Autumn Wreath

It’s almost Winter, and everyone seems to be decorating for Christmas already.  Not here.  We’re making sure to have festive decorations for our Thanksgiving meal on Thursday.  That’s right, Thanksgiving is at my house!  There will be 8 of us total, and I’m planning to make way too much food.  I’ll talk more about that tomorrow when I post my menu plan for the week.

I thought I’d go ahead and post another one of my Thanksgiving projects.  This is something that could work for the whole Autumn season.

Autumn Wreath

I’ve decided to make a wreath for my front door for every month/holiday/whatever.  The first one I ever made was the Halloween one, and the door just looked too empty when I took it down.

I knew I wanted to do something similar to this.  I almost had to come up with a different idea because it was so hard to find the fake leaves this late in the season!  Luckily, I found them tucked back in the Halloween clearance at Walmart.  I got quite a deal on them, too!!

Autumn WreathTo make this, I used a straw wreath form.  It was on sale.  Any type of wreath form would work!  I left the plastic on it so the pieces wouldn’t make a mess.

I wrapped it in orange tulle.  This was just to cover the back.  I didn’t feel like covering that side with leaves.  I also wanted a pretty background in case there were gaps in the leaves.

I burnt my hand pretty bad, twice, while gluing the leaves on this thing.  OUCH!  I had blisters.

Yeah, that’s right.  I’m not only a hazard to myself in the kitchen, but apparently the craft room as well!  I need to learn to be more careful!

I finished the wreath off by adding a ribbon for hanging and a big, orange bow.

Orange Bow

I’m really happy with the way it turned out.  It makes me sad when I think about taking it down for Christmas!  Although, I do have a bunch of ideas for a Christmas wreath that I’m pretty excited about.  Trinity wants peacock themed Christmas stuff.  That’s what you have to look forward to!  Peacocks have been a theme around here lately.  I saw them a few times on my running trail, then again by the side of the road on Halloween.  I saw a bunch a few years ago, too.  It’s weird.

That had nothing to do with anything, but I’m a championship rambler.

Have another picture!

Autumn Wreath

I’m excited to get my crafty pants on soon.  I have a lot of projects to make for Christmas!

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in christmas, crafty, holiday, photos, rambling, thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Autumn Wreath

  1. espirational says:

    That turned out nice. I like it.

  2. Pam,
    These are so cool. Will you save them to use again or will you recycle and do new ones each time?

    Yes, be more careful.

    Blessings,
    Kina

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I’m planning to keep them and reuse them each year. It depends how they hold up after spending a year in storage (ie my basement).

  3. Jennay says:

    Love this…I have yet to make one…but I saw one on Pinterest with ribbon that I really <3!! May have to do that one for Christmas…I'm a little late for Turkey Day!

  4. Great Job! Can’t wait to see what you have in mind for Christmas!!

  5. Juliet says:

    What a beautiful wreath! You did a great job. :0)

Leave a Reply

