Ridley Creek State Park

It’s been cold here in South Jersey, very cold.  I’m not a fan of cold weather, and I have been dreaming of spring.  I want the sun to shine, the flowers to bloom, to not have to wear five layers to walk the dog.

I’ve been wanting to write about past adventures, and I thought it might help my winter blues to write about an adventure that took place in the springtime.

I’ve also been wanting to write about my adventure to Ridley Creek State Park ever since The Little GSP made a post about her time spent there.

So, I’m about to write about my springtime adventure in Ridley Creek.  It’s a very special memory for me, actually.

In late April 2012, Daniel, Trinity, and I crossed the bridge to meet up with Megan, Dave, and Charlie.  This was a special trip.  While Megan and I had hung out numerous times, this was the first time meeting each other’s families!  I know I was a little nervous because we’re silly and weird.  I was afraid Dave would think we were completely insane.  If you’re a follower of the blog, you’ll know that didn’t happen.

We met up at their apartment, where we ordered HUGE, delicious cheesesteaks, and just hung out for a little while.  We weren’t sure we would be able to adventure due to an impending storm.  We decided to take a chance, and enjoy the unseasonably HOT and sunny day.

Ridley Creek State Park is located about 16 miles from Center City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  It’s about 2600 acres in size and offers a variety of actives   We were there to hike on the 5 mile paved trail.

The park is beautiful, especially in the spring.  They have a variety of trees along the paved trail that are numbered.  If you’re interested, there is a podcast and Google Earth virtual tour that discuss the trees.  It’s part of a Penn State outreach project about biodiversity.

The place *does* have some pretty amazing trees.

Besides tress, the main loop also has some amazing views of Ridley Creek, which is popular for fishing,

Ridley Creek

beautiful, antique bridges,

Bridge

Ridley Creek

amazingly green landscapes,

So Green

and historical buildings and ruins.

Ruins

Hazard

 

It was definitely worth the trip.  It was an unseasonably hot day, though, so we didn’t make it all the way around the trail.  Trinity was not up to it.  Instead, we headed back towards the parking lot to hang out in the large field and eat cupcakes.

Yum.  Cupcakes.  I remember I brought Key Lime Cupcakes with Blackberry Buttercream, which were amazing.  I ate way too many of them.

I think this is where Trinity decided that Dave was awesome.  It was in that field that he helped her fine-tune her zombie plan and run zombie drills.  Fun times were had by all, and we all became amazing friends.

Trinity and Charlie

Look how little they were!

It’s also where Daniel and Trinity tore the space-time continuum…. or, ya know, ran through the scene while I was trying to take a panoramic photo.

Funny Panoramic

I wonder what would happen if someone ran with the motion of the camera, instead of against it.  This will need to be explored further at a later time.

We grabbed some dinner at Applebee’s later that evening and headed home.  It started raining as we were crossing the Commodore.  I’m so thankful that it held out so we could enjoy such an amazing day.

 

I plan to return to Ridley Creek State Park for some more adventuring.  Specifically, I want to find the cemetery mentioned in The Little GSP’s post.

Signature

 

 

 

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, daniel, friends, photos, random parks, random pennsylvania and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ridley Creek State Park

  1. Looks like a beautiful place to spend some time. Those trees are amazing! Trinity can rest easy now – Walking Dead will be back as soon as the Super Bowl is over – I know we are excited for it to be back on! 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      It really is! I can’t wait for spring to come so I can go back!

      We’re pretty excited, too. Trinity has never watched it, actually, because a lot of the subject matter (re: sex) is too explicit for her, I think. Eventually, I’ll have a WATCH ALL THE EPISODES marathon with her when she matures a bit 😉

      • I forget about those things- the mature nature etc… I raised Top Girl So non traditionally! I got a Zombie cookie cutter!!!!

      • pamasaurus says:

        The ‘gingerdead man’??? My friend got it for me for Christmas! I’m super excited about it, and so is Trinity. I’m starting to introduce more mature subjects. Her favorite movie of the moment is Shaun of the Dead, haha. I think she’d REALLY enjoy The Walking Dead. At least the show isn’t as explicit as the comics!

  2. TheLittleGSP says:

    Yay! I’m glad that you finally did your Ridley Creek State Park post. 🙂 The woods are super green and the air looks so hot and heavy in your photos… it definitely helps me imagine that feeling right before a nice summer storm rolls in. Also, cool bridges! I have noticed them before but I’ve never actually taken the time to stop and appreciate them. I’ll have to do that next time!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was REALLY hot when we were there, which was weird since it was April. We really only walked a mile or so before Trinity was turning red from the heat. I think the humidity played a huge part, too, since there was a storm coming. The lightening that night was AMAZING.

      I have a thing for bridges, so I always take a moment to snap some photos. I love the geometry of them 😉

  3. Angie says:

    Wow looks like an awesome spot to visit, love the trees, old bridges and old buildings. Sounds like a great day! Thanks for sharing and love your daughters hair! My daughter used blue kool aid on the ends of her hair this past weekend. Wish I was as brave as they were.

    • pamasaurus says:

      It really is! Thanks!

      My hair had a pink streak in it, too. We decided to have fun. It’s only hair; it grows back. Of course, I’ve been dying my hair since I was her age, too 😉

      • Angie says:

        Megs has had blue hair, purple and now the just the ends…I have only ever used “Sun In” turned my hair orange it was AWFUL!

  4. Yummygal says:

    Ridley Creek rocks! Did you get to check out the mansion grounds? You have got to go in the spring when the irises bloom! There’s this huge hill next to the mansion PERFECT for picnics on a nice sunny day. Sounds like a great time you had! Gives me hope for the nicer weather!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yeah, we ate cupcakes on the mansion grounds. It’s so amazing. I went while the trees were all blooming; they have some amazing flowering trees! It was so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

