Happy Thanksgiving!!

Happy Thanksgiving, guys!  Hopefully you’ve had an amazing day with family and/or friends.  I’m currently fighting food coma and brain fog caused by too much food and tryptophan.  This might not make sense, but meh.  You’ll enjoy it anyway.  At least that’s what I’m going to tell myself.

I really haven’t posted since Monday?  Yikes!  It’s been a pretty busy week.  I’ve been doing a lot of Christmas shopping in hopes to get most of it done before the official holiday shopping season begins.  I do not do well in crowds.

I’ve also been doing a bunch of prep work for today.  Yesterday, I spent five hours baking and prepping.  Today went pretty smoothly.  I was surprised.  I thought for sure something would happen, and I’d have a meltdown.  I’ve never been more thankful for Cymbalta.  Pre-medication Pami definitely would’ve cried at one point!

I’ve never had a huge Thanksgiving at my house.  It’s always been just us and my mom.

This year, however, we also had some other guests: our good friends Megan, Dave, Charlie, and Mark.  It was awesome to spend the day with such amazing people.  It’s nice to know that people don’t have to be related by blood to be family.

It was one of the best Thanksgivings I’ve had in recent years.  We ate way too much food, laughed, and had a blast.  The weather was AMAZING; we were outside in tshirts.  Charlie taught us that gourds do, in fact, bounce.  We learned that cleanup goes really fast when you have five people helping.  We had just had a great day!

I was so afraid I was going to mess something up.  Last night, Trinity and I were watching something on Disney Channel, and there was a commercial for Good Luck Charlie.  The mom pulled a Cornish game hen out of the oven and said, “I shrunk the turkey!!”  I had nightmares about shrinking the turkey, burning the turkey, drying out the turkey (like in Christmas Vacation), and the animals eating the turkey (like in A Christmas Story).  Luckily non of these came true.  The turkey was perfect.

It didn’t start out so well, though.  I preheated the oven, and it started to smoke.  It was bad enough that my smoke alarms went off.  They’re hardwired, so if one goes off, they all go off.  That was fun.  Daniel found the source; there was some type of liquid caramelizing to the bottom of the oven.  The last thing I baked in there was my cheesecake.  I had no issues with it smoking or leaking.  We still don’t know what the liquid was, but at least we were able to clean it up enough to use the oven.

The rest of the day went smoothly.  I made pumpkin snickerdoodles, pumpkin molasses cookies, pumpkin spice thumbprints, white chocolate cranberry cheesecake, homemade whipped cream, turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing (I cheated: Stove Top.  It’s a long story, but it’s the only stuffing I like.), green bean bundles, baked corn, crescent rolls (again, I cheated.), and apple cider sangria.  My Mom brought some meat and cheese and made her dried beef cheese ball.  Megan brought homemade cranberry sauce, candied sweet potatoes, and pumpkin cake.  Everything was really, really delicious!

I also made some apple cider pancakes for breakfast.  I figured I’d go all out as long as I had to be in the kitchen anyway.  Those were delicious as well.  I’ll have recipes for some of this up on the recipe blog at some point!!!

 

My Thanksgiving Tree is getting really full!  I’ll make an update about it soon.  We’ve decided to extend the activity until the end of the month.  So, be looking for the update soon!  It’s going to be a busy weekend, so I’m not sure when I’ll get to post again.

My mom is here until Sunday.  Tomorrow we’re going to meet up with Megan and her family as well as our friend Elise and her family.  Elise is amazing with a camera and is going to do family pictures for me!  That also means we’re going to spend the day hanging out in the park with amazing people.

 

I still don’t have results from my ultrasound.  My friend Frank told me to keep thinking ‘no news is good news,’ but I can’t shake this horrible feeling.  I guess it’s good I don’t know yet.  As Megan pointed out, getting bad news before the holiday would have been a downer.  It definitely wouldn’t have been such an amazing day!  I’m thankful to have a lot to keep me busy lately.  It really has helped keep my mind off everything!

Thank you guys for being awesome!  Again, Happy Turkey Day!

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in cooking, daniel, friends, furbabies, holiday, photos, serious, thanksgiving, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!!

  1. Stove Top?!?!? Seriously? I’m sorry you don’t like southern cornbread dressing but trust me, I ate enough for both of us! No diet today. Very fancy Thanksgiving! Loved the pictures – family who are not related by blood are called Chosen Family – at least according to Top Girl She and her chosen family have christmas every year on new year’s eve. Can’t wait to see all the pictures!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve actually never had southern cornbread dressing. Growing up, I was forced into eating the stuffing my aunt makes. I didn’t enjoy it, but they made me eat it anyway! Now I have food issues with stuffing, haha. At least I cooked everything else! Maybe I’ll brave my own stuffing/dressing at some point!

      Thanks! Hopefully your Thanksgiving was amazing!

  2. yummy! Congratulation for what you prepared! Have a good day!

  3. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midset of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  4. mhdriver says:

    I see your fur babies came to dinner. It looks like you had a nice Thanksgiving. I like your photo spread. How did you do that, there is so much about the computer that I haven’t figured out yet. Like getting the awards posted to my side bar. I have had a couple of people try to explain how to do it. I guess No one was holding my hand or I’m just getting to darn old and I have CRS.

    • pamasaurus says:

      The furbabies always come to dinner! They’re not very well behaved, but I love them anyway, haha.

      Thanks!! When you upload photos, there’s a tab that says ‘gallery’. If you click that, there’s an option at the bottom to insert a gallery. That’s what it is.

      To get it to look like mine, though, you have to turn on mosaic galleries instead of tiled. To do that, go to your dashboard, click ‘settings’ then ‘media settings’. Just check the box next to where it says ‘enable cool mosaic galleries.’

      If that doesn’t make sense, I can find a tutorial with pictures to help. I had to look it up when I was trying to do it!

Leave a Reply

