Almost 30?!?


30th Birthday

In exactly one month, I will be the big 3-0.  Thirty.  How did this happen?  I certainly don’t feel like I’ve been alive for thirty years.

This is the age that I’ve been taught to fear since I was little.  I’ve watched TV shows and movies, one after another, where the women refuse to admit they’re any age above 29.

I have witnessed this phenomenon in real life as well.  My own mother has been know to say “this is the Xth anniversary of my 29th birthday.”

I updated my Facebook with, “Exactly one month until the big 3-0,” and I received comment after comment implying that women shouldn’t admit to being above 30.

It’s like women lie about their age so others, mainly men, won’t judge them.

But, what is there to judge?  Isn’t age just a number?  Am I going to suddenly be a different person, a person I should be ashamed of being, a month from now?  Is there something I should prepare for?

What am I missing?

Ok, fine, I’ll admit it.  If you would have asked me how I felt about my approaching 30th birthday a year or two ago, I probably would’ve responded that it scared me.  What was I afraid of?  Getting old?  Being closer to death?  Society viewing me differently?  Suddenly having to stop acting like my goofy self?  I’m not entirely sure what exactly I was afraid of, but I knew that was the emotion I was expected to feel.

Fear.  Ha.  I guess I’ve learned there are more important things to be afraid of, because I don’t waste my time fearing my impending birthday anymore.  I’ve made peace with it at some point along the way.  I’ve realized that 30 isn’t any different than 29, which isn’t really any different than 25.

I’m actually looking forward to it a bit.  These days, I look at my 30th year with excitement instead of fear.  Right now, at 29, I’m the happiest I’ve ever been in my life.  I’ve let go of a lot of the negativity and unrealistic expectations about life and decided to just live.  I’ve figured out how to appreciate what I have instead of just marking time until I get what I want…. or wallowing in the past, throwing a tantrum that I didn’t get my way.

I’ve also realized that I don’t have to be ashamed of who I am.  So what if I have severe anxiety issues?  So what if I’m introverted and antisocial?  I’ve learned that the people who matter don’t care, and the people who choose to make fun of me or put me down for these things aren’t worth my time.  Because of this realization, I’ve been more open with my issues.  There’s something very freeing about being completely open and not hiding parts of yourself.  It’s actually helped me form a support system, make amazing new friends, and learn more about myself than I ever realized I could.

My 29th year has been a year of change, and I’m optimistic about year 30 bringing even more positive change.  I have big, exciting plans for this year, and I can only hope that I’ll be as excited about 31 as I am right now about 30.

So, to all my friends with a 30th birthday on the horizon, forget how society tells you to feel and figure out how to make this the best year of your life.  Figure out what you want out of life and go for it.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in birthday, friends, holiday, serious and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Almost 30?!?

  1. So – it is your birthday month. I always celebrate the entire month before and I warned my husband about it before we married – he should be prepared. I actually end up getting presents sometimes a few months before. nothing every day just something I want. I’m pleased to see in one paragraph where you explained that you have “….let go of negativity….” and so on, that actually means you have grown up and matured. That’s what grown ups do, at least most of the time. Talking about your issues so freely is about the generation you are a part of – my daughter who is your age – and ALL her friends talk about these things without even a blink. Because of that, it has been helpful to me as well. To know that you don’t disintegrate into a pile of ash if you say certain things out loud. Enjoy this month and do as much as you can – mark this milestone as happily as you have embraced it!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I should start celebrating an entire month! The fun starts now!!

      Talking about my issues openly has been a struggle for me, but, thankfully I’ve finally realized it’s nothing to be ashamed of; it doesn’t make me a bad person or broken.

      Thanks!!!

  2. That would make it March 10! My birthday is March 11! We could be birthday buddies!………..lol

  3. Angie says:

    I’ve marked your “milestone” on my calendar! 😀

  4. LKD says:

    Happy March birthday! I’m 32 next month, try that! I looked forward to 30, it brought good things. And 32 will be the year I get married, so I’m really good with that, too.

    I hope your 30 and the rest of your 30s are amazing!

    Lorna

  5. Hey! I’m turning 30 this year too (in April) & I’m the first to admit I’m approaching it with trepidation. Your words have inspired me to look forward to 30. It really is just a number 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Glad I can help! Nothing about you is going to magically change on that day, so don’t get too caught up in it. Concentrate on the cupcakes and fun 😉

  6. tracye1 says:

    I must say, 30 was one of my most fun birthdays, anticipated years and a wonderful time in my life. Enjoy!!!

  7. Gail says:

    Now that I am old….and I tell everyone that. I get a lot of senior discounts!!! Yeah me. but I still tell everyone that I am celabrating the 38th anniversity of my 29th birthday in October!!!!!

  8. Juliet says:

    I remember dreading the big 30. But you know what? My thirties have been some of the most enriching years of my life so far. Oh, I’m wishing you the best as you enter this new season of life! :0)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!! I’ve been hearing great things from others in their 30s, too, which has only reinforced my excitement 😉

  9. msdulce says:

    I love, love, LOVE this post and couldn’t agree more! It saddens me that people would imply that there’s anything shameful about growing older… just like you said, with age we (hopefully) grow wiser and more confident in our own skins. I’m so glad you feel proud of *exactly* who you are (as you should!). Besides, I always wonder why some lie about being younger… isn’t it better to say you’re ten yrs older and have people think “Damn! Girl looks good for 40!” 😉 Happy countdown to birthday!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yay! Glad you enjoyed the post 😀 It’s taken me a while to learn to except myself no matter what… but I guess that’s what your 20s are for, right?

      Thanks!!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Also, I’d totally rather have people think I’m older and look amazing than think I’m younger and look bad for my age!

  10. Jennifer M. says:

    Being in your 30’s is the best! You are no longer a “twenty-something” and seem to have more respect from the world in general. Embrace it! Besides you know what they say, “Some things just get better with age!”

  11. Barbara says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog…..Happy 30th! Everything gets better with age!

  12. mhdriver says:

    Wow! 30 I can’t even remember what that was like. I think I have one coming up about the same time. But it won’t ever be thirty again.

  13. Same here. I’ll be 28 soon and the big 3-0 is quietly approaching. But, like you, I’ve never been happier than I am now. I’ve stopped pushing myself and now just roll with the punches. 30 doesn’t intimidate me at all anymore. Like you say, it’s just a number.

  14. deairby says:

    Try double that! This month I turn 60!!!! (And look how cool I am…..) Hey, the only alternative to getting older is dying.

Leave a Reply

