Autumn Pasquale Update

I posted twice yesterday in hopes of getting to a more… upbeat?… topic today.  It looks like that’s not going to happen at the moment.  Maybe later I’ll post some photos of fall or something to take my mind off of everything.

I just felt like I needed to post about this, after I had some time to calm down.  My anger was out of control last night, and anything I would have typed would’ve been full of horrible language and other not so nice things.

They arrested two boys yesterday for the murder of Autumn Pasquale, 15 and 17 year old brothers.  They lived in the house next to where her body was found, and her bike was found in their home.

Why would they choose to end an innocent life?  They apparently wanted her bike so they could sell the parts.  What a stupid, stupid reason to end a precious life.  What a stupid reason to risk life in prison as well.  I just can’t fathom what went through their minds when they planned this out.  How does one decide that a beautiful, young, bright life is worth a few hundred bucks?  What lead them to believe that this was something they had to do?  It’s just so disgusting.

The police were alerted by their own mother.  She saw the bike and a few questionable facebook posts by the boys and called to report it.  Could you imagine being that mother?  She made the right decision, but it couldn’t have been easy.

The county prosecutor has stated that he’ll probably ask to move the case to adult court, which I agree should be done.  Both brothers are charged with first-degree murder, conspiracy to commit murder, disposing of a body, tampering with evidence and theft.  The younger brother also has an added charge: luring.

Just.. I don’t even know what else to say about this.  It’s just so gross and disgusting.

 

As parents, we teach our kids about strangers and the dangers associated with them. We never stop to talk about the dangers associated with classmates and neighbors. That’s the lesson we need to learn from this tragedy.

Take a moment and discuss this with your children.  Let them know it’s not ok to go someplace without informing you.  Autumn thought she was just making a quick, harmless pit stop to look at bike parts.  Educate your children so a tragedy like this does not happen again.

 

They do have a memorial fund for Autumn Pasquale set up through Fulton Bank.  There’s a branch here in Clayton, but you can make a donation through any branch.

 

Never miss an opportunity to tell someone that you love them.  Life is too short sometimes.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in serious and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Autumn Pasquale Update

  1. owlyouneedislove says:

    I can’t even imagine being that mother, but I’m glad she made the decision to call the police.

    Stealing Autumn’s bike would’ve been a much lesser charge and nobody would be losing anyone, but instead they had to take a huge step in the wrong direction and end her life over a fucking bike. I hope they move the case to adult court and hope justice is served.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I can’t imagine being that mother, either! The whole thing is just so unreal.

      I agree. I’m sure her family would’ve given them the bike if they knew this was going to happen, ya know? I’d hand over basically any possession to save Trinity’s life. Her parents probably felt the same. It’s so gross, and now they have to live with the fact that their daughter died for such a gross reason. I just can’t even fathom it. So, so sad.

      I’m also hoping it’s moved to adult court. It’s an adult crime, and needs to be tried as such.

  2. Jennifer M. says:

    The tragedy here is that 2 families have been irrevocably changed by one horrific decision. I don’t know why those boys chose to kill Autumn. Part of me wonders if they really understood the consequences of what they were doing. What were they exposed to in their young lives that made killing an acceptable option? We may never know.

    Autumn is gone, and I grieve with her family and her community. Her death was senseless and is so hard to understand.

    But I also pray for the family of those two boys. They face a lifetime of asking,”What if…?” and wondering if they could have prevented this tragic act.

    Grief occurs in many forms. And it will take a long time for our South Jersey communities to heal from this…

    • pamasaurus says:

      You hit the nail on the head. These poor families. It’s such a sad, sad situation.

      I just keep thinking about their mother, and I cannot get her out of my head. There are rumors going around that she only turned them in to get the reward, but I’m going to ignore that. I’m going to assume she was a ‘normal’ mother.

      I just keep trying to put myself in her shoes. I keep trying to figure out what I would’ve done. I want to say that I would have turned my sons in, too, but I honestly don’t know what I would’ve done. It’s just too difficult for me to comprehend.

      I’m glad she made the decision she did, but I also understand how difficult it must have been for her…. and how hard it is for her now… wondering what she did wrong, what she could’ve done differently.

      I don’t know how to adequately describe the feelings I have about this. It’s just heartbreaking from all angles.

      Autumn was Trinity’s (my daughter) classmate, and Trinity knew the younger suspect. I’ve been so focused on her that I haven’t been dealing with my own emotions. I’m just a big, jumbled mess.

  3. Pam,
    I understand and agree with what you’ve written here.

    The one thing I think that differs, and that may put me on the wrong side of this issue with many people is the concept of trying the boys as adults.

    Scientific research in frontal lobe brain development has shown undeniably that the logic and reasoning centers in brains are just beginning to develop in early adolescence and aren’t fully formed until the early to mid-20’s.

    It is absolutely horrific, tragic, and beyond wrong what these boys did and the overt reasons they had for doing it. However, trying them as adults who have the fully developed logic and reasoning centers would be wrong.

    Trying them as adults, in my personal opinion, would not be an act of justice, it’s more an act of retaliation and vengeance that would gain the public officials making the decision popularity points in the media as they whip up the emotional frenzy of the general public.

    If the boys get tried and convicted as juveniles, they do get a chance that they robbed little Autumn of, to grow and mature. However, their brains will develop to where they may grow to understand the magnitude of the harm they caused and get the treatment and education which may bring them to a point where they can be redeemed and use their future lives in remorse and restitution.

    My heart goes out to both families and their community.

    Kina

    • pamasaurus says:

      I maybe agree with you for the 15 year old.

      New Jersey law is VERY lenient for minors. If they are tried as minors, it’ll be considered a delinquent act and be tried in civil court.

      They might get a time in Juvie, but will be released at 18, and that’s it. So, the 15 year old will have time for rehabilitation, maybe. The 17 year old will be released with no further commitment other than fines and community service hours he didn’t pay/complete before his birthday.

      Maybe I’m biased because Autumn was a classmate of my daughter, but I don’t know. I’m trying to be unbiased, but it just doesn’t seem like less than a year is enough to fix him.

      These boys planned this out, lured her, beat her, strangled her, bragged about it to their friends, tried to sell her belongings, threw her away in a trashcan, attended her candlelight vigil, helped in the search for her, ‘liked’ the facebook page setup for the search, and have yet to show any remorse for what they did, nor have they admitted that it was wrong in any way. They would still be out there acting like nothing was wrong if their mother hadn’t turned them in.

      The older one is a repeat offender. I don’t know what other ‘delinquent acts’ he’s committed. I only know he does have a prior/priors because he attends the local high school for minors convicted of crimes, no public school.

      Again, I could totally be biased, but obviously rehabilitation through the civil court wasn’t working for him. I totally understand exactly what you’re saying, but less than a year and a civil conviction just doesn’t seem like enough.

      New Jersey law is lenient anyway. If they’re tried as adults, they’d probably get a few years in prison before getting out on parole. We have no death penalty, and it takes a lot for someone to get life without parole.

      • Pam,
        Thank you so much for your response and the clarification. Having something like this happen so close to home and to your own child is naturally a scary and heart-rending experience.

        The fact that you have worked through some of the intensity of your emotions and written both your post and your response to me with such clarity of thought indicates you are making the effort to be rational and unbiased.

        Be well,
        Kina

      • pamasaurus says:

        That’s why I waited a day to write this. If I would’ve posted it yesterday right after the arrests, this post would’ve been filled with death threats and swearing.

        Give me a few days, and I’ll be really clear headed about it and better able to see your point of view 😉

      • Actually, you have moved me toward your way of thinking with the clarification and explanation you offered. Thank you for educating me in such a clear and respectful manner.

      • pamasaurus says:

        You’re welcome.

        It’s always nice to have a civilized conversation like that instead of an argument. If only the whole world felt that way.

  4. Pingback: Keeping It Real: The Reality Blog Award | Human In Recovery

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #25 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

