This Is As Political As I’m Going To Get

I’m not always successful, but I try to stay out of political discussions.  I try not to post things about politics on Facebook, Twitter, or here.  I’m pretty non-confrontation, but sometimes I slip.  Sometimes something pisses me off, and I post about it.

This is kind of one of those times.  I’m pissed off about a bunch of things, but I’m going to try to keep this as neutral as I can.

What has my panties in a bunch?  People who say they’re voting for one person or another just because of the color of their skin, their political party, how much they like his wife, how good looking he is, or any other reason that has nothing to do with politics.

I’m also sick of hearing people say they’re voting one way or another because they believe a lie the other party has perpetrated.

The phrase “I’m picking the lesser of two evils” also has my heart rate elevated.  I’m surprised by how many people don’t realize there are more than two candidates.

All of this has caused me to try to spread the word about being educated voters.  The more educated you are, the more capable you are of voting for the candidate that is right for you.  Just because you’re registered Republican does not mean you agree with Romney, and just because you’re registered Democrat does not mean you agree with Obama.

So, take a minute and get to know the candidates, all of them.

Question everything because both sides have been stretching the truth and lying.

Do your research.  The internet is your friend, but make sure you know your sources.  Not all websites are unbiased.  In fact, most will spin the news to favor one candidate or another.  You need to fact check anything that seems questionable.

I know all this seems daunting   Where do you start?  Here’s a few websites I hope will help .  Feel free to comment with any site you feel should be added to the list.

  • I Side With:  This site has a questionnaire that will help match you up with the candidate that shares your views.  You can then look through each candidate and see where they stand on what issue.
  • Snopes:  This site isn’t just for election time.  They research different rumors on the internets and decide if they’re true or not.  It’s a great site to use for fact checking.
  • Fact Check and PolitiFact:  These are two of the biggest fact checking organizations.  They go through the debates, advertisements, everything with a fine tooth comb and report what is true and what is not.
  • Vote Smart:  This site also has a really awesome candidate match tool.  Pick the issue you’re curious about, select your view, and it’ll tell you which candidates you match with.  It covers all six presidential candidates.  It also has information on gubernatorial, congressional, state legislative, and judicial elections.
  • On The Issues:  Again, this website has a candidate match quiz.  It also has a huge database of candidates and where they stand on every issue.

So take some time, get to know the candidates, and then make an educated decision on who would be the best president for you.  You might be surprised by your conclusion.

Also, spread the word.  The more educated our voter pool is, the better our president will be.  So, tell your family, friends, co-workers, everyone to check out at least one of these voter match tools.

Wouldn’t you rather we elect a president based on the issues and not on how good looking he/she is?

Education is power, and an educated voter is a powerful voter.

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in politics, serious and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to This Is As Political As I’m Going To Get

  1. This is the ONLY kind of political discussion that should be done, especially on the Internet! I’ve watched 2 people I’ve known my entire life try to anhiliate each other on FB during elections. There’s no reason. People don’t change their minds unless a crisis happens or they have an epiphany. It’s just how it is. I was alive the year political debates were televised. Before that, elections were won on the issues. That year the dashing and debonair JFK and his fashionable wife swept onto the TV set and the rather angry looking Richards and somewhat homely Pat Nixon came on. JFK (who was a great president BTW) was comfortable in front of the camera, Richard was not. Nixon had a brilliant foreign policy mind and JFK didn’t. JFK won and lived in “Camelot”. Nixon won later and he got caught doing something bad – but he didn’t have affairs!! What I”m trying to say is that that was the year Americans started voting for what someone looked like. This is a great post!!! I hope I can share it on FB!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I see people going back and forth on my facebook, too, and through this I’ve learned that nothing ever gets accomplished except ruined friendships.

      I don’t care who anyone votes for as long as they have a valid reason for voting for that person. I understand that everyone has different beliefs; that’s what our country was founded on.

      I just can’t stand around and do nothing when so many are picking their president based on looks or skin color or something they lied about.

      I feel like I didn’t need to explain that; you already understood. Oops. Feel free to share 😉

  2. mhdriver says:

    Hi Pam, You did a good job of not getting into politics on the internet. We went to a subway shop, the waiters/waiteresses where wearing buttons saying “VOTE FOR JIMMY” The sub shop was Jimmy Johns. I got two of those buttons and mailed them to a friend in Kentucky, You guessed it his name is Jimmy. He got a big kick out of them and said he is going to wear it on election day when he goes to the polls, along with my other friend Todd is also going to wear one. That is about as political as I will get on the internet. Jim

    • pamasaurus says:

      That’s too funny!

      Being overly political on the internet is inviting horrible arguments and rude comments. I may be young, but I’m smart enough to realize this. I don’t care who anyone votes for as long as they’re educated and have a valid reason for picking that person.

  3. Dabbit says:

    You are so right, I dislike any MP’s at most times, and never know who would be the lesser of the two evil. I just wish we had site that helped you pick who you are most like to vote over here (or maybe we do but I haven’t heard about them)

  4. owlyouneedislove says:

    This. This. This.

    I told Will how I was confused about voting this year. I certainly do not side with Romney or Obama, so where does that leave me? I took that “quiz” on I Side With and sided most with Gary Johnson (I believe that’s his name), but how big of an impact is my vote for Gary Johnson going to be? SO many people are concentrated on Romney and Obama that poor Gary Johnson, and any other candidate for that matter, doesn’t even have a chance!

    • owlyouneedislove says:

      And Will even told me, “It sucks that people have to vote for the lesser of two evils”. Heh.

      • pamasaurus says:

        I know it seems that way, like the vote is wasted. During a discussion today, though, someone said ‘The only wasted vote is a vote for someone you don’t like,’ and that really has stuck with me.

        Besides, you’re the fourth person to say the same thing about wasting a vote today. I know it might not make a difference this election, but if we spread the word, and vocalize that we have voted for/are going to vote for one of the other candidates, enough people will learn that they are real options. I really think that the time is up for our two party system, ya know? I don’t want to be like ‘ERMAHGERD, vote for Gary!’ You can vote for whomever you want, but spread the word and we might have more choices next election.

        I heard there’s a debate tonight with all the other candidates. I’ll have to double check that and get back to you if you’re interested.

        (For the record, I’m voting for Gary or Jill. I haven’t decided yet)

      • owlyouneedislove says:

        No, no. I agree. I’ll most likely be voting for either one of those candidates, as well. Let me know about the debate, because I’d love to see what they have to say!

      • pamasaurus says:

        I was wrong. There was a debate last night with the third party candidates, and there will be another one on the 30th. I’m definitely going to check it out because I’m interested in what they have to say.

        A friend mentioned that she watched the one last night and said it was really refreshing to listen to them compared to obama/romney because they’re more real and honest about the issues.

  5. Pingback: What she said! A post from my awesome friend, Pam. | Momlife To The Max

  6. mhdriver says:

    Pam, We only have one more day of all this Political jargon on TV or junk mail.

  7. Pingback: 100th Post – Vote, No Excuses | Pa-BLAM!

  8. sued51 says:

    I like that you posted sites to help people get information…great handling of a tough subject.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! I didn’t want to try to sway anyone, just point them in the right direction for making the best choice for them.

Leave a Reply

