Pumpkin Patch

I’m getting ready to head out with Trinity in a few minutes.  We’re hoping to get some pictures of the fall foliage.  The leaves have finally began to change colors here.  It seems so late this year!

I thought I’d pop in real quick to let everyone know that I’m still alive.  I dropped off the face of the interwebs for a few days while I was adjusting to my meds.  I’m feeling much better now, but the yawning thing is still happening.  It’s happening much less, which is a good sign.  Hopefully it goes away completely soon!

I also dropped off the running map last week.  I blame the nausea and yawning caused by the medication, but it might also be because I had zero motivation for anything.  I did manage to get out one day.  I’ll just pretend last week never happened and start week 3 over this week.

I had a really awesome day yesterday.  The three of us met Megan, Dave, and Charlie for lunch at Applebee’s in Deptford.  It was pretty yummy, as always.  After that, we came to my house to just hang out for a while.  Charlie and Spike are best friends and spent some time chasing each other through the yard.

Daniel had to go to bed.  Third shift sucks sometimes.  So, the rest of us headed over to McCann’s Farm, which is five minutes from my house, to get some pumpkins.  We couldn’t have asked for a better October day.  It was sunny, warm, and beautiful.

The farm itself was awesome.  We were nervous about crowds considering it was a Saturday and really close to Halloween.  The farm I usually go to is CRAZY on weekends; Megan said the same about their usual farm.  So, we were pleasantly surprised when there were only a few people there.

We paid $7.50 a person for a hayride, corn maze, and a pumpkin picked from the patch.  Not too bad, huh?

The corn maze was intense.  We kept getting lost, and it took us a while to find our way through.  We did manage to reach the end not too long after the group that went in way before us.  So, at least we weren’t the slowest people!  I was definitely impressed, but I wish they had a refreshment stand half way through.  We were all so thirsty!

The pumpkins in the patch were all so beautiful.  It was really hard to pick one.  Trinity got a traditional orange one.  I opted for one that was marbled with a bit of green.

They also had a pretty nice petting zoo and a farmer’s market.  The gourds and pumpkins they had for sale were very reasonably priced.

We’re definitely going to be replacing our regular farm with McCann’s in the years to come.  We had an amazing day there!

Anyway… after the patch, we came back to my house for some dinner.  I made white chicken chili and cheddar corn bread, which were both amazing.

I needed a day like yesterday, a day with friends.  It definitely helped me center myself and pull myself out of the depressive funk I was falling into.

I guess I should wrap this up.  Trinity is ready to get going!  This is just the start of a very busy week.  I’ll update more about that tomorrow.  Busy isn’t a bad thing, though.

What did you do this weekend?

Signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, cooking, daniel, friends, halloween, holiday, hoome, photos, random new jersey, running, trinity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pumpkin Patch

  1. espirational says:

    Sounds like a lovely day.

  2. So beautiful! Looks like home to me – the home I grew up at anyway.

  3. Jennifer M. says:

    Here’s a tip for the corn maze… Cheat! (I always do.)

    Sounds like a great, much-deserved day. Glad you could get out and enjoy it 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, I should’ve… but we were set on figuring it out! Duffield’s posted a picture of their corn maze, and it’s insane! I’m glad I didn’t get lost in that one 😉

      Thanks! It was an awesome day 😉

  4. Pingback: Autumn Checklist | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

