DIY Christmas Ornaments

I’m getting ready to start some marathon baking, but I wanted to make a post first.  What about?  Oh, ya know, just the massive amounts of Christmas Ornaments I made this year.  I’ve definitely been wearing my crafty pants this year, and I’m pretty excited to share everything with you.

1.  Monogram Ornaments

Monogram OrnamentsI made these glittery monogram ornaments for my tree.  They’re just AC Moore/Hobby Lobby letters.  I painted them with a thin layer of Mod Podge, covered with glitter, and glued a ribbon to the back.

Daniel's Ornament

I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out.  Getting the glue into the smaller areas in the curl of the T was annoying.

Trinity's Ornament

Pam's Ornament

2.  Melted Snowman Ornaments

Snowman Ornament

These adorable melted snowman ornaments are super easy to make!  I just bought some clear glass ornaments at the craft store and filled them with some white glitter, two small pom poms, and a triangle cut out of orange ribbon.

Melted Snowman Ornament

Snowman Ornament

3.  Peacock Feather Ornament

Trinity and I love peacocks.  They are just so beautiful.  That’s why we made our Christmas wreath in peacock colors.

We saw some really cute peacock feather ornaments at various stores, but the thought of how my cats react to feathers prevented me from buying them.  I saw an ornament similar to this one, but it was glass.  I can’t have glass on my tree, again due to the cats.  They’re really the reason I can’t have nice things.

I just purchased a peacock feather and put it in a clear plastic ornament I found at AC Moore.  It turned out perfectly.  Trinity loves it!

Peacock Ornament

4.  Lego Ornament

My nephew is obsessed with Legos.  I was having trouble thinking of a special ornament for him, and I decided to fill one of these clear ornaments with Legos!  I used a glass ornament at first, but the sharp edges cracked the glass with a slight shake.  So, I used a plastic ornament instead.  It was really easy, but I think he’ll like it.

Lego Ornament

5.  Glitter Ornaments

Glitter Ornaments

These ornaments are making their rounds on Pinterest.  I’ve seen numerous different tutorials, and I really wanted to try it!

All you need is some glass ornaments, floor wax, and glitter.

Daniel bought this kind of floor wax at Home Depot, but any type would work.  Word on the street is that you can use Pledge Floor Care Finish or Mop and Glo.  Apparently floor wax is hard to find these days.  The new flooring doesn’t require it.

Floor Wax

Some tutorials say to swirl some rubbing alcohol around the inside of the ornament to clean it.  Then, let it dry before continuing on.  I’m impatient, so I totally skipped this step.

Put a tablespoon or so of floor wax into the ornament, swirl it around to completely coat the inside, and dump out the extra.

I had to use a funnel, but pour your glitter into the ornament and shake it.  If the ornament isn’t completely glittered, you can always add more.  So, don’t spend a lot of time trying to decide if you put enough in there.  The longer you wait to shake, the more the glitter clumps at the bottom.  So, try to work as fast as possible.

I think I used a little under a tablespoon of glitter for each, just so you know where to start.  It would depend on the size of your ornaments as well.

Glitter Ornaments

Also, I found that the ‘iridescent’ glitter doesn’t work well with this project.  The jewel tone and darker colors had much, much better coverage.

Glitter Ornament

Most people on my Christmas List will be getting an ornament this year.  I’m pretty happy with the way all of them came out!

What homemade gifts have you made this year?

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in christmas, crafty, holiday, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to DIY Christmas Ornaments

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    Your ornaments are great! I especially like Trinity’s fancy “T” and the glitter globes. Interesting that floor wax is the magic “glue” in those.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! I really only made the glitter ornaments because I was curious how well the was would work… well, it worked really well. I used a funnel to put the was and glitter into the ornaments. I ran it through my dishwasher, and the glitter was still stuck to it because of the wax! I’d say it holds pretty well, haha.

  2. Wow . . . I love them all . . . especially the glittery ones! 🙂

  3. They all came out great!!!

  4. Jennifer M. says:

    The melted snowmen are adorable! Am totally stealing that idea – thanks 🙂

  5. Jennay says:

    Love them…but my faves are the Melted Snowman and the Peacock ornaments!! Great job!

  6. I love all of them! You did such a great job – P.S. – I just got a Star Wars chef’s apron for my son-in-law. It’s very cool and I’ll take a picture after he gets it and puts it one so I can post it!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      That’s awesome! I’m sure he’ll love it, haha!

      I tried to make Star Wars snowflakes (I have the patterns pinned on my winter board) but I failed a bit. I used printer paper, but I think I need thinner paper… or sharper xacto knives 😉

  7. Lillian says:

    The ornaments are glorious. I’d like to try some of them.

Leave a Reply

