Christmas Adventuring in Philadelphia

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I spent Sunday adventuring in Philadelphia with Daniel, Trinity, Megan, Dave, and Charlie.  It was a foggy, drizzly day, but we managed to have a bunch of fun.  I’m glad the steady rain held off until we were done.  It would have sucked to deal with more than the misting all day.

We met up around 2pm and headed out.  We had a bunch of stops we wanted to make.  First stop was Christmas Village in Love Park.

Christmas Village

This photo was taken later in the evening, but I didn’t take one of the sign in the daylight.

Love Tree

There was a LONG line to get your picture taken under the Love Sign with the tree in the background. I just snuck this one instead.

It’s like an upscale craft fair.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  There were a ton of vendors selling all sorts of different things.  There were moments where I wished I wasn’t done with my shopping.  I found some pretty awesome things that I couldn’t justify purchasing.

Dog Toy

This is basically the best dog toy ever.

One vendor had some amazing gold-dipped leaf necklaces.  They were pricey, but I managed to find them for a lot less on Etsy.  Seriously, guys… if you still need a gift idea for me, I’d love either this one or this one.  They are amazing!

Megan bought me a really adorable Tree Fairy ornament.  I do not have a photo of it to share, though!  Another time.  I promise.

I think Kraft is somehow involved with Christmas Village, because there was a GIANT noodle sculpture.  Trinity was super excited about getting her photo taken with it.  Kid loves noodles.

Noodle Sculpture

Do Not Climb On Noodle

Please don’t.

They also had an add on the tree’s platform.  It was amazing.  If you know me, you know I love saying ‘om nom nom.’  I guess that explains the name of my food blog.

Nom Nom Nom

After that, we walked around the city for a while.  We stopped by the Municipal Services Building Plaza to let the kids run a bit amongst the board game sculptures.  I tried to get Daniel to pose for a photo with the giant domino.  He can be a buzzkill sometimes.

DanielThe girls, however, were more than happy to help me create the photo I wanted.

Trinity and CharlieFrom there, we headed to Macy’s to see the famous Christmas Light Show.  It was pretty awesome.  Definitely something you should check out if you’re in the area during the holiday season.

Organ

This is the famous Wanamaker Organ.

Macy's

From there, we headed to the Comcast Center for the Comcast Holiday Spectacular.  The sun had started to set at this point, and the fog was really getting thick.  It made the city seem sort of eerie.

Fog

City Hall

Comcast Fog

It looks like this building goes on forever! For the record, this is the Comcast Center.

The show itself was pretty amazing.  The definition on the screen is amazing!  Before the show started, I didn’t believe it was a screen.  It blended right in with the wall.  it’s a free, 15 minutes show, and another thing I’d definitely recommend checking out.

Comcast

We ended up grabbing dinner at Sang Kee Peking Duck House again.  They really do have the best pan-fried dumplings I’ve ever had!

We left the city around 7:30pm, after walking around 12,000 steps, according to my Fitbit.

I’ve been having a hard time getting into the Christmas Spirit this year due to the unusually warm weather we’ve been having.  I was outside today in a T-shirt, in Jersey, in December.  That’s crazy!  This trip to Philly definitely helped, though!

The only things we paid for were parking, dinner, and a few little things at Christmas Village.  Not bad for 5 hours of entertainment   That’s the great thing about adventuring; fun doesn’t always have to cost a ton of money.

Does your area have any ‘must do’ Christmas activities?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, christmas, daniel, friends, holiday, philadelphia, photos, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Christmas Adventuring in Philadelphia

  1. Jennay says:

    Awesome photos!! =) Glad that despite the weather you had fun! Love the fa-la-la-la-la-nom-nom-nom and the Christmas Tree with lights is just beautiful!!

  2. Those are fantastic photos! I can’t believe you liike pan fried dumplings too! Those are my favorite Asian food. You should taste my daughter’s mother-in-law’s……….oh, and her lo mein………well, now I”m hungry!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!

      Haha, sometimes I think we’re the same person 😉 Pan fried dumplings are ammmmmmazing! I love most Chinese food, though. Lo mein, YUM! Now I want to go back!

  3. TheLittleGSP says:

    Great post! I was in Philly on Saturday night — we drove by the giant noodle but I had no clue what it was (I thought it might be McDonalds-related, like an upside-down 1/2 arch or something?) so think you for clarifying! 🙂 Your foggy city photos are really cool – especially the comcast building going on forever. It makes me think of a batman movie for some reason.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! Glad I could help solve the noodle mystery.

      I can see how you could get “Batman Movie” from the Comcast Building photo! It’s so eerie.

  4. Yummygal says:

    Yeah!! A little adventure! Me likey! Hahaha. Glad you and the fam had fun…oh and I love the homemade ornaments too!

  5. Jennifer M. says:

    I love Philly at Christmas time – there’s so much to do for free! Did you see the Christmas Carol display at Macy’s? I don’t know if they still have it, but I loved it when I saw it a few years ago. The light show and organ music is spectacular 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Philly is such an amazing place at Christmas! There’s always awesome stuff to do, but it gets better this time of year.

      I didn’t see Dickens Village because the wait to get in was 2+ hours! We were hungry, and Charlie was fussy. So, we didn’t want to stand in that line. Hopefully next year 😉

  6. msdulce says:

    Christmas Village looks like so much fun!! I’m a sucker for those etsy-type craft fairs… and taking silly photos with ridiculous sculptures. Love the giant noodle, and glad you guys had a fun day out!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I love places like that, too. I love finding all the random stuff I never even imagined existed! Definitely an awesome place to find some unique gifts!

      Thanks!

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

