Delaware Art Museum

I just got off the phone with the hospital.  Apparently when they called Sunday to tell me her test was negative, they meant only the mono one.  Her culture was positive for strep.  I’m having a bit of mommy guilt about taking her out on Sunday, but as many people have told me, I didn’t know.  The hospital should have specified, and Trinity said she was feeling fine.  I need to stop being so hard on myself, but mommy guilt is a terrible thing.

I’m really worried Megan, Dave, and/or Charlie will get sick now.  Trinity didn’t share drinks or anything with anyone, so I think they should be fine.  Part of me still worries though, especially about little Charlie.

At least I can start Trinity on some antibiotics so she can finally feel better!  She woke up with a fever and chills again today.  It’s so hard to see my baby girl like that!

I’m here today to share the mini adventure that is causing me so much guilt, our trip to the Delaware Art Museum.

Thanks to the Jessie Ball duPont Fund, the museum is able to offer free admissions on Sundays.  The doors are only open for four hours, noon until four, on that day, but it’s plenty of time to enjoy the museum.  We managed to see everything in around two hours.  We also didn’t linger in any area for too long due to Charlie bouncing off the walls and Trinity being tired.

The Delaware Art Museum was founded in 1912 as a way to honor the American illustrator Howard Pyle.  It started as a small collection that was displayed in various exhibitions at Hotel DuPont and The New Library Building in Wilmington.

The current building opened in 1938, with several expansions and renovations throughout the years.

Daniel, Trinity, and I arrived before Megan, Dave, and Charlie.  We took this opportunity to wonder the grounds behind the museum, where the Copeland Sculpture Garden is located.  The 9 acre area is home to 9 large sculptures, and a labyrinth made from a converted reservoir.

I was a little disappointed in the labyrinth   It’s just a rock maze.  I was expecting either bush or stone walls.  Oh well, I bet it would be fun to try to figure out!  We didn’t spend a lot of time exploring because it was so cold.

I would definitely like to go back in the spring, though.  There were many magnolia bushes along the path.  I think it would be amazingly gorgeous when they bloom!

Megan and family arrived about ten minutes after us, and we headed inside.  The museum itself has five major collections.

The first collections we viewed were The 19th Century American Art and The American Art of the Early 20th Century Galleries.  These exhibits include work by John Sloan, Charles E. Burchfield, Jefferson David Chalfant, and John Henry Twachtman.

Next, we headed over to the American Illustration Galleries.  This section was mostly devoted to Howard Pyle and his student.  Mr. Pyle had some mad illustration skillz!  I couldn’t believe the detail and such in his work.

While the area was mostly devoted to Howard Pyle, there was also work by many other artists, including Elizabeth Shippen Green and John Held, Jr.

Marooned by Howard Pyle, the one on the bottom left, is the piece I liked most in the whole museum.  I don’t know what I find so special about it, but I need it in my house.  It’s pretty large, though, so I don’t think I could fit it anywhere!

Following the illustration section was the Pre-Raphaelite collection.

The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood (PRB) was a group of seven English painters, poets, and critics who joined together in 1848.  This group wanted to reform art by bringing back a classical style of painting.

They apparently really enjoyed redheaded women, and a lot of their work reflected that.  These redheads were referred to as PRB Stunners.  We tried to get a photo of Charlie beside the Stunner sign, but she wasn’t having it.  She wanted to run, not be held!

The final gallery was located upstairs and contained pieces by Deborah Butterfield, David Lund, Mark Toby, and other Post World War II American Artists.  Some of the pieces in this gallery were a little…. weird.

I’m kicking myself for not getting a photo of it, but there was a sculpture that both Trinity and I thought was a real person from the back.  It was pretty funny.

The coolest thing was Tunnel by Chul-Hyun Ahn.  It’s an optical illusion.  I knew it was only really two feet high, but it looked like a tunnel to hell.  I can’t even properly explain the vertigo I experienced looking into it!

I took a photo of the weirdest piece there, Untitled by Barbara Kruger, which is a large photo of a brain that says “In the beginning there is Crying.  In the middle there is confusions.  In the end there is silence.”  It freaks me out a little.  I totally did not see the ‘no photos’ sign next to it until after I took said photo.  So, I won’t be posting it because I’m afraid the art police will yell at me.  I probably would have posted if there were other rule breakers on the interwebs, but a quick Google Image Search returned only other pieces by Kruger.

Charlie was getting antsy at this point, and spent a good twenty minutes running back and forth in front of the window.  I was attempting to get a semi-decent photo of her, but, as always, she was too fast.  However, she sat down and said ‘cheese’, at least that’s what I choose to believe happened.  It’s the first time she’s done that for me, and it yielded what I think is the best photo I ever took.

Pretty amazing, no?

No museum is complete without some amazing blown glass by Dale Chihuly.  The Delaware Art Museum had their two story foyer filled with flower like disks, which Chihuly calls Persians.  They were so pretty, such amazing colors!

So, that concludes my mini-adventure at The Delaware Art Museum.  It’s a place I’d love to visit again, and I wouldn’t be opposed to going on a non-Sunday.  In my opinion, it’s definitely worth the admission price.

Now I’m off to take some Vitamin C and cuddle my sick kid.  Hope you guys are all doing a little better than we are here in South Jersey!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, friends, illness, museum, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Delaware Art Museum

  1. Chihuly! He married a woman from my state and we have beautiful beautiful work of his all over the place. I just love it. My husband got me a small (very small) vase he made as a wedding present. At the Bellagio in Vegas almost the entire lobby ceiling is covered with his flowers it’s a most beautiful sight to see. I have a picture somewhere.
    Dont be hard on yourself at all – I know that if I ever get sick, I am NEVER going to NJ! I have never heard of such incompetency. Your physician-finding problems, your difficulty in getting tests run, and now just plain stupidity in not giving you a full accounting of your daughter’s condition – which you paid for. I sound kind of crabby don’t I? sorry. The museum looks lovely and I bet you had an awesome time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I was googling more things by him, and it’s just amazing! I’m so jealous of your vase, haha. My cats would probably break it if I had one, anyway.

      Ugh, this state is awful! I never had issues like this when I lived in Pa. It’s so frustrating. I just…. I don’t know what to do anymore besides keep complaining, reviewing, and finding new people. The doctor we saw at the urgent care center was AMAZING. I instantly felt comfortable with her, and she did everything right. I think the mix up, not to give them excuses, was caused by shift changes and things like that.

      Thanks! We did! It was a cute little museum. The Philly Art Museum is free on the first Sunday of every month (and on Wednesday evenings after 5) so we’re trying to plan a trip for the 2nd as an early birthday outing. I’ve been there before like 5 years ago, but it’s so big and amazing.

  2. Fresh Ginger says:

    Get well wishes and hopefully the cooties don’t spread. P.S. Chihuly is awesome. Nice photos.

  3. msdulce says:

    Oh my goodness, that slightly terrifying troll tobacco jar will now haunt my nightmares. Tell him to take that optical illusion tunnel back to hell.

    There was an almost identical labyrinth near Grace Cathedral in San Francisco! I was complaining to my sister about it being a pretty lame “labyrinth,” and she explained that it’s less maze (as the title had me thinking) & more a meditation space. Apparently, you’re supposed to think about whatever’s troubling you before heading in… then walk the path leading into the middle of the circle at your own pace, trying to keep your mind quiet… then when you get to the middle, stay there till you feel some sort of peace… then walk back out like you’re ready to face the world. While skeptical, I tried it one glum-ish day, and it kinda-sorta-maybe-if-I-squint-real-hard made me feel a little better! It may have just been the placebo power, though. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha. I thought he was cute. Apparently I like grotesque things, though. I’m weird.

      Hm… I guess that’s an interesting way to meditate. The photos on the website of this ‘labyrinth’ showed a bunch of children running around. That leads me to believe it’s more of a play area than anything else, haha.

      One day I will find a real labyrinth to get lost in!

Leave a Reply

