Sick Kid is Sick

Daniel and I agreed to skip Valentine’s Day this year.  Instead, we were saving our money for Alaska and other big adventures hopefully happening later this year.  At least I thought we agreed to skip it.

He surprised me with some chocolate covered strawberries, a geekily awesome necklace, and a sick kid.

To be fair, he didn’t really get me the sick kid.  She must have caught something at school.  I don’t know where else she would have picked this up.  It’s just her luck that she would be sick over her four day weekend and while the weather was amazing.

It all started Thursday night, right before bed.  She said that her throat was hurting a little.  I gave her some cough medicine and sent her to bed.  She woke me up at 3am to tell me that she had vomited, and I discovered she had quite the fever.  That prompted Motrin, cuddling, and sleep.

She spent yesterday in bed all day, sleeping on and off.  It was a beautiful day, a perfect day for adventuring, and my baby girl was unable to stay awake longer than 20 minutes at a time.  She was eventually able to keep water and some food down and stated that her throat no longer hurt.

That all changed this morning.  She could barely swallow or talk without some pretty bad pain.  Daniel and I talked it over, and we ended up taking her to the urgicare center.  I was afraid that it was strep.  They did some throat cultures and gave her some Tylenol.  She ended up vomiting while there, which prompted them to give her some IV fluids and do some blood tests.

She felt MUCH better after the fluids.  I thought I was making sure she was drinking enough, but I was apparently wrong.  The rapid strep test came back negative.  Her labs were all good, except her white blood count was a tad elevated.  That’s completely normal for someone with a fever and throat pain, though.

All signs seem to point towards viral infection, and the doctor agreed with this assessment. Just to be on the safe side, though, she did order a regular strep culture and a mono test.  Those tests should take no longer than 48 hours, but the doctor seemed pretty confident they would both be negative.

We are having a lazy Saturday, spending the day watching movies and doing crafty stuffs.

I’m hoping she feels well enough tomorrow to get out for a few hours.  We have plans with Megan, Dave, and Charlie.  They already know that we’ll probably have to reschedule  but I was really excited to get out and do some adventuring!

Daniel and I also had plans for a belated Valentine’s dinner this weekend.  He had to work on the 14th.  Oh well.  We can have dinner anytime.  I was just excited to not have to cook!

I just feel so helpless when she’s sick.  I would give anything to take away her pain, but I don’t know what else I can do besides give her medication and make sure she’s resting.

 

Oh!  I did do something semi-productive today.  I started a Facebook page for this blog.  So, go like it now, kthx.  I also added the FB Page Widget to the sidebar for easy liking.  Do it.  You know you want to.

So…. what are all you lovely people up to on this fine Saturday?  Since I’m stuck at home, I’d love to live vicariously through you all.  Tell me about your exciting plans!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in geek, holiday, illness, trinity, valentine's day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sick Kid is Sick

  1. Angie says:

    I hope she’s feeling better soon!!!! It might do her some good if she’s feeling up to it to get out of the house for a bit..I love your valentine gift, very interesting, and I “like” you fb page awesome idea. I have one too but I only have 10 likes no comments it’s kind of depressing 😦

  2. Poor baby – nothing worse than a sick kiddo – even when they are an adult! Today we went to a couple of yard sales (yep, even in February), had a long talk with the hubs about what he’s going to do with his life now and made some good decisions that I”m excited about, then went with daughter to Sam’s so I could get a tire fixed and buy stuff in bulk but then split it. Finally got home and Andy is staying the night. Cooking for the blog tomorrow and since I am off work Monday, taking my mom, daughter, and grandson to go see my ex-inlaws for the day so they can see Rocket – then, if I can still stand, I will get ready for work next week. Oh yeah, and I started a new FB page too! Okie Picks. We think alike!!

  3. Juliet says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that your daughter is sick. I hope she feels better real soon!

  4. Jennay says:

    I hope Trinity feels better soon…I was browsing thi internet and found this…thought you would be interested since you are thinking about a trip to Alaska! Might come in helpful! =) http://www.getitfree.us/Alaska-The-Last-Frontier-Get-Your-Alaska-Travel-Guide-For-Free–2580

  5. tracye1 says:

    Hope your girl is feeling better…we have a sickie here today and I agree, there is nothing worse than the hopeless feeling we have when our babies are sick 😦
    On the upside you got a FB page (I’ll check it out after Lent) and some bonus cuddle time!
    Blessings for a better week ahead!!

  6. I hope she feels better soon my friend! My mum feels the same as you when we are sick!
    Have a better week ahead!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

