What time is it?

ADVENTURE TIME!  No, really, I guess it’s just time to talk about my adventures and share a few photos before I add more to the list!

I’m meeting AA later.  Not for anything special.  We’re just hanging out.  So, I figured I’d kill a few minutes by making this post.

I’ve also got to figure out SEPTA.  We’re going to the city tomorrow night for a show, and I want to take the train.  I haaaaaate driving in the city!  It might be easier than figuring out how public transportation works, though.  I don’t live close enough to have regular encounters with it.  Such is life.

ANYWAY, back to the whole point of this entry.

Saturday afternoon, Daniel and I headed down to Cape May Point to climb the lighthouse and explore the walking trails at the state park.  It was actually pretty anti-climatic, but at least I get to cross it off my list.

Lighthouse Stairs

According to my Fitbit, walking to the top was equal to climbing 13 flights of stairs.  I was proud of myself for not being too winded at the end.

Here’s the view from the top!

View From Top

…and the abandoned WWII bunker…

WWII Bunker

Walking back down was a lot easier than going up.  I especially like this photo, enough to make it my cover photo on Facebook.

Stairs

The trails were a little confusing and disappointing, too.  I was hoping for a nice, long trail, but the longest was only 2 miles.  Some of the paths were closed, too, making it into one giant, confusing mess.

I did see a muskrat, though.  I had never seen one before, so YAY for that.  I’ll admit that I thought it was a beaver at first.  Daniel corrected me, but only after I yelled, ‘BEAVER,’ and everyone looked at me weird.

Muskrat

Another redeeming quality is this view…

Lighthouse

We had some dinner at The Court House Diner in Cape May Courthouse. It was delicious as always.

After we were done, we headed to the Cape May National Wildlife Refuge.  We were meeting up with some friend we hadn’t seen for a long time to watch the sunset over the bay.

If you clicked the link for my summer to-do list, you’ll notice I’m crossing a bunch of stuff off of it lately!  Haha.

Dusk is my favorite time of day, and I love watching the sun set…

….especially over the water!

Delaware BaySunset Over Bay

It was really cloudy at the horizon, so it wasn’t too spectacular.  It was still beautiful, though!

Yesterday (Sunday!) we went across the bridge to meet up with Megan and Dave (and Charlie!!) to take the train to the city.  I’ve lived in this area for 5 years now, and I have never explored Old City Philadelphia.  So, yeah, I spent yesterday being a tourist.

It was CRAZY HOT (as it’s supposed to be for the rest of the month) so we were all gross by the end of the day, but we had a great time!

We hit up all the normal spots (without actually going into them), such as Independence Hall, City Tavern, Liberty Bell Museum, The Betsy Ross House, Ben Franklin’s Grave, etc. It was a good day.

Statue

This photo cracks me up. Who knew George Washington had a pet Furby?

Independence Hall

Independence Hall

Drummer

Old City Philadelphia: The only place where it’s normal to see a man drumming while wearing pantaloons.

Benjamin Franklin’s Burial Place

Benjamin Franklin’s Burial Place

We had dinner at The Sang Kee Duck House in Chinatown.  It was amazing, guys.  Seriously, you should eat there if you ever find yourself in Philadelphia’s Chinatown.

Welcome to Chinatown!

Welcome to Chinatown!

So, yes, fun adventures happened this weekend, and some fun things are in the future as well.

I just wish it would stop being over 90F outside.  I do not enjoy this weather.  I was watching the news, and they said that we’ve had 13 days with highs above 90F so far this month.  They also predicted we’ll have at least 10 more.  DO NOT WANT.

I guess I’ll stop rambling now.  Time to clean up and get ready!

Oh!  One last thing!  I won second place in a photo challenge over at Coffee Powered Mom. Go check out her blog because she is pretty awesome!

Photo Challenge

My 2nd Place Photo!

What fun things did you do this weekend?

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, award, beach, philadelphia, photos, the bay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What time is it?

  1. msdulce says:

    Such wonderful photos of all your adventures! Love the picture of the boardwalk leading out to the lighthouse.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you! They’re nothing compared to yours, but I’m learning. I’m still a newby at this photography thing 😉

  2. TheLittleGSP says:

    Ahh! You ate at Sang Kee! Sang Kee is THE BEST!!!!! Last year they opened up a noodle house (their 4th restaurant, I think) less than a mile from where we work and I was thrilled! We usually go there on Fridays and I love their Shanghai noodles (and the wonton noodle bowl, and the chicken eggrolls, and the fried rice….!) So good! I’m glad that you got to taste some delicious Chinatown food while in Philly. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      It was seriously so delicious. And cheap! I cannot wait to go back, haha.

      We had the pan fried wontons (among many other things). BEST FOOD EVER!

  3. I am SO jealous of all your photos and stuff. 🙂 the way you take pictures is fantastic and it makes me want to be your photography buddy. Online.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! We can so be photography buddies! I’m just learning, but most of it is just messing around with angles and editing 😉

  4. rich says:

    i sat on the beach and grilled steaks. a good way to hit philly without driving is to drive up to haddonfield and take the train in from there. it’s easy.

    • pamasaurus says:

      That’s what I was going to do, but looking into where the stations are, how far they are from the venue, what times the train run… it just made my head spin. I have severe anxiety issues, and I’d rather drive in Philly than deal with all the anxiety that attempting to ride the train by myself causes, hahaha. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

  5. Jennifer M. says:

    What a great weekend! I was down at Cape May on Sunday (check my blog for more).
    And Chinatown, too? Just love eating there – so much fun! Thanks for sharing your fun adventures. Think I need to revisit my summer list…

  6. Your photos are LOVELY!!! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: I’m Really Not Crazy | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: End of Summer | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

