Menu Plan Monday #32

amazing

This has been an interesting weekend.  That doesn’t mean it was bad, though.

Megan, Dave, and Charlie came over to watch the game last night.  By watch the game, I mean use it as background noise while being awesome.

Yes, awesome.  We drank, ate too much spicy food, taught Charlie how to sing the ‘nanananana’ part of ‘Gettin Jiggy wit it,’ and just generally had an amazing time.  I really don’t remember anything about the game.  They had a power outage at some point, and the point gap was huge.  A little while later, the 49ers were almost caught up.  That is my full knowledge of the game.

I wasn’t upset about not watching the game, though.  I didn’t even know who was playing until yesterday morning.

Not everything was awesome, though.  I attempted to completely step off of my Cymbalta. I was fine the first day.  Yesterday morning, though, was the worst day of  my life.  Cymbalta withdraw is nothing to sneeze at.  I was experiencing some pretty horrible brain zaps, and probably would have went to the hospital if I hadn’t heard about them from a friend.  Every few minutes, I’d have an intense numb feeling in my brain for about 30 seconds or so.  Not just numb, though, but a cross between being very very lightheaded and having that pins and needles feeling like my brain fell asleep.  Sometimes it would be in my chest, other times my arm as well.  I thought I was dying until I remembered a friend talking about her brain zaps while weening off of Effexor.

So, I’m back on my Cymbalta for now.  I had a bit of a break down (being over emotional is another withdraw symptom, apparently!), and Daniel and I discussed things.  Since the main reason for discontinuing the drug isn’t a pressing matter anymore, it just made sense.  I’m going to talk to my doctor about the possibility of cross-tapering to ease the awful symptoms.

So, that was my Sunday.  The rest of the weekend consisted of lots of family time and Halo 4.

Now I shall share my menu for this week, which is the whole point of this entry.

  1. Sweet Potato and Black Bean Soup
  2. Clam Chowder
  3. Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Cauliflower Gratin
  4. Pulled Pork Nachos
  5. Baked Ziti
  6. Bourbon Street Chicken with Rice and Broccoli
  7. Herb Crusted Chicken and Basil Cream Sauce with Noodles and Veggies

If you want more ideas or just want to read more menu plans because you’re nosy like that, check out Mama to Three Little Birds, Love Harmony Peace, Food Allergy Experience, and The Vampire Diet.  My menu planning group is slowly getting larger.  Feel free to jump in, too, if you would like.  I’m incredibly nosy and enjoy reading what other people are planning to eat!

As always, comment about food!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in cooking, daniel, friends, illness, list making, menu plan monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Menu Plan Monday #32

  1. Well, I’m very glad you decided to jump back on those pills on your own. I never tell anyone how to live but I remember you mentioning “taking yourself off” the Cymbalta without consulting your physician (no matter how crappy he/she is) and as a mother and health care professional, I was worried. I’m sorry you had such a difficult day but that day would have just gotten worse on day number 2 and on and on. I know you don’t like the side effects but you have to be stepped off it not just jump off the cliff and stop taking it and here’s the biggest reason why: you take your family with you when you do. Love ya kiddo – you will figure out what all this is and it will be fixed! xoxoxoxo

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you ❤

      I did talk to my doctor about it, and she said to take the 30mgs for 2 weeks, then go to nothing. My normal dosage is 60mgs. I'll PM you on FB about the details, because it's all something I'm not ready to talk about online (although not bad), but I have time to figure things out. I think I'm going to look into cross-tapering to make it easier because that was HORRIBLE, even after stepping to the smaller dosage. It sucks they don't make a 15mg pill, but I might also have to ask about opening the pill and counting out individual granules. Ugh. I know it's my duty to research any medication before I take it, but I wish I would've been given a headsup about this somewhere along the way. I wasn't even warned of it when she told me to step down. I was not expecting it, which probably made it scarier and worse than it had to be.

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #3 « Love, Harmony, Peace

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #4 « Love, Harmony, Peace

Leave a Reply

