Mercer Museum

Last night, Trinity and I went with Megan, Dave, and Charlie to the Holiday Open House at the Mercer Museum in Doylestown, Pennsylvania.  It was a bit of a drive for us, but we had a good time.  Well, we always do.  It’s more about who you’re with than what you’re doing, in my opinion.  Anything can be fun with the right people!

The Mercer Museum is a pretty interesting place.  Henry Mercer designed the six story building specifically to house his large collection of pre-industrial artifacts.  It also includes a library that is home to a lot of historic research material.

Museum

It’s a really unique place.  There’s a huge atrium in the center of the building that has artifacts bolted to the wall.  It’s pretty crazy.

AtriumThe photos do not do it justice.  It’s just insane.  The walls are just covered with boats, carriages, desks, chairs, everything!

Fire Truck

I was pretty amused by the chairs and desks on on the ceiling!

ChairThrough the museum are displays of different artifacts.  There was a whole room just for hat making, another one for cooking, and even one just for hinges and locks!

Big Key

Trinity was pretty amused by this huge key. This is only about 1/10th of the hinges/locks display.

According to the website, there are over 40,000 tools and artifacts on display at the museum.

Window

StatueIt was actually a pretty cool place, and I’d love to go back some day when it’s not so crowded!  It was like an ant colony in there due to it being an open house.

Trinity and Charlie both enjoyed the ‘learn how to drive a carriage’ display.

Carriage Practice

Carriage Driving is Srs Bsns.

I have one bad thing, though.  There are guide rails around the atrium on all floors, but the space between them is pretty large.  At one point, we were on the 5th floor, and Charlie went running towards the guide rail.  I think all of our hearts stopped beating in that moment.  I got to her first, scooped her up, and we headed down the stairs.

So, if you have small children, just beware!

 

We weren’t really there to tour the museum as much as we were there to see Santa and enjoy the holiday festivities.  They had carolers, choirs, and handbell choirs in different parts of the museum and outside.

They had a gourmet hot chocolate inside.  We didn’t sample that, but we did partake in the spiced hot cider outside.  It was even cooked in pots over a fire!

Cider Fire

 

We waited in line to see Santa, hoping Charlie would sit on his lap.  Since I’m the unofficial group photographer, I felt a bit of pressure to get a good shot.

I had a lot of factors stacked against me.  Charlie was scared and the lighting was awful!  They had spotlights, which would have been fine if they weren’t behind Santa.

Charlie and SantaI think everyone has a picture like this.  It’s a good memory!

I even made my almost-teenager sit on Santa’s lap for a photo.  She told him she wanted a Chinchilla for Christmas.  She’s a good sport.

Trinity and SantaThe description of the event on the website said that Santa was giving away commemorative ornaments.  They ended up being miniature tree cookie cutters with a ribbon for hanging.  It wasn’t quite what we expected, but again, another memory.  I’ll think about this evening every year when I hang that ornament.

 

I honestly don’t know if we’ll go back next year.  It was really busy, and we had to wait in a long line to see Santa.  We did have a fun time.  We’ll see.  We did, however, say that we would like to go back to tour the museum at some point!

I’d also like to visit some of the other places built by Henry Mercer, like Fronthill Castle.  I think we could manage both these things in one day.  It’s on my list of possible future adventures.

 

Tonight is Trinity’s winter concert for choir.  Saturday is Daniel’s company Christmas Party.  We’re hoping to get to Philly on Sunday to do a few Holiday things.  It’s shaping up to be a pretty busy week!  I’m glad I got all my shopping and wrapping done already.  Now I can just enjoy everything without too much stress!

Do you guys have any fun events planned for the Holidays?

Signature

 

 

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, christmas, friends, holiday, museum, photos, random pennsylvania, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mercer Museum

  1. Nothing much! Although Phil and I are sneaking out to a movie next week 😀 We start visiting family on the 24th and continue for the next several days. I’m glad I’m done my shopping and wrapping too!!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s so nice to be done, isn’t it? No more worrying about it until it’s time to remember to take them to the right place!

      Have fun with all the visiting! I’ll start visiting on Christmas 😀

  2. msdulce says:

    The museum looks so neat- that picture of the chairs & tables on the ceiling reminds me of an M.C. Escher drawing! I realize how mean this sounds, but I kind of love that picture of adorable little Charlie with Santa. You’re so right that everyone has one of those. I recently found a set of ‘Photos with Santa’ featuring Mr. M’s brother every year from infancy all the way up through about 6, and he’s Terrified of the Bearded Man in every…single…one. Why did my mother-in-law keep taking him back for more?! 🙂 Also, the hot cider cooked over the fire sounds fantastic! That alone would put me in a Christmas-y mood.

    • I’m the mom of Charlie and I think it’s cute that she’s screaming. Not in a mean way either. Just one of those things!! It wouldn’t be Christmas without a picture of kids crying on Santa’s lap. I saw a similar set of photos on the Ellen show website and they are HILARIOUS!

      The cider was pretty fantastic. I was glad it wasn’t hot cocoa!!

      • msdulce says:

        Oh, I’m so glad I didn’t offend with my comment! Your little one is simply adorable, crying or not. 🙂 I now have to go look at Ellen’s website… of course she would do something so fabulous as to collect all these Nightmare Santa pics!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It really is pretty awesome! It’s so weird to be surrounded by all that stuff bolted to the walls and ceiling!

      My mom has a photo of herself as a baby, screaming on Santa’s lap. I think the photos like that make the best memories.

      The hot cider was pretty awesome 😉

  3. Jennay says:

    Very cool and interesting!! =)

  4. You did get some great shots, even though the lighting was pretty bad and poor little Charlie was traumatized lol! And our little ornament is already on our tree. 🙂

    It was so much fun!

  5. Angie says:

    Looks like alot of fun, your photos are great, love the idea of having things nailed and bolted to the walls. Perfect photo with Santa too. 🙂

  6. Looks like a great time was had by all! Well, except for the the few moments Charlie was on Santa’s lap. Top Girl and Son-In-Law took Rocket to see Santa for a picture last Friday night – they gave us one Sunday. Rocket was smiling a tentative smile but Top Girl said he was relieved to get off Santa’s lap! 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Great times were had by all!! Charlie would never admit it, but she secretly enjoyed the Santa part, haha.

      Glad you guys got a good photo of Rocket on his lap! That’s pretty awesome.

      I think it’s normal for babies to be apprehensive of Santa. I wouldn’t want to sit on a stranger’s lap either, haha.

Leave a Reply

