Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Wood

I’m failing at life this week.  I just feel like there’s not enough hours in the day.  Things aren’t bad, just busy.

I’m working on weening myself off my Cymbalta.  I had a doctor appointment yesterday to followup on the medication.  We discussed things, and I’m probably going to start something else once I ween off of this.  All I can say is, “withdraw is no fun.”  I have trouble sleeping and an almost constant headache.

I’m also taking myself off the mini pill.  I just don’t feel like putting all those chemicals in my body; they were making me ill.  I lost weight (4 pounds in a week!) and felt better in general, which proves to me that I do have something wrong hormonally.   However, they made my stomach upset.  I pushed through for two months with no improvement.  I’m starting a full dose of Chasteberry as well as some Black Cohosh.

I’m just sick of people (mostly doctors) telling me that my mystery illness is in my head.  At least I proved it to myself.  I was starting to doubt things after all the normal blood work.

What else is taking up my time?  I’ve been working on a lot of projects and kicking butt at the gym.  I’ll discuss the projects in another post.  It’ll even include photos!

Oh, and I’ve been spending a lot of time looking at amazing photos of Alaska.  It’s such a beautiful state, and I really want to visit it!  Oh, wait, I am!  We’re going in the beginning of July with my wonderful, amazing In-Laws!  It’ll be my biggest adventure ever, and I’m so excited!

So, yeah.  It’s time for photos…

 

…Of course I have photos!  It’s time for my weekly Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge picture post!

cees fun foto challenge

 

If you have been following along, you’ll know that Cee has been using the Chinese 5 Elements as prompts.  We’ve already done Metal and Water.  This week is Wood.

Wood/Spring: Tree, Wind, Moisture, Air, Minerals, Ink, Mind, Rubber, Paper, Plants, Poison, Wax, Dissolve, Carbon, Clouds, Health, Space

Here are some of my photos that feature wood.

I take so many photos of trees, and it was really difficult for me to not post only those.  I did eventually find a few more photos to use in conjunction with trees.

 

So, that’s my life lately.  How are things going with you?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in illness, photos, rambling, serious, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Wood

  1. Hello Pam! First of all I’d like to say that I adore the picture of the tree in the fall with the different colors in it, it’s beautiful! I also think that the tree that fell over is amazing, it’s so big!
    Also I’m really sorry for your problems, but I really do not think that whatever problem you have is in your head. My family and I have realized that Psychotropic drugs are not good for your health and are really just to gain the doctor and drug producers money. Also have you tried the GAPS diet? It is apparently very good for your health and I’m currently on week 3 for my ulcerative colitis.

    Anyway I really enjoyed your tree pictures, I’m also participating in Cee’s Fun Foto challenge, but I didn’t have anything for metal! 🙂

    Charity

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!

      I definitely think that psychotropic drugs should be avoided if possible, but they do have their place. I’ve been having panic attacks even thinking about going to the grocery store. They are helping me function enough while I figure things out/go to therapy so I can function without them. It’s hard to understand if you’ve never had severe chemical depression or anxiety.

  2. The ship or schooner or boat (whatever its actually called) is beautiful! I also like the black and white one – one of the pictures from our wedding, I requested a black and white from one of those disposable cameras – turned out to be the very best pix of the event! It hangs in our living room. For some reason, I can “see” them much more clearly. When you were having all your testing done, did you happen to have that blood test that checks for menopause? Sometimes your symptoms sound just like those experienced during peri-menopause. Just a thought – remember I’m not a doctor, I just play at being one. 🙂 My week has been darn busy and I only have about 15 recipes and 2 projects to get done in the next 3 days plus the house cleaning and regular cooking. Whew! Then I’ll go back to work so I can rest up for the next weekend of work! Geez, I thought as I got older, life would slow down~

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! That’s one of my favorite photos ever 😉 It’s actually a “sloop of war” and was constructed back in 1854. It served in the Civil War (used to intercept slave ships and free the slaves). It was also used in WWI and II as a training vessel. I’m not 100% sure, but I believe it’s the oldest surviving full sale war ship. There’s your history lesson for the day!

      I love black and white photos, too. I’m also a fan of ‘sepia’ with the brown and white tones instead of black.

      I didn’t even think of menopause. I’m only 29 😦 I really, really think it’s estrogen dominance (too much estrogen in my system, which is balanced out by increasing the progesterone). Again, I’m not a doctor… but yeah. It’s hard because all the hormonal issues have symptom overlap.

      I just met someone else with very similar issues. Hers also started after getting the Depo shot. I think that thing is evil!!

      Your week really has been busy! When do you have time to yourself? I really need to learn time management from you 😉

      • I know you are only 29 but sometimes people are peri-menopausal for a decade or more. Here’s what you need to do – email Dr. Phil and tell him you think it was the depo shot. He’ll bring you on his show and tell you that you are just a bitchy woman BUT THEN he will offer to have you tested at his Medical Director’s state-of-the-art facility in Dallas (only 2 hours from me) for free. Then you’ll know what’s wrong! So – all you have to do is write a letter that is more crazy than about 1/2 a million other people! 🙂

      • pamasaurus says:

        See, I would have never thought of that. Thanks for the suggestion. I’m definitely going to have to look into it…. and figure out how to get on Dr. Phil 😉 Ugh, I don’t like him… but it would be fun 😉

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Such excellent choices for this week’s theme! Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. poppytump says:

    USS Constellation looks in mighty fine condition like its name too 🙂
    Lovely Black and White park image you captured .
    ps hope things improve for you this week .

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Fire | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Earth | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

