Yarn Ball Turkeys

I had already started my Thanksgiving Tree when I saw this adorable Thanksgiving Turkey idea on Pinterest.  I was planning on making it next year instead of another tree, but I just couldn’t get the idea out of my head.  I thought about it for a while and decided just to make the turkeys with regular feathers.  I needed Thanksgiving decorations, and Trinity has been itching to do a craft with me for a while now.

Yarn Turkeys with Pumpkin

They’re pretty adorable!

To make these I used:

  • Light Brown Yarn
  • Dark Brown Yarn
  • Construction Paper or Foam (Yellow and Red)
  • Googly Eyes
  • Feathers
  • Toilet Paper Tube
  • Orange Ribbon
  • Fiber Fill (Optional)

Yarn Ball TurkeyI started by making the large and small yarn balls.  The small, light brown one is probably about 1.5 to 2 inches in diameter.  The large, dark brown one is about 5 to 6 inches in diameter.  It doesn’t have to be exact.  You can make them whatever size you prefer.

For the larger ball, I started with some Fiber Fill.  I made one ball out of just yarn, and I wouldn’t have had enough for a second.  I had enough to make three when I stuffed them with Fiber Fill.

Next, I cut out the beak and wattle.  The wattle is just a wavy red strip; make sure you leave a little notch to fold over for gluing.  The beak is a diamond folded in half.  I creased the paper, and cut a triangle.

For the ‘feet’ I cut a 1 inch piece of toilet paper tube and glued some orange ribbon around it.

I used hot glue to put everything together, but you could easily use Tacky Glue or something else.  It’ll just take longer to dry, and you may have to hold parts together while the glue sets a bit.

I started by gluing the two yarn balls together, making sure to keep the ends in the area being glued so they do not unravel.

Put a ring of glue around the ‘feet’ and lightly push the turkey down.  The project I used as my inspiration did not have feet, but I thought they would keep it from rolling around.

Next, I glued the face and wattle on.  Just a little glue on the back of the eyes, the fold of the beak, and the flap of the wattle.  It was simple enough.

I saved the feathers for last.  I just put a tiny bit of glue on the very tip and pushed them into the ‘butt’ of the turkey.  I kept adding feathers until I felt the tail was full enough.  I used 16 feathers on one and 18 on another.  The third one was given to Megan.  So, I cannot count the feathers.  It’s probably in the same ballpark, though.

Yarn Ball TurkeyIt was a quick, easy, and fun craft!  We made three in all, but Trinity wants to get more dark brown yarn so we can have a whole rafter of turkeys!

Yarn TurkeysAren’t they adorable, guys???

 

Just…. be careful if you have cats.  Mine seem to think these are homemade cat toys.  Silly babies.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in crafty, holiday, photos, thanksgiving, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Yarn Ball Turkeys

  1. Jecca says:

    These are adorable!

  2. mhdriver says:

    You know what is interesting, when reading this post, it’s reading like a recipe. Except it dosen’t tell me what temperture to set the oven. Just kidding. It has been a long time since I was around little one’s that would make crafts. Should I say had craft projects. My Ex would decorate the house for every holiday there was. I like that.

  3. They look like such happy turkeys!! Love ’em!

  4. Allyson says:

    These are so cute! I am definitely going to do this craft with the twins I nanny! Also, hop over to Facebook and like my new Domestic Superhero page!! I would totally appreciate it! http://www.facebook.com/DomesticSuperhero

    • pamasaurus says:

      Added you! I’m Pam Smith, in case you were wondering. Generic as it gets, haha!

      Thanks! They’re so easy; I’m sure they’d love to do it!

  5. Jennay says:

    Love your turkeys!! Adorable!! =)

  6. Juliet says:

    Oh my, those are adorable! I just may have to make those with my little guy. :0)

  7. Those turned out so cute! I almost wish we celebrated Thanksgiving here so I would have a reason to make them myself. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      thanks!!!

      Just celebrate thanksgiving anyway! You don’t need a special holiday to be thankful or to have cute yarn ball turkeys!

Leave a Reply

