Meatless….. Saturday??

So, I know I picked a weird day to make this post.  Usually it’s Meatless Monday.  I guess Friday would work, too, since it’s Lent.  Is that correct?  I’m not Catholic, so I’m not entirely clear on the rules and regulations of Lent.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to some-what participate in the Meatless Monday campaign for a few months now.  I say ‘some-what’ because I have one meatless meal a week, and it’s not always on Monday.  Well, It’s actually rarely on Monday.  That still counts, though.  I’m still getting all the benefits from that go along with Meatless Monday.  There’s just less alliteration.

I’m not against eating meat.  I love bacon way too much, but I also love the challenge that comes with making meatless meals that fit my family’s needs.  It’s been fun for me to hunt down and try different recipes, tweak them, and make them my own.  I realize that not everyone would enjoy this type of thing, though.  That’s why I’m here today:  to tell you about MorningStar Farms products.

This is a brand that I’ve used for a while.  I try to stay away from processed foods as much as possible, but every now and then I need something quick and easy.  These are perfect for that.  They’re also perfect as a stepping stone to go meatless, even for just one day a week.

Because I am so familiar with this brand, I didn’t think twice when BzzAgent asked me to join their MorningStar campaign.  I received a coupon for a free product, and I decided to try their Veggie Sausage, Egg, and Cheese Biscuits.

MorningStar

I’m a huge fan of breakfast and usually cook a HUGE one.  Sometimes, though, I need something that I can grab quickly and run out the door.  these were perfect for that.  They were filling enough to hold me over to lunch (if I didn’t run in the morning!) and were pretty tasty.  Although, they had a lot of pepper in them.  I was fine with it, but keep that in mind if you are not a fan of pepper.

MorningStar

I should tell you that I’m getting points for this post.  For more information on that, you can read my disclaimer.  To get full points, I have to share my favorite recipes.  I’ve never really cooked with this product, but I have done the following for lunch:

  • I’ve made amazing Buffalo Salads using spinach, lots of veggies, Veggie Buffalo Wings, and ranch dressing.
  • Daniel’s favorite is when I make him barbecue riblet wraps using a tortilla, cheese, Hickory BBQ Riblets, and veggies.
  • I have used Veggie Meatballs for spaghetti and meatballs.

That doesn’t include the products I’ve used normally…. burgers, chik’n nuggets, sausage.

If you want to get more creative with the products, MorningStar has a nice recipe database on their website and a lot more inspiration on their Pinterest Page.

Not to sound like a commercial or anything, but MorningStar Farms really does make going meatless a little easier.

Thanks for getting through my first kinda-sorta sponsored post.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bzzagent, cooking, daniel, product review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meatless….. Saturday??

  1. It wasn’t that sponsor-y. 😉 Woo for meatless meals!

  2. modernoracle says:

    You are right about Fridays, although it is one religious tradition that I totally do not get. My husband is Catholic (I’m not), so he won’t eat beef, pork or poultry on Fridays during lent, yet, here we go every Friday to the local parish fish-fry. Which is DEE-lish by the way…but since when is fish not meat? I give up trying to figure it out – but all year round I try to do a meatless meal at least once a week for no other reason than to be healthy and as a nod of thanks to the life that provides that meat that tastes so yummy the rest of the time – fish included. Morning Star is good – Boca burgers and Amy’s are tasty meatless sources too. I try to DIY it with chickpeas and tofu too. Falafel anyone?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, I don’t understand how fish isn’t meat, either. I’m sure there’s some explanation of it somewhere, though…. I know a few ‘vegetarians’ who eat fish as well.

      As long as you’re enjoying the fish fry, don’t rock the boat 😉 Haha.

      Daniel does NOT like chickpeas… so no falafel for me! I end up using a lot of black beans. I made a black bean and butternut squash chili last week that was AMAZING! I like the challenge of finding and making meatless meals that don’t feel like they’re missing the meat 😉

  3. I think I have told you before that Top Girl’s other grandparents (my former in-laws whom I love very much) have been vegetarian since the 70’s for religious reasons – they are Seventh Day Adventists. Top Girl was eating Morning Star Farms early on in her life along with several other kinds of what I call fake meat. She loves the facon but her all time favorite (which sadly she can’t get from Morning Star Farms) is called Wham. It is a fake ham. She served it to Rocket last week with his scrambled eggs for breakfast and she said he loved it too. I will have to tell her about these so she can try them for a quick meal!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Wham? I’ve never heard of this, and now I am intrigued. I haven’t tried the fake bacon, either! I need to play catch up, apparently!

  4. msdulce says:

    Love morningstar! My aunt makes faux egg mcmuffins with buttered english muffins, cheese, fried eggs, and the morningstar “sausage” patties. Sooo good. If anything, they’re almost *too* meaty-tasting for this vegetarian. 😉

    • pamasaurus says:

      They do taste really meaty! I’ve snuck some of the chicken nuggets and corn dogs on Trinity’s plate without her realizing.

      I loooove the maple sausage patties!

Leave a Reply

