn’t get the moves right.  She couldn’t remember how to do them.  However, she refused to quit.

I was of no help since I have no idea how to do any of the moves in color guard, but we figured it out.  She slowly improved with the internet, YouTube, and an old broom handle.  Poor Kitten McNugget got hit in the face more than once, a few things got broken, and Trinity made mistakes, but she did it.  She learned how to twirl and toss and all the other stuff that goes on in color guard.  I’m still not sure of the exact terms.

Saturday night was their end of season competition.  Since our school district has a combined middle school and high school and there’s not much interest in color guard, the team is mixed.  There are three high school students and about ten middle school students.  Because of this, they were scored against other high schools instead of middle schools.

It was their first time competing, and most of the kids, like Trinity, were brand new to the sport.  They ended up placing 5th.  They were VERY happy with that.

However, the judges told them that, had they been scored against other middle school teams, they would have taken 2nd place with only .8 of a point separating them from first.

If you ask me, that’s pretty darn impressive for their first time competing!

Now that color guard season is over, Trinity is looking forward to the spring musical.  She rocked the part of Cheshire Cat #2 in Clayton Middle School’s performance of Alice in Wonderland Jr. last spring.  She’s anxiously awaiting the announcement of this years play and for tryouts!

I might be a little biased, but my kid is awesome.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in award, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Color Guard

  1. Jecca says:

    Your kid is the bomb!

  2. Trinity rocks! i was in color guard – when I was in school it was cool to do flags, pom poms, rifles, and be cheerleader – ALL of which I did during different years of my high school time. Oh yeah, and I twirled the baton as well. It take great discipline and effort to do any of that and sometimes you do crazy things like twist your wrist like you would an ankle. I can’t imagine doing it in middle school! Musicals are also rockin’ – I was Miss Adelaide (of Hot Box fame) in our High School Musical of Guys and Dolls. I was Ado Annie several times in Oklahoma but we do that pretty much at the drop of a hat here! Tell her congratulations on her achievement and to keep it up – Stuff like that is what a college recruiter looks for in a candidate!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, she does. Thanks! Wow, you were pretty involved in high school! I wish I was, but at least I can encourage and allow Trinity to be involved in all the things she wants to do. She’s also involved with student council 😉

  3. Your kid IS awesome! I’m so proud of her!! 🙂 I’m proud of you too… She didn’t get all awesome by herself, ya know….

  4. That’s so great! Congrats to Trinity! I did Color Guard for a little while in high school, but ended up switching back to JROTC drill team which I liked better.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!!

      I feel like everyone I know was in color guard, haha. Her school doesn’t have JROTC, but I bet she’d enjoy it.

      • You’re welcome!

        Haha Yeah, our color guard was ROTC related (Army) but both was a lot of fun! Yeah, ROTC was a tradition in my family, all three of my uncles and adopted uncle was in it when they went to Kimball too. In fact I planned on following after my adopted uncle’s foot steps and go into the marines but like a dumb-dumb I got married to my ex instead. :/

      • pamasaurus says:

        That’s cool that it’s a family tradition. My mom did color guard… so it’s a skip a year family tradition, I guess 😉

        You’re not a dumb dumb. I believe that everything happens for a reason 😉

      • That’s cool though, I’m sure you had your own things you were interested in that was just as awesome!

        Haha! Thanks! Bad choice of words I guess, but seriously was a waste of 9 years. Ug.

  5. modernoracle says:

    Way to go Trinity! Good luck in Alice! Nicole loves the whole music theater thing too. She’s in a kid friendly version of “Grease” this spring. She was Cheshire Cat in Alice Jr. a couple of years ago here, and has been a big “Alice” fan ever since – even more those two wunderkinds have in common.

  6. Jennifer M. says:

    That is awesome! Congrats to Trinity and all the young ladies in the Guard 🙂 She will never regret being a part of something like this – it’s what being a teenager is all about!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! She’s never been much of a ‘sport’ person, picking dance class and theater over competitive sports. I’m glad she’s finally found something that she enjoys!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #36 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Gail says:

    You are not bias….I think so too!!!!!! Grammy Pam will also agree!

Leave a Reply

