I Have No Fingerprint!

I was prepping dinner tonight, slicing potatoes with my mandolin slicer, when I sliced my finger.  It didn’t hurt.  I just felt pressure on my finger and knew something bad had happened.

Bad, indeed.  I basically skinned my finger.  I have no finger print on my right index finger. The piece that was sliced off was the size (both surface area and thickness) of a dime.  I bled for an hour, and my kitchen looked like a scene from a horror movie.

Luckily, my husband is certified in first aid through work, so he knew how to help me.  He was seriously thisclose to running to the store for clotting agent when the bleeding stopped.

I’ve been put on light duty.  I’m not allowed to wash dishes, shower, or do anything that will get the fingertip wet.  He’s afraid it’ll wash away the clots, and I’ll start epically bleeding again.  I’m also not allowed to run or do gym stuffs this evening.  Apparently getting my heart rate too high will cause more bleeding as well.  Bah.

Trinity has a sleep over.  Daniel has work.  I’ll be all alone, not allowed to do anything fun.  So, I’m laying on the couch watching a Star Wars marathon on Spike.  I’ll probably read later.

Enough of that, though.  I have made Labor Day plans with Megan and her family.  We’re hopefully going hiking, but, if it rains, it’ll be an indoor picnic and movie date at her apartment.

Also, my kitteh is weird.  Small Fry is OBSESSED with Daniel’s socks (and my kitchen towels).  She does this all the time.

Isn’t she adorable??

And, because it’s the 1st of September, and I organize my Facebook albums by month, I cleaned off my camera.  That means you get some photos of my awesome sunflowers.  They’re my favorite.  My mammoth ones didn’t grow well due to the uber hot summer and my lack of gardening skillz.  The painted ones are thriving, though.

Sunflower

I really like the yellow ring around this one.

Sunflower

Sunflower

Sunflower

Sunflower

Sunflower

And, with that pic!spam, I’ll shut up. At least my finger feels well enough to type now.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in complaining, furbabies, injury, photos, rambling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I Have No Fingerprint!

  1. Those sunflower pictures are just beautiful, especially the first one!

  2. TheLittleGSP says:

    Eek!! Sorry to hear about your finger. I’m impressed that you could type out that whole blog entry… it must hurt!

    Also, your sunflowers are gorgeous. I think my favorite is the fourth one down.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It took me a while to type, because I was trying not to use that finger. However, I have enough bandaids and gauze on it that I can barely feel it hitting the keys!

      Thank you! I adore sunflowers!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Also, the fourth one down is my favorite, too 😉

  3. Jennifer M. says:

    My mom did that to her finger when I was a kid – prepping for stir-fry. I remember there being a lot of blood and my mom almost passed out! It sounds like you are taking it all in stride, but just the same, I hope you feel better. Don’t rob any banks now 😉

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #12 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Dabbit says:

    Hope your finger gets better soon Pam!

  6. msdulce says:

    Oh no! Damn that deadly mandolin! I hope your bloody nub heals up quickly. :{

  7. Lauren says:

    Oh man, fingers bleed like crazy! I sliced my thumb on a glass from IKEA that exploded when I was washing it, and it bled for hours! I thought I had some sort of clotting problem. Turns out fingers are just really dumb. I hope it feels better soon!

  8. hautemealz says:

    Ouchie! I “shaved” the nail off my middle finger last month, slicing onions. I can’t even think about it without getting cold chills…

    -Perry

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yikes! That sounds AWFUL! Hopefully it’s healing up fast!

      One time, I cut right through the middle of my pinky nail with a bread knife. That was pretty horrible.

      I guess working in the kitchen has it’s challenges 😉

  9. hautemealz says:

    Okay…I can’t be part of this conversation anymore…lol…

  10. Pingback: Autumn Wreath | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

