Oh, Christmas Tree

It’s December.  That means it’s time for Christmas to throw up all over the place, including my house.  This is only our second Christmas in this house.  Before, we were in a tiny apartment.  There wasn’t a lot of room for decorations.  So, we are slowly picking up a few every year.  One day my house will be full of Christmas awesomeness!

We got a real tree last year.  It was the first one I ever had.  My brother had asthma really bad while we were growing up, and the smell of the evergreen trees would irritate him.  That meant we had to use fake trees.  In the apartment, we had an itty bitty fake one that fit on an end table.

Needless to say, I’m pretty much in love with having a real tree.  It’s one of my favorite parts of the Christmas Season now.

We had an interesting experience purchasing our tree last year.  I picked a tree farm that I found via Google.  Daniel called to ask questions and find out their hours.  We got there, and it was a guy selling trees from his backyard.  The trees were all sad, and goats had ate the bottom branches.  We still found one that we thought would work.  It’s a good memory.

Daniel was anxious to find an awesome tree farm this year.  He picked out two, and we set out to check both of them out.

The first one was Exley’s in Sewell.  It was HUGE and busy.  They had a ton of trees available, both cut and dug.  There were trees as far as we could see.

Pretty TreesWe were handed a huge pole to measure the trees and shown a price list.  Then, we were left to roam around the grounds.

Trinity

They had some nice trees, but Daniel was irked that they only had one variety.  So, we headed out to our next stop.

I don’t remember the name of this place, but I wasn’t impressed.  It ended up being a landscaping business with a few trees planted on the side of the building.  Do you know that feeling you get when you wander into the bad part of town?  That ‘I’m not supposed to be here’ feeling?  I had that the whole time we were there, which wasn’t long.

I’m mad at Daniel because he wouldn’t stop for me to take a photo, but I noticed when we were leaving that their sign said ‘Santa and Pony Rides.’  I’m still laughing about that.

We decided to just drive around and see what we could find.  This is South Jersey after all.  It’s mostly farmland; there had to be another tree farm close by.

We ended up stopping at Scattered Acres in Monroeville.  We were greeted by a bunch of employees, offered cookies, and directed towards the trees.  The farm was small and adorable.  That’s the type of place I like to patronize (in the good way).

Sky

Sun

We walked around for a while before finding the perfect, fat tree.  Oops.  The perfect, big-trunked tree.  I don’t want to hurt her feelings.

Our Tree

Trinity with Tree

We asked them to cut it down for us, and it them forever to figure out how to operate the chainsaw.  It was pretty funny.  Eventually someone had to show them.

Cutting Down Tree

We got the tree home, and the cats immediately made themselves at home.  They were just babies last Christmas, and they were already trouble.  It’s a good thing we stocked up on shatterproof ornaments!

Nuggz

Kitten McNugget climbs the tree.  He thinks it’s his new, private, awesome bed.  Small Fry just sits at the bottom, chewing on the branches.

We decorated the tree this morning.  This made the cats even more excited.  We were hanging toys on their bed…

Super Cat

…and putting a soft blanket for them under it!

Kitty

Kitties

My family was never into decorating the tree in a theme.  We would get ornaments for Christmas every year, and we’d just use those.  That means I have a collection of awesome ornaments, dating back to 1983.

Unfortunately, I cannot use most of them because they are fragile.  I don’t trust the cats enough.  Again, they’re the reason I can’t have nice things.  That’s why I have the coordinating blue and purple ornaments.  They’re the shatterproof ones I mentioned earlier.

Spike couldn’t care less about the tree.  He has never bothered it.

Trinity

Tree Topper

Decorated Tree

Lights

I think it’s beautiful!  Although, the tree skirt didn’t fit around our base, and the cats kept pulling it off.  So, I took a round, Christmas tablecloth we had and made a new skirt!

Tree Skirt

Doesn’t it look much better?

Trinity

I’m basically in love with our tree this year.  It’s gorgeous.  Well, at least I think it is.  I’m sure most of you agree.

It even looks awesome from outside!

Outside

Yes, I know my house looks under dressed.  I’m still working on collecting outdoor decorations.  Next year it’ll look more festive!

Do you guys collect ornaments, or do you have themed, Pinterest-quality trees?  Do you use real ones or artificial ones?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, christmas, daniel, furbabies, holiday, hoome, photos, random new jersey, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Oh, Christmas Tree

  1. Your tree IS beautiful and from the outside (with the deer below the window) it is a very peaceful looking scene. I like it a lot and your picture of the tree with thelights blurry is wonderful! I’m not much on perfection – I’ve seen it destroy some relatively wonderful people – so no, I don’t have a Pinterest quality tree or decorations. I have vintage things, and I also have an awesome collection of Christmas albums that are in frames — we hang those every year. We decorate inside with blow molds that I have collected because they are light weight, can be cleaned with a hose, and we just throw them into the attic after Christmas. We have several trees – all artificial – I have my grandmother’s aluminum one, an extremely large artificial pine that looks beautiful,an all white tree, and we have a Charlie Brown tree too! We choose a different one each year. Our ornaments are a collection of my childhood, things we have bought, and stuff the kids made us. So, that’s what our house looks like at Christmas. I’m going to post pictures of all the albums sometime this week – you will find some of them very funny!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      I think part of the Christmas Tree decorating charm for me is the memories that come along with all the collected ornaments.

      I can’t wait to see some of your decorations. I’m anxious to start collecting things for myself!

  2. Pam,
    I live in a postage stamp sized apartment. I think I will swipe your picture of your tree take it to Kinko’s and have them print a life sized copy to attach to the sliding glass doors and call it good.

    Merry Christmas.

    Blessings,
    Kina

    • pamasaurus says:

      I know what it’s like to live in a postage stamp sized apartment. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. Feel free to use my tree, haha. Staples does ‘engineer prints’ that are blue print sized for pretty cheap! Haha.

      Merry Christmas!

  3. Jennay says:

    Gorgeous tree!! Love the colors!! I’ll be sharing mine this weekend!! =)

  4. Dianty says:

    Great Tree! I wish we had a real one, we’ve never gotten one mostly because of my horrible allergies to well, everything growing. I love how the real ones look and smell. 🙂

  5. TheLittleGSP says:

    Yay! Real Christmas trees are the best, especially when you get to pick them out straight from the farm! Your cats are hilarious – I never realized that cats would climb right into the tree and hang out. Bailey is intrigued by some of our ornaments but as far as I know she has never actually pulled any off the tree.

    We do have any particular theme on our tree, but I’m noticing more and more that I seem to be drawn to ornaments that are small woodland creatures (squirrels, foxes, hedgehogs, owls, etc.) so I guess our tree is sort of getting a nature-type vibe to it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I never realized cats would act like that, either, until last year! They were just a few months old then, so they didn’t cause so much destruction.

      I had to redecorate the bottom half of the tree this morning, and I keep finding ornaments all over. They’re awful, haha.

      Spike doesn’t bother it, so it must just be a cat thing. Weird animals!

      I love small animal ornaments, too. I have a bunch of dog ones as well as Disney ones.

  6. Gail says:

    Beautiful tree this year.

  7. Your tree is amazing! When I was a kid my family used to go every year and cut down our own tree. We don’t have a vehicle large enough to hold all of us AND a tree, so we end up sending Phil out to grab our real tree and bring it back. The man has good taste.
    We have a semi-themed tree, and by that I mean that a few years ago I bought a large set of blue and silver balls (totally breakable, we’ve lost quite a few) and on last year’s clearance I bought blue lights. We also have a three foot artificial tree that the kids decorate with my old random ornaments and homemade ones, and a small 20 inch tree that has a matching set of blue, purple, pink and gold ornaments that are plastic. The house just gets festive over here, no rhyme or reason really.
    We don’t have ANY outdoor lights, I’m hoping to snag some this year on Christmas clearance. *crosses fingers*
    Your table cloth turned tree skirt is beautiful! I love it!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you!!

      You guys really do go all out for Christmas! If I had to pick a theme, it would be blue/silver. We’ve been leaning towards peacock colors lately… dark and light blue, purple, and light green.

      I’m hoping to get more outdoor decorations on clearance, too!

  8. Jennifer M. says:

    Your Christmas tree is absolutely beautiful – and fat! Wow 😉 Do your cats climb the whole tree? I find that I can put nicer ornaments near the top, because Katara is only interested in the ones hanging down at the bottom. Or like I said on Instagram – get a train!

    I love how you said that “Christmas threw up all over.” I’ve said that phrase for years and people look at me like I’m insane. At least I’m in good company now…

    • pamasaurus says:

      I really need to look into a train. They climb about halfway up, but it shakes the whole tree when they do! I had to redecorate the bottom half of the tree today, haha.

      I always say that about Christmas! There’s this house down the street that fits the whole ‘Christmas Vomit’ theme. It’s so crazy!

  9. arzea says:

    So festive! I love it!

  10. Juliet says:

    Your tree looks beautiful! :0)

Leave a Reply

