Thanksgiving Tree

I’m always annoyed when the stores skip Thanksgiving and go right to Christmas.  Truth is, though, that I’m guilty of the same thing.  Once Halloween is over, I start to feel the pressure to get things done.  I start planning for Christmas and working on Christmas projects.  I skip Thanksgiving.

I do not have any Thanksgiving decorations.  I plan a menu and forget about the holiday until I need to grocery shop and start prepping.

Needless to say, I’m annoyed with myself.  I decided I needed to slow down and really appreciate Thanksgiving.  The holiday has an amazing message, and I wanted to teach Trinity how to be grateful for everything she has.

Trinity and I spent the other evening watching movies and making a Thanksgiving Tree.  It’s nothing too fancy, but I’m pretty excited about it.  I totally stole the idea from Juliet.  She’s pretty awesome; go check out her blog.

Thanksgiving Tree

This photo was taken on the 4th. It’s a lot fuller now.

We just made a bare tree out of construction paper, taped it to a poster board, and decorated it.  I spent a half hour cutting out leaves while Trinity spent the same half hour coloring that sun.  She’s not the best at time management.

Every day leading up until Thanksgiving we’re going to write something we are thankful for on a leaf and tape it to the tree.  Hopefully this will show her that we do have a lot to be thankful for.  It’s also going to be good to take a moment everyday to reflect on what we have.  I’m pretty excited, and she seems to be too!  Daniel’s being a buzzkill, but he usually is.

I should have thought this out better, though.  Between the three of us, we’re going to have 66 leaves to put on this tree.  I don’t know if there will be room.  I guess it’s a learning experience.  I can improve on it next year!

I thought I would share a few of our leaves with you lovely people.

Trinity:

  • I’m thankful to have electricity after the hurricane.
  • I’m thankful for medicine, even if it tastes horrible.
  • I’m thankful to have such funny pets.
  • I’m thankful we have food when so many people don’t.

Daniel:

  • I’m thankful for our Hoome (What we call our house).
  • I’m thankful for my wife’s cooking.
  • I’m thankful for the right to vote.
  • I’m thankful for beer.

Me:

  • I’m thankful for Daniel.  He works hard so we can live comfortably.
  • I’m thankful I found a doctor who is willing to figure out what is wrong with me.
  • I’m thankful for my awesome friends.  Without them, I’d be lost.
  • I’m thankful we did not get a bunch of snow like they did in North Jersey.

 

Trinity also stated that she wanted friends and family to send us leaves.  If you would like to participate in our project, drop me a line so I can let you know where to send leaves.  You could also just tell me what you would write on a leaf, and I’ll make one for you.  We just REALLY like getting mail.

I have a few other projects in the works for Thanksgiving.  I’ll make sure I post about them as I finish them.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in crafty, daniel, friends, furbabies, holiday, hoome, list making, photos, thanksgiving, trinity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thanksgiving Tree

  1. Oo! I wanna do one! Can I do, “I’m thankful for good health.” I had a huge emergency op last yr which was really scary so now I never take my body and my health for granted. It’s so important to be well.

  2. This is a lovely idea – all the kids will be in for Thanksgiving and even though they are all adults, I like the idea of doing this and then framing a moment in time for our family. I will be doing it! Also, it’s a great tradition to start with Rocket. He can watch this year and then next, he can choose one thing he’s thankful for – we’ll date it and when he’s past the age of embarrassement (teenage years) he will be glad to have a record of his life that way. Thanks Pami!

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! If you do one, make sure to post about it 😀

      I saw a cute yarn turkey on Pinterest, and you make paper feathers to write your thanks on. I wish I would have seen that one first, but there’s always next year!

  3. So beautiful! So true! I’m guilty too…I like to make Christmas gifts whenever I can manage something that isn’t too awful lame, so we hit “Elfcon 1” pretty early here. Especially since most of our family lives in other states and other time zones…so we have to finish Christmas early to mail stuff in time. But more to the point…we have some really cool big brown magnolia tree leaves the wind graciously shared around the neighborhood. Interested?

    • pamasaurus says:

      My list of projects for Christmas presents is a little overwhelming. I need to start doing a few here and there so I’m not rushing last minute.

      • Same here. I try to chip away a little every day…usually morning before everyone else is up while I have coffee, or evenings after homework when they are unwinding with a little TV or computer games. Nice thing about knitting and cross stitch…they multi-task easily w/ TV or a movie

  4. You know…not the real ones, but Nicole is into rubbings of interesting leaves…another fun fall project…

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve actually never done leaf rubbings. I’ll have to try it at some point!

      I’d love to have a leaf if you’re willing to send 😀 I’ll send my addy to the gmail attached to your account!

  5. Juliet says:

    Oh, your tree and your family’s expressions of thanks are beautiful!! I’m so tickled that you and your family are doing this. And I love your daughter’s idea of asking family and friends to contribute leaves. I definitely want to add that to the tradition next year. :0)

  6. Dianty says:

    I love this! I just may still it, if only I had poster board…..I may have think over something else to put it on.

  7. dh3rnand3z says:

    I’m copying you copying Juliet. Such a rad idea! 😀

  8. Thanksgiving sounds like such a wonderful holiday. We don’t celebrate it in Australia, or anything like it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      You should just celebrate it anyway. Just pick a day (It’s the 22nd here. It’s always the 4th Thursday in November), invite your friends/family over for a yummy dinner, and make sure you tell everyone how thankful you are for them.

      It’s an excellent excuse to chow down on turkey, haha.

  9. Pingback: Yarn Ball Turkeys | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Thanksgiving Tree Update | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving!! | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Thanksgiving Tree Update #2 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

