Thanksgiving Tree Update

It’s easy to get caught up in the negative and not take time to appreciate all the good in life.

I know that’s been the case for me lately.  I’ve been trying to get a diagnosis for my page long list of symptoms.  I’ve been treated badly by doctor after doctor.  I’ve had numerous tests done.  It’s been overwhelming.

This week has been the worst.  First, the labs that were ordered by the Endocrinologist came back clear.  That means I’m wrong about what my problem is.  I have no doubt that it’s something hormonal, but my progesterone level was fine.  It looks like I have to rethink my self-diagnosis.  When I asked when I could get another appointment, the nurse stated that my insurance wouldn’t cover another visit in the same month, and the doctor didn’t feel a need to see my anyway.  She gave a bit of an explanation.  What she said, added with some things he stated during my exam, leads me to believe he thinks everything is in my head, just like most other doctors have.

Then, there was the Gynecologist appointment yesterday.  I don’t even know where to start with this, but he chose to look at each symptom individually to find treatments for them instead of looking at the larger picture.  After talking things through, he agreed to put me on progesterone only birth control to treat some of the symptoms.  Really, though, I believe it will treat them all.  Only time will tell.

He mentioned something about my uterus being large.  I have never had anyone mention anything about this in my life.  This lead him to believe it is a new development which is probably caused by fibroids (benign tumors), cysts, or cancer.  Great.  He said it’s probably not cancer, but there’s always a chance.  So, I had an ultrasound this morning.  They said the doctor should have the results in two days.  He’ll probably need a day to look over the ultrasounds himself.  So, hopefully, I should have results before Thanksgiving.

That’s what’s going on.  I’ve been worried and crying and overwhelmed.  My friends and family have been amazingly supportive, and it’s only reminded me how thankful I am to have them all.

This all brings us back to the point of this post: an update on my Thanksgiving Tree.

Thanksgiving Tree

It’s getting really full!  I don’t know how we’re going to fit 21 more leaves on there in the next week.  Well, at least 21.  I don’t know if I’ll get any other leaves in the mail.

It’s great to be able to see how full our lives out, how lucky we really are.  This is what I’m trying to focus on now.

So, since I first posted about the tree a week ago, here are my favorite additions:

Trinity:

Trinity Candy

  • I’m thankful for such funny pets.
  • I’m thankful for my new old bike.  (It was a hand-me-down.)
  • I’m thankful for mac and cheese.
  • I’m thankful for the internet.
  • I am thankful for candy.

Daniel:

Daniel Beer

  • I’m thankful for my family.
  • I’m thankful for everything I’ve been taught.
  • I’m thankful for caffeine.

Me: 

(I didn’t take a picture of one of mine.  I will for the final post.  Then you can all stop wondering what my handwriting looks like.)

  • I’m thankful for coffee.
  • I’m thankful for Trinity.  She’s the most awesome and caring child I know.
  • I’m thankful for health insurance.  Without it, I wouldn’t be able to continue my search for answers.
  • I’m thankful to live in an area with some many places to explore nearby!

I’ve had a few people ask me to write a leaf out for them (and you can totally get in on this by commenting below!!)

  • My Aunt Bonnie said she is thankful for family and friends.
  • My mom said (and I paraphrased because it was really long!) that she is thankful for two wonderful children, her son-in-law and daughter-in-law, a beautiful granddaughter, Wendy, John, Bryan, Rhonda, Hunter, Wyatt, Pyper, Brooke, Rylin, two sisters she can count on, Mary, and Gene.
  • Laura from Lazylauramaisey says she is thankful for her good health.

I’ve also received a couple of leaves in the mail!  (You can get in on this one, too, by using the form on my Contact Me page, and I may give you my address!)

MollieMy friend Mollie is thankful for friends like Pam (Awwww!!), coffee, the love of her family, her marriage, Eva’s health, two legs that power her runs, technology, and all the blessings she has had this year – great and small.

Her daughters also made some leaves, and they are thankful for family, God, Blessings, friends, and the Love of Christ.

I think they came up with some really good things to be thankful for!  I totally snagged the coffee idea from Mollie.  Coffee is amazing!

Linda and LivMy good friend Linda and her daughter Liv sent us leaves all the way from Sweden, although they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving.  I’m so thankful that they decided to help us with our project, and I’m trying to talk them into eating turkey and being thankful despite not having a set holiday for it.

Linda says she has so many things to be grateful for, but the most important ones are her lovely family, relatives, and friends, near and far.

Liv is thankful for her family, friends, and relatives.

 

Just remember:  No matter how bad things get, there is always something to be thankful for.  Choose to focus on that instead of the negative, and things won’t seem as bad!

So, thank you for being amazing and for taking the time to read my post!  I’m truly thankful for you guys.  In fact, that’s going to be my leaf for tomorrow:  “I’m thankful for all my readers and followers!  They rock!”

Signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in crafty, daniel, friends, holiday, illness, photos, serious, thanksgiving, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thanksgiving Tree Update

  1. Momlife To The Max says:

    I was going to send you a leaf but I wasn’t sure if you wanted real ones or not. All the real ones here are dead, cracking and dry. D:

    • pamasaurus says:

      I totally meant fake leaves! I probably should have specified: a paper leaf with something you’re thankful for on it! Or, something one of the babies is thankful for! They’re sure to come up with some cute ideas, haha.

  2. Angie says:

    What a great idea, that’s another one to add to my list for next year, I don’t think there is anything worse than waiting for results, your imagination runs wild, and drives you crazy wondering what could it be.. Hopefully they’ll figure out whats going on and soon! Your lucky to have such supportive friends and family. Hang in there and think positively.
    Angie

  3. Your tree is delightful . . . and love and prayers coming your way for everything else!

  4. Good luck with the results and the new medication etc. I hope things start getting better for you soon 🙂

  5. Don-t be afraid Pamasaurus, because is your Creator who loves you, and He will not permit any situation which you cannot carry!

  6. Juliet says:

    I’m so sorry you are having to go through all of this. I’m praying for you, that the test results will be good and that you will begin to receive answers about your symptoms.

  7. msdulce says:

    I love that line: no matter how bad things get, there is always something to be thankful for. So true, and such an important thing to remember. 🙂 Thank you. Although I do hope things get a lot ‘less bad’ for you very soon. All us readers are pulling for you!!

  8. Pingback: omnomalicious

  9. Pingback: Cauliflower Gratin | omnomalicious

  10. Jittery Cook says:

    I’m Canadian, so I’m thankful for our Medicare. I’ve been grateful for a lifetime of excellent medical care. I do have 2 grown daughters living in the US so I’m grateful that they haven’t needed much healthcare till now. I hope that you get to the bottom of what’s ailing you. Talking about your symptoms openly may help if others can share their knowledge. Feel better! Thinking of you!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! It’s so annoying to have to bounce from doctor to doctor because no one wants to listen. I’ve been thinking about publishing my symptoms to see if anyone has any idea. I’ll see what happens when I hear back from my GYN about the ultrasound :/

  11. Good luck! And I hope that whatever you find is something treatable or that it enables your healthcare providers to properly give you help for whatever it may be. It’s definitely frustrating not knowing and having to wait and wait. I’ve been having blood work done for the past few years to figure out some of my own problems. I hope you have peace knowing that hopefully there will be some answers soon 🙂

  12. Hopefully you get the results soon! Don’t give up! I’ve had “it’s all in your head” replies from drs for yrs (still do sometimes) before by my own research, I found out I was gluten intolerant (plus a few other things). You know your body the best, if something feels off, it prob is. I do suggest though, if all tests come back clear, to see a naturopathic dr (I know a good one in NYC) 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! No results yet, but the holiday probably held things up! I’m totally thinking about seeing a naturopathic doctor. I’m not very close to NYC, but I’m sure I can find some here. I’m in South Jersey, no too far from Philly.

  13. Pingback: Thanksgiving Tree Update #2 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

