Maine Trip: Part 3

I’m currently trying to find motivation to head to the gym.  I was out last night with AA for her birthday, so I’m dragging today.  So, instead of actually putting on gym clothes and heading out the door, I’m going to type this up while watching Dance Moms.

We had some fun adventures on Tuesday, the 3rd.  We got a late start in the morning.  Everyone was a little sleep deprived, so we slept in.   Once we finally got around, Daniel and I headed out to Bangor.  Trinity did not want to be in the car anymore at this point, so she stayed to spend time with the grandparents.

What’s in Bangor?  Oh, you know, the home of Stephen King.  I’m not a huge SK fan.  I just don’t have the attention span for a lot of his work.  My BFFF Jecca (You may recongize her as my partner in crime at Om Nomalicious) is a HUGE fan of his.  She asked me to go stalk a picture of his house for her, so I did.  I’m always up for an adventure!

Stephen King's House

It’s a very beautiful house… and the iron work on the gates is AMAZING.  I’m trying to talk Daniel into letting us get gates like this.  He likes the idea, but it’s not exactly in our budget at the moment.

Gate

Also, he owns the house right next door as well.  It’s apparently his personal library.

Library

This beautiful purple house is a few blocks away.  I am so, so in love with it.  I want to live here, but only in the summer.  I’ll need a winter house in Florida or something.

Purple House

We did some exploring in ‘downtown’ Bangor, just some walking around, and had an amazing lunch at Paddy Murphy’s Pub.

We headed back to the In-Law’s after that.  We were trying to be back by 4 because we had other plans, but the GPS decided to tell us to drive down an overgrown logging road.  Daniel thought he knew how to get back, but he ended up getting us even more lost.  We got back around 4:45.  Oops.

We rushed and got packed up to head out to Cathedral Pines Campground for a picnic.  It was really beautiful there, with Cathedral Pines and lake and nature!  The trees were really tall, and some had black scars on them from where they were hit with lightening.

Daniel with TreesCathedral PinesLake

It was just a gorgeous park.

After that, we headed to a spot in Rangeley to attempt some moose spotting.  There were too many people there, so we didn’t hang out long.  We did drive around a bit, trying to spot one in the woods along the road.  Daniel says that’s where he has seen the majority of his moose.

Sadly, we did not see any.  I was in Maine once before, and we saw one moose.  It was very, very far away.  One day I’ll see one up close!  Maybe I’ll even have a good stalker lens by then!

We stopped a few places on the way home to look at the scenery.  Maine is such a beautiful state!

I was pretty exhausted by time we got back, and it was pretty late.  I don’t think I was awake too much longer.

As I mentioned last time, I took a lot more photos than I am posting here.  You can view them all in this Photobucket album.

So, I think I can wrap this up with one more post.  Hopefully.  I feel like I have to wrap it up so I can get back to my life’s current events.

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in adventure time, maine, photos, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Maine Trip: Part 3

  1. rich says:

    those are amazing houses. i’ve written a few reviews about king’s books, and i didn’t really like any of them.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’d love to own one (let alone two!) houses like that one day!!

      He’s one of those authors that you either love or hate. I’ve been very bored by almost every book of his I’ve read. I need more action, personally.

  2. Jennifer M. says:

    I Stephen King gets a lot of trick-or-treator’s on Halloween night 😉 Very cool fence!

  3. I have a friend in Bangor. The King house is awesome! Did you see the big Paul Bunyen? I haven’t been up there in a loooong time, but “Pat’s Pizza” in nearby Orano had the best greasy home-made pepperoni pizza…perfect with a cold beer after the long drive to Bangor. Bangor is where we got the lobster from McLaughlin’s and those crazy red-pink-day-glo hot dogs! The closest we got to a moose was a cold Moosehead, but hearing the loons at night made the trip worth it.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, YES! I saw the giant Paul Bunyan, but didn’t have a fast enough reaction time to snap a photo/Daniel refused to stop!

      I’ll definitely have to check out this Pizza shop next time I’m up there!

      • Please give my fondest regards to Bangor next time you are there. If you see a big dude named Jeff who is a Physician Assistant at the hospital…tell him Ronda says hello. He’s a sweetheart of a guy. If you make it to Pat’s (if it is still there after all these years) I recommend the pepperoni

  4. These pictures are awesome! It sucks that you didn’t get to see a moose, but up close they’re really dangerous! Highly territorial and aggressive and whatnot. Scary things, the closest I’ve ever been to one was twenty-thirty feet (it was a while ago) and I almost peed my pants!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      When I saw one two years ago, it was pretty far away… like I could barely make it out far away. I’d like to see one a little bit closer than that, haha. Maybe while I’m in the car so that it’s less scary??

Leave a Reply

